Alexisonfire Old Crows / Young Cardinals
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyler
Emeritus
June 22nd 2009


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The drumming is good, I just didn't mention it because
1) Didn't need to
2) Couldn't fit it in naturally
3) I only remember the first drummer, I never realized they switched until recently and it just didnt need to be mentioned.

FakeBlood
June 22nd 2009


44 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, man!

Acre
June 23rd 2009


847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ya, Jordan and Jesse are both equally competent drummers, and the drumming is never the standout part of AOF's tunes anyway.

Damrod
Moderator
June 23rd 2009


1093 Comments


I tend to agree with your reveiw. There are some real growers on it (for me "Young Cardinals" is one of those), but overall it's just... more or less the same all over. Sad, could've been more

AtavanHalen
June 23rd 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drums are awesome in Alexis.

CrazyFool84
June 23rd 2009


1080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this isn't too shabby, takes a few listens i think, but the review sums it up with the whole peaks and valleys thing. I couldn't put my finger on it before reading the line, but its somewhat standard consistency is easy to get lost in

never thought the drumming in this band was band, and I'd definitely say they're a more than important part of most bands. That being said, I also didn't know they had changed drummers, so I wouldn't have mentioned it either. Tho doing a little homework would've fixed that I suppose. I don't find the drumming better or worse, just on par with previous outings, so it goes somewhat unnoticed

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2009


23964 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Is 3.5 the only rating allowed for this album?

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

pneumoniahawk93
June 23rd 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The comparisons to Rise Against are pretty much spot on. Good review.

James46n2
June 23rd 2009


2 Comments


Great review, though I'd probably give it a 4 and think songs like The Northern and Old Crows have quite a bit of separation from the kinda boring closer.

Really, really quality band, though. I never understood how some people round here hate them, methinks it has something to do with City and Colour's explosion.

I'd like to head to the free show in St. Catherine's tonight, but I'm stuck at work for a bit and I'll bet there are already a ton of people there, ha. It's been so long since I've seen these guys and I'd like to see these songs live.

Random info: they've got this almost-impossible game up at http://www.youngcardinals.com and I've heard this creepy cult-like stuff at http://www.peopleindarkness.com has something to do with the album too.

freeliminator
June 23rd 2009


78 Comments


this bund got the sickest drams!!

Phantom
June 23rd 2009


8930 Comments


DRUMS

CushMG15
June 23rd 2009


1803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought the drumming on Crisis was great, but it didn't really stand out to me on this one. Albums pretty decent, I pretty much feel the same way as coke.

McP3000
June 24th 2009


3941 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

whats post-post-hardcore

is it like post rock for atdi fans

iarescientists
June 24th 2009


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's a response to a response to hardcore

Tyler
Emeritus
June 24th 2009


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's a post hardcore band's post-post hardcore sound

Aaron
June 24th 2009


652 Comments


It's neo post-hardcore. Second-wave post-hardcore.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
June 24th 2009


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it sounds kind of like the beatles

Acre
June 24th 2009


847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's East Coast psychobilly stomp funk-metalcore.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
June 24th 2009


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

still waiting for the second coming of Watch Out! (which, frankly, doesn't compare to their self-titled anyways)

Very true.

Not very impressed with this album, far less interesting than their 3 previous albums. Half the time it feels like I'm listening to some dull nu-metal band throughout the album. Either that or a generic post-hardcore band that list Alexisonfire as an influence but never have an original thought or get past copying the style of their idols.

IndieOut
June 24th 2009


498 Comments


"It's faults are minimal"

Should be its.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy