Karnivool Sound Awake
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
UnnamedOcean
June 13th 2013


3982 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Emyay, Karnivool is very popular in Australia.



Also I don't think popularity gives Tool an excuse to bullshit their fans and take a decade to record an album.

Drummerboy123
June 13th 2013


2499 Comments


"Also I don't think popularity gives Tool an excuse to bullshit their fans and take a decade to record
an album."

It should take a band at most a year to write an album, a few months to record, 2-3 months to
mix/master and then around 1-2 months of promotion.

Which leads to the fact of most bands releasing albums every 2 or so years. However, like I said, Ian
Kenny has his side project and Karnivool do a massive amount of touring as well.

4 years seems about right for this band. Tool's 8 year gap makes no sense though.

Emyay
June 13th 2013


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Also I don't think popularity gives Tool an excuse to bullshit their fans and take a decade to record an album."



I agree. I'm not a Tool fan. Not because they take so long but because I don't like their music that much, but thats just me.

Cipieron
June 13th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yep, Tool is boring

thumbcrusher
June 13th 2013


3642 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tool are good

Spag
June 13th 2013


2037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tool is really good.

Cipieron
June 13th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

on a separate note... isn't proper verbiage:



Tool IS good, not Tool ARE good...?



Tool is a band, Tool is coming to town, Tool is boring



A band is a singular entity

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2013


14170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes Tool takes forever to put out an album, but Maynard is really committed to his Puscifer project. It seems like he doesn't have time at the moment. He's passionate about it and all we could do it wait. Sure maybe they could have released an album by now, but that's up to them. Karnivool's stuff is great too so I'd rather an album be released four years after their latest than a year. That why it's not rushed at all. It really doesn't matter to me.

thumbcrusher
June 13th 2013


3642 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

if you think of tool as a group of people then you'd say "are"



from my experience it can be either for bands

CK
June 13th 2013


5853 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tool is better than this

Digging: Alice in Chains - Sap

TheSpaceMan
June 13th 2013


3395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if you are talking about the members, I'm almost positivie "Tool are good" is grammatically correct

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2013


14170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes Tool is definitely better than Karnivool, but both are still good.

TheSpaceMan
June 13th 2013


3395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To me, each album Tool released has an EP's worth of great songs and the rest are boring as hell.

Maynard knows he could piss on a disk and it would go platinum

Cipieron
June 13th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

then it might be appropriate to include



[The members of] Tool are good.



otherwise you sound like a mongoloid



HUR HUR TOOL R GUD

Cipieron
June 13th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

spaceman nailed it on the head

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2013


14170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Spaceman Maynard is quite a douche, but he's still an awesome singer. As for the "boring songs you speak of, it's just an acquired taste just like all of prog music. It's all part of the experience of the album, but that experience just might not be for you.

UnnamedOcean
June 13th 2013


3982 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think some bands get too wrapped up in concept and forget to write songs that people actually want to listen to. I'm not pointing out anything in particular though.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2013


14170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yea definitely. I could name some but I don't wanna piss of any potential fans here on this thread haha

UnnamedOcean
June 13th 2013


3982 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On the topic of Tool, I like some of their music, but I don't respect how the band goes about things, and I also feel like their style gets old really fast. Not to mention some of the fans...

TheSpaceMan
June 13th 2013


3395 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Couldn't agree more, happens a lot to prog bands that garner a following. They are convinced they've nailed writing good music and try to push the envelope further to show it off, but ultimately fail to have plain ol' good music



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy