August Burns Red Constellations
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EverythingEvil2113
July 11th 2009


1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i really didn't want to like this because i always lumped august burns red with scene kids and generic metalcore but dammit this is pretty good...is all their stuff like this?

marksellsuswallets
July 11th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I honestly think clean vocals would almost ruin this.

Waior
July 11th 2009


11451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

EverythingEvil: Nope. This is a handy step up.

Zilvion
July 11th 2009


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review,good band, what more do you want?^^

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2009


7026 Comments


Great review

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Phantom
July 11th 2009


8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice to see a positive staff review with a more realistic rating. The overall ratings may be 4 and 4.5 but it just doesn't seem near that to me. Might give it a couple more listens after I've checked out the albums at the top of my list but I doubt my rating will go up.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2009


7026 Comments


we need a greer 2/5 review imo

marksellsuswallets
July 11th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You mean a 1.5/5?

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 11th 2009


7026 Comments


that works too

hykinix
July 12th 2009


187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have to disagree with the summary at the top...This is extremely generic to me and a big step down from Messengers which was already a step down from Thrill Seeker which was just decent in comparison to other bands anyways.

I wanted to like this. Won't push it though, average record.

marksellsuswallets
July 12th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you can honestly explain how this a step down from messengers I'll mail you a cake.

hykinix
July 12th 2009


187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's a step down because all the riffs sound like rehashed messengers riffs, I'll generally always take the meal right out of the oven over tomorrow's left overs.

If you can honestly explain how this is a step up from Messengers (and I'm not really defending messengers as an amazing CD) I'll send you an ever better cake with your choice of icing.

marksellsuswallets
July 12th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't see how you can make the argument that they're rehashing riffs at all though. Literally every single riff from Messengers I heard used the same scale in a fairly similar pattern, and most of the riffs here employ quite a few different scales, more interesting patterns, more complex time signatures, different textures, different types of harmonies...also, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't remember any clean interludes of any sort on Messengers.

ninjuice
July 12th 2009


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is extremely generic to me and a big step down from Messengers which was already a step down from Thrill Seeker

What are you on, and where did you get it?

Waior
July 12th 2009


11451 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

also, correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't remember any clean interludes of any sort on Messengers.


1:22 - 1:26 on "The Blinding Light" and... well, that's it.

Essence
July 12th 2009


3585 Comments


This review was unfortunately humbling to read; manages to be both much more and concise and eloquent than mine at the same time.



Maybe because you add extra words.

NocturnalEpitaph
July 12th 2009


50 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty good. definitely better than their last one. I don't know if it deserves more than a 3 from my perspective but its a decent listen. I still wish they would mix it up more from song to song, but I guess in this style I don't know how well a band like this can really do that.

Bfhurricane
July 12th 2009


6197 Comments


I really need to get this. Loved their debut, never checked out Messengers though.

Matte
July 13th 2009


542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5


I have to disagree with the summary at the top...This is extremely generic to me and a big step down from Messengers which was already a step down from Thrill Seeker which was just decent in comparison to other bands anyways.

This is such an undeniable step up from messengers, I don't understand how you could think otherwise. Even people who dislike this record agree that it's far better than their last.

hykinix
July 13th 2009


187 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've been listening to it more and am retracting a few of my previous statements. Still, I just don't see how this is that different from messengers. They pretty much attempted to do the exact same thing. The little interlude doesn't make this album any more expansive.

I don't know, it seems like every time they write a riff it just reminds me of all their other material.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy