Dream Theater Black Clouds & Silver Linings
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Motiv3
June 20th 2009


8932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Best since 6DOIT and one of their best imo.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2009


7026 Comments


zzz

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

devouredbymetal
June 20th 2009


516 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

heheheh...nice summary...and great review....DT, even if its instrumental masturbation...they do it pretty good

Inperiour
June 20th 2009


78 Comments


This formula worked well and resulted in two of the band’s most highly regarded albums - Images & Words and Awake.

Two of their worst albums tbqh.


Ermm.. lolwut? Their two worst albums? The two albums that cemented Dream Theater into the progressive royalty?

Very good review, I have not been impressed by DT for a long time, even when I saw them live it was one big extended jam that nearly bored me to tears. If this album does actually have songs, I might give this a purchase out of curiosity.

feehan
June 20th 2009


56 Comments


awesome album best since SFAM

Altmer
June 20th 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Best album since Six Degrees.

zuzek
June 20th 2009


750 Comments


Might give this a shot since I'm one of those wrongly opiniated people that think DT can cut a lot of the brainfart inducing shredwankery. Main issue is still LaBrie's voice, can't block it out and his tone and colour annoy the shit out of me. I'll give em the benefit of the doubt and check it out.

Willie
Moderator
June 20th 2009


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really like your non-track reviews. Their really fun/interesting to read to read the depth of it-so ya awesome review Willie.

You hit it dead on and I basically agree with you on everything. I'm kinda shocked theres actually a Staff member who would like an album like this. Also for real why doesn't John Myung play more solos....I always found his bass tricks to be really awesome...or maybe thats just cause Rudess/Petrucci hog everything and it gets a little tired some after a while.
Thanks. These reviews are more of a pain to write sometimes, though. I also wish John would do a little more or at least be higher in the mix. A good bass track can make an album for me (Obscura, for example).
Last sentence of the review wasnt necessary.
I have the same opinion, really. It was kind of tacked on.
Good review, but not enough detail on what the album itself sounds like.
Joking?
Main issue is still LaBrie's voice, can't block it out and his tone and colour annoy the shit out of me. I'll give em the benefit of the doubt and check it out.
You're the type of person that the instrumental disc on the Special Edition version would benefit.

Digging: Necropoli - I

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 20th 2009


8357 Comments


needless to say but great review Trey, I have never been too interested in DT, but who knows, i might check this out

Good review, but not enough detail on what the album itself sounds like.

Joking?


haha lols

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 20th 2009


1870 Comments


Great review, pretty great album

Monstar1790
June 20th 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ladies and (mostly) gentlemen, the most frustrating album of 2009. By far.

There are moments of sheer brilliance, whether it be the mellow section in ANtR, all of The Count of Tuscany's music, and the blistering guitar part in The Best of Times. There are also moments that are so facepalm-worthy it can be embarassing to listen to, like nearly all of Portnoy's vocal contributions (EVERYONE SURVIVED! RAHHHHH) and ARoP's half-baked transitions.

If they use an outside producer next time, Dream Theater will likely make a masterpiece. If not, they'll be forced to wallow in the mediocrity they've enjoyed since Train of Thought. This is what happens when you don't self-edit, people.

Digging: Lucius - Wildewoman

Willie
Moderator
June 20th 2009


15976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think this is frustrating, but I do agree that it's time for them to bring in an outside producer again.

Altmer
June 20th 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i don't mind the music just ugh guys sing about bagels next time

A7XEric
June 20th 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review, but not enough detail on what the album itself sounds like.

Joking?


Again it's well-written but there wasn't much insight into what type of moods and sounds come out of the songs here. The idea I got from the review was that it was more metal, less of an instrumental circle jerk, and songs were generally better written and more song-oriented rather than member-oriented. Not much detail on the kinds of sounds that come out of the album though.

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 20th 2009


1870 Comments


Its Dream Theater, you want every bar spelled out for you at this point?

A7XEric
June 20th 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm just saying, if I had never heard the band before I wouldn't have an idea what the album would sound like

jybt
June 20th 2009


344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"There are also moments that are so facepalm-worthy it can be embarassing to listen to, like nearly all of Portnoy's vocal contributions (EVERYONE SURVIVED! RAHHHHH)"

So then how do you want that part delivered instead? If you hate a vocal style, suggest one that fits better, given that it's an evil spirit ticked off that nobody died.

And by the way, are staff members allowed to write reviews now or is it just close enough to the release date now?

Flyboy
June 20th 2009


395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am also with whoever said they should work with a producer for their next album. I guarantee that album would be great.
Still have yet to listen to this album, but my package should arrive by Monday.

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 20th 2009


1870 Comments


I'm just saying, if I had never heard the band before I wouldn't have an idea what the album would sound like

Well clearly you have so why would it even matter? And if you had never heard a band, wouldn't you go for their earlier records unless someone recommended otherwise?


A7XEric
June 20th 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well clearly you have so why would it even matter? And if you had never heard a band, wouldn't you go for their earlier records unless someone recommended otherwise?

Yes I have, but other people haven't. I'm just trying to be constructive. I'm not trying to be "that guy" or something, but realistically, a lot of people haven't heard DT before and when writing a review about them i just think it's a little important to not forget that and talk to us as if we all know what the album or band sounds like.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy