Rage Against the Machine The Battle of Los Angeles
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuatree
Emeritus
June 20th 2009



3743 Comments


you write good stuff

SleepyJack
June 20th 2009



198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

An excellent album, but not as good as RATM

HenchmanOfSanta
June 20th 2009



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You spent a lot of time describing the lyrics, but I only saw one paragraph really devoted to the music. But I guess we all know what RATM sounds like, and there's already a ton of reviews for this album, so a change of pace is nice.

Mendigo
June 20th 2009



2299 Comments


You spent a lot of time describing the lyrics, but I only saw one paragraph really devoted to the music. But I guess we all know what RATM sounds like, and there's already a ton of reviews for this album, so a change of pace is nice.

yeah, I really like this kind of theme-based reviews.
also I agree with everyone saying that this is good but the debut is better

Mendigo
June 20th 2009



2299 Comments


what I wanted to say in the first place is: excellent review.

AtavanHalen
June 20th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Now TESTIFY

scyther
June 20th 2009



1606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In my eyes a record's theme is the music. When you look at music as a form of art you're trying to figure out what the artist is telling you, like paintings or novels and things like that.

And the actual quality of the music depends on how well the theme gets across, which hit me really hard for this one in particular.

ConorMichaelJoseph
June 20th 2009



1870 Comments


Review's excellent Scyther, though I do consider their s/t to be slightly better

RamsesII
October 29th 2009



80 Comments


"'Born Of A Broken Man' is the story of one of these surviving children born as Ghosts, who questions the idols he was taught to trust and the purpose of his existence. 'Like autumn leaves, his sense fell from him, an empty glass of himself, shattered somewhere within'. "

Curious, how you came to this particular conclusion. I'd thought this track was about Zach's father, a once strong activist and artist who suffered a crippling nervous breakdown. After said breakdown he became strictly religious (hence the whole "Jesus stripped bare... raped the spirit he was supposed to nurture") and forced Zach to help him destroy all his art, labeling it "wicked". It was a messy, traumatic episode for lil' Zach.

Anyway, great review.
Intelligent and thoughtful.

ninjuice
October 29th 2009



6761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ALL

HELL

CAN'T STOP US NOW

Digging: Robin Skouteris - The King of ArtPOP

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



30873 Comments


Exceptionally well written, but kinda reads more like an essay than a review imo.

I understand your idea of wanting to bring across the themes and ideals that are prevalent in this album, and you have, ten fold no less.
But the music side of things has been brushed to one side. Yes, themes include music as much as lyrics (concept albums will bring back certain segments, recurring ideas etc) but all I can gather from this review (and if I had never heard RATM before) is that Dick Cheney probably doesn't like them.

Please don't think i'm bad mouthing your efforts, because i'm not, like I said it's a great review.
Pos'd

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy