Arkaea Years in the Darkness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cirq
July 11th 2009


9264 Comments


at least their logo is kinda cute

Phantom
July 11th 2009


8930 Comments


Just checked out "The Locust" on the band's myspace and it's safe to say I won't be listening to the rest of the album.


Solid review and lol at recommending The Serpent.

trilogique
July 11th 2009


246 Comments


@R6Rider: Hahahaha, too true. I was like, "Woah is this Linkin Park?"

Music isn't too bad, but the vocals ruin everything. This should have been an instrumental album.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great review man, but

The choruses also don’t ever fit the songs, which make for jarring transitions that ruin any flow.

this sounds awkward, I think (I emphasise that I THINK, it might be only me you know) it could be better if it would be something like this:
Also it should be noted, that the choruses never fit the songs properly, ruining the flow of the album.

Anyway this seems pretty mediocre so going to pass for sure

Willie
Moderator
July 12th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for calling me out on that ;) I was aware that it was a bit awkward but was kind of lazy with this review, to be honest. Your pointing it out has prompted the change I originally considered.

Anyway, the music is ok but the vocals destroy it. It's funny that all of these people are mentioning Linkin Park influence in the choruses because I didn't notice that until it was pointed out.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no problem man

and we'll see, atm I have a lil bit work to do, but in the evening I might myspace this. I am a very vocals based person though so if the vocals suck, it is highly likely that I won't enjoy this.

trilogique
July 12th 2009


246 Comments


Then you're gonna hate it. Drummer is great (of course) but everything else is lame and boring.

And of course, the Chester singing.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well I haven't got around to listening this yet but with all this negativity around I think I am going to pass it altogether

Willie
Moderator
July 12th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's one song for five minutes, at least then you can see what everyone is talking about ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ok I might listen to it while I dl some old Ill nino (yeah I love good nu-metal baby!)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

whoa, i actually rather liked the song, but i am still hesitant because someone said it was the best on the album.

Linkin Park comparisons are very true though haha

LisbonGirls
July 12th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hey metalstyles15 you should check out my review on Ill Nino's new album Enigma. This was a real letdown, as I actually enjoyed threat signal a little.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will do LisbonGirls, i'll go read it right away

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

whoa, i actually rather liked the song, but i am still hesitant because someone said it was the best on the album.
The opening track is pretty good, but there are a few better ones on the album (and not many that I would really consider "worse").

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well idk, it seems I should actually get this then. I guess I'll aquire when I have the time and the will

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Cool. If you like the opening song than you'll probably enjoy the rest of the album. For me, I'll just wait for the new Threat Signal album coming out later this year.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well i guess I'll get on it soon then

hah there is so much new music coming in and out of this year that I actually don't really have the time to wait for anything precise. Only thing that I am dying to hear that should come out in a month or so is the new Crossbreed album which will most undoubtably rule. OH and you must dl or buy or do whatever it takes, but get their New Slave Nation Ep at all costs because it is industrial metal that rules huuuuuge amounts of face

Willie
Moderator
July 14th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't remember if you've already had me listen to them or not, but the name sounds familiar. I'll look into it.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I tryied to get you to listen to them, but you were busy all the time so I gave up lol. Also because their old album (synthetic division) had nu metal influences so that was also one of the reasons you were hesitant about trying them out. And yes, look into it, they should have the tracks "Beg (For This)" and "Saints OF Grey" from that ep up on their myspace with their new song sample.

BallsToTheWall
July 14th 2009


44620 Comments


Lucid Dreams reminds me of the year 1998. In a good way.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy