Riverside Anno Domini High Definition
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
RedSky
June 22nd 2009


283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's true this IS pretty bad

silkforcalde
June 22nd 2009


404 Comments


Wow, if Riverside is the best Poland has to offer to prog rock, then Poland has nothing to offer to prog rock. Riverside has always been an incredibly bland and generic band.

Riverpeth
June 22nd 2009


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^you're wrong.

also, there's no way that this album deserves a lower rating than the new Alexisonfire album.

RedSky
June 23rd 2009


283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Second Life Syndrome and Out of Myself is in no way comparable to this.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2009


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasn't really very into these guys although I'm Polish. This is actually my favorite album of theirs. The musicanship is great and the album abounds with some awesome arrangement ideas. It's more energetic and complex than their previous cds. Plus, it sounds very Tool-ish at times. Still, they are not the only Polish band that is cool. We generally specialize in much heavier sounding music. Check out Rootwater and Neuma.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Willie
Moderator
June 23rd 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

There's a cool Polish band called Moonlight. They're basically just female-fronted progressive metal, but their later albums started incorporating trip-hop and other electronic elements.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

greg84
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2009


7397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. I know this band. They're decent. I listened to one of their lps, Floe some time ago. It's nothing revolutionary, but still quite good.

Anyways, arguably the best Polish metal release of the year is the newest Rootwater album called "Visionism". This is experimental metal that blends such genres as trash metal, hardcore, idustrial and folk into one coherent whole.

samplet
June 24th 2009


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first time I listened to this latest release, I thought it sucked a big rock. Completely missed me.

Then I let it play (with headphones on, this is very important)....and now it's about the only thing I play continually while playing poker online. I can't stop listening to it....I think this one will grow on people.

There is a lot of complexity in this album. They might as well be singing in Polish because I barely know any of the words and don't care...its the vibe, flow and fantastic mixing. I think they worked very hard on this and when you get it, I think you'll agree.

wrathi
June 29th 2009


58 Comments


We'll I don't really disagree with anything that you said except that their new found affection for keyboards is not really new. Even the keyboard work on Out of Myself is pristine, but if your talking about the Hammond organ or whatever that is playing during Left Out's chorus's then I think they could probably do best without that sound in the rest of their discography in the future. There are also very notable electronic sounds on this album that I think are really tight. I'm gonna finish my review for this album and post it soon but after that I should probably write a few 2-3 star reviews because this is gonna be another 4/5 for me.

Willie
Moderator
June 29th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

That's cool. I'd like to see a review on this with an opposing opinion because it's not bad at all.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its not bad, it is just kinda lifeless

Willie
Moderator
June 29th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

It's definitely more "metal" than previous releases and it does take longer to grow on you but it does get better with time (for me, anyway).

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 29th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

idk I listened to the whole album about 2-3 times and I have not got much motivation to listen to it more. I mean it was pretty ok, but like i said kinda lifeless and forced

wakeem
June 30th 2009


100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first 2 songs weren't that good but the last 3 are great great songs. This album put this band on my radar and has made it on to my 'go-to' albums to listen to.

But yes, it definitely grows on you over time.

Willie
Moderator
June 30th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

The first two songs aren't very imaginative, but they're good still

Yazz_Flute
July 1st 2009


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah the album really gets better as it progresses. "Hybrid Times" might actually be my favorite Riverside song atm.

Digging: Finch (US) - Say Hello to Sunshine

wakeem
July 1st 2009


100 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mmm, I suppose the first 2 tracks arent bad, its just they pale in comparison to the next 3. It really divides the album in half - with Egoist probably my favorite track on there. When listening to the whole album I find im hanging out for Egoist to start to get into the good 'half' of it, heh.

A lot of reviews ive read say that this is a step back for them, but I gave Rapid Eye Movement a listen after hearing this and found it was a bit of a chore just to hear out. Thoughts?

Willie
Moderator
July 1st 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

I'd totally agree that this is a step forward from Rapid Eye Movement, and a side-step from the first two albums.

Yazz_Flute
July 1st 2009


18787 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is better than Rapid Eye Movement, but their first two are both near perfect and much better than this.

RedSky
July 2nd 2009


283 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

REM has more of that contemplative, dreamscape vibe that made the first two great, this one, not so much ...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy