Dream Theater Black Clouds & Silver Linings
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
June 20th 2009



7966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't expect this to be any good. Lost faith after Systematic Chaos. Haven't listened to DT in a while, because of LaBrie, but I s'pose I have to hear this.

Willie
Moderator
June 20th 2009



15778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And by the way, are staff members allowed to write reviews now or is it just close enough to the release date now?
Staff can write and post reviews before the release date for albums that we've got as promos from the record company or PR person. There isn't a "close enough" for everyone else, though. It's release date or legal stream only.
I'm just saying, if I had never heard the band before I wouldn't have an idea what the album would sound like
I understand what you mean, and sort of agree. I wrote in the first post that I wasn't going to write about specific songs because every other review already has. Combine that with Myspace and Youtube videos and someone that reads this and is still curious can hear a song or two that way.
And if you had never heard a band, wouldn't you go for their earlier records unless someone recommended otherwise?
I always go for their latest unless told otherwise.
I'm just trying to be constructive. I'm not trying to be "that guy" or something, but realistically, a lot of people haven't heard DT before and when writing a review about them i just think it's a little important to not forget that and talk to us as if we all know what the album or band sounds like.
Again, I understand what you're getting at. The issue is the length of the review already. In order to get into specifics it would take another paragraph or two and this was already about as long as it should be. There are other avenues for people that have never heard the band before and I won't be hurt if they pursue them. So, you're right, this was slanted more towards people that are at least vaguely familiar with the band but length-restraints as well as the amount of track-by-tracks that have been posted here (and deleted, so far) lead me to take a different route.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Shattered_Future
June 20th 2009



1539 Comments


Album is boring boring boring and bland. Aside from The Shattered Fortress. That one SLAAAAAYS.

Yazz_Flute
June 20th 2009



18740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The only parts that are boring on this album are parts of A Rite of Passage, and maybe the softer middle section of The Best of Times.

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

AlecJankewich
June 20th 2009



13 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I dont get the review. You actually like DT making simple melodies and holding back? The point of DT is the complex, extreem and technical music! If anyone wishes to listen to simple stuff, just listen to something different.
I think that this holding back and simpleness is not good for the band. The cool thing about progressive music is that it can go to so many places in one single song, and listening to a "14 min riff dominated" song gets boring.
I love the extended solos and the experimental stuff... I just wish they did something like Scenes from a Memory again.

Shrapnel94
June 20th 2009



2213 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The only problem I have with this is John Petrucci's vocals. Cheesy as shit.

Willie
Moderator
June 20th 2009



15778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dont get the review. You actually like DT making simple melodies and holding back? The point of DT is the complex, extreem and technical music!
you're taking a very narrow view of DT and their music if you think that's their whole point. They are very capable of doing both at the same time as they have shown here.

Monstar1790
June 20th 2009



119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"it's an evil spirit ticked off that nobody died."

Just curious...how did you come to that conclusion? I was under the impression that every song except ARoP is based on a real experience. Therefore, that part would either be through Petrucci's eyes or someone related to the accident...why would they be PISSED that everyone survived?

It's just hard to take seriously when the rest of the lyrics are handled in an appropriate manner.

Piglet
June 21st 2009



4644 Comments


Its good to see Dream Theater back with Black Clouds and Silver Lining.

SkinneeJay
June 21st 2009



34 Comments


Pretty good review. I'm not sure whether to try these guys out because they seem to masturbate, etc. Still, if you say this is also about song-crafting, maybe I will give it a shot.

Yazz_Flute
June 21st 2009



18740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Don't tell us you don't masturbate either.

Willie
Moderator
June 21st 2009



15778 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This or "Awake" would be the good song-oriented albums.

gaslightanthem
June 21st 2009



5209 Comments


can't stand this band srsly

devouredbymetal
June 22nd 2009



515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this albums a letdown...its pretty boring

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 22nd 2009



1870 Comments


I hear Kane doesn't like this band

SavageCore
June 22nd 2009



84 Comments


Having got the CD in the post yesterday, I do appreciate this more. As I suspected. Might grow on me more...

Wizard
June 23rd 2009



18793 Comments


Ermm.. lolwut? Their two worst albums? The two albums that cemented Dream Theater into the progressive royalty?

Ermm yeah dude. Just because these two albums are hailed as progressive classics doesn't mean I enjoy them. Tbqh, I tend to think sometimes it's only the Dream Theater wankers like yourself who place these two albums on a pedestal, yet they are rarely acknowledged by the rest of the music community.

Good review, but not enough detail on what the album itself sounds like.

What's funny about this is the fact that Willie succeeds at describing the album well and doesn't need to go into shit loads of detail. However, I guess DT fans like to know every minute detail about how the band got together and jerked off into a microphone.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Altmer
June 23rd 2009



5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

the thing about images and awake is that there are actual songs on those

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 23rd 2009



1870 Comments


Good review, but not enough detail on what the album itself sounds like.

What's funny about this is the fact that Willie succeeds at describing the album well and doesn't need to go into shit loads of detail. However, I guess DT fans like to know every minute detail about how the band got together and jerked off into a microphone.

See now that's what I was saying


Wizard
June 23rd 2009



18793 Comments


the thing about images and awake is that there are actual songs on those

Thats why I don't like those albums hahaha.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy