Taking Back Sunday New Again
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Guinazu
May 29th 2009



16 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"New Again works best when it's played loudly, which is perhaps ironic given its predecessor's title. Really, this is hardly a departure from their signature sound for a band which has amassed a loyal following. Some of that following will probably take issue with the album's largely upbeat, almost summery aura, and proclaim it not worthy of the faux-emo pop-punk Taking Back Sunday of old, but behind the eyeliner they'll be desperate to break out in hand-claps on Sink Into Me. So there's no re-birth or leap of faith through these 38 minutes of music, but the absence of dual vocals, the marginally cleaner instrumentation and the hook-filled songwriting hint at a subtle shift in the direction of a genre better described as alt-rock than pop-punk. And they're damn good at it."

This.

foreverendeared
May 29th 2009



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

awesome review.

I love taking back sunday, all of their albums, but i found this one boring and unmemorable

Chewie
May 30th 2009



4531 Comments


terrific review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Another very good review Adam. In fact, pretty much every review of this is really good & brings something different, so well done to Chan, Batman, etc...

I've picked this review to comment on though because Adam touches on the most relevant points I think.

I always regret listing my comments after the 1st listen, but they are interesting to look back on.

On 1st listen, this album is good but did not live up to the hype. They are clearly more mature here, but is that really what we want? I agreed with your comments on 'Spin' & the deliberation may be why I love it so much. I also didn't hear all those pop sensibilities you speak of.

Having said all that, your use of the word "jigsaw" seems like it could come to fruition. I can sense this being more of a grower than their previous LPs. So yeah, I may completely eat my words in a few weeks time... I hope I do.

By the way, is 'New American Classic' genuinely frowned upon around here? I love that track.

TheGoddamnBatman
July 8th 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Davey

I may not agree with Adam on everything, but this is one of so many reviews that he did that I really think he summed up all that I think about one record. And Davey, they still get that silly way of keeping us on the edge of our seats. Let the record sink in. Give it time. You'll be rewarded.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 8th 2009



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think it is. I'm not sure why though; I mean, it's not my favourite TBS track but it has its merits.

And thanks, man. I think the pop sensibilities are notably the much more obvious distinction between verses and choruses, there's less 'grit' to turn the average mainstream listener off, and a few songs (Capital M-E, Swing, Summer, Man) are examples of standard pop-rock - brilliant examples, that is, and those 3 tracks are arguably my favourite songs on the album.

I think the maturity, the smoother sound etc. was the obvious decision but I think they executed it fantastically. It manages to avoid being generic by way of incorporating elements of their older sound (does any band do mid-song restarts better than TBS?) and though it could benefit from a bit more... madness... at times, I think it has a very satisfactory aura.

This was all I span for like 2 weeks after it came out. It still gets regular airtime now :D

Knott-
Emeritus
July 8th 2009



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

decision = direction

Phantom
July 8th 2009



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Whoa, nm.

Knott-
Emeritus
July 8th 2009



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i tink u r talkin abowt the other thred 4 COUNT THE STARS' masterpiece.

but yah, pretty much :p

Phantom
July 8th 2009



8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yup I was talking about that review. I got confused because both are yours. Basically just take my previous comment and apply it to that, but without the me liking the album part because I've never heard the band. Both reviews are well written, Timberwolf is just...odd.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry Batman, this LP will get every chance to sink in.

Well said again Adam. In fact, you just nailed my thoughts to a certain extent with 2 quotes:

- "there's less 'grit' to turn the average mainstream listener off". Yes, I got that impression, so I guess to that definition there is more pop sensibilities here. Maybe I meant less hooks. I dunno.

- "it could benefit from a bit more... madness... at times". I thought exactly this. Take a song like 'Error: Operator' for example. It seriously is a hotch-potch in every way, shape & form... & I love it.

You know what I think I have to do? I need to throw my preconceptions (is that the word?) out the window. Almost pretend as if this is a debut.

TheGoddamnBatman
July 8th 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

odd/weird like Donnie Darko weird? I can live with that

Knott-
Emeritus
July 8th 2009



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

almost like they're new, again.

;D

Knott-
Emeritus
July 8th 2009



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no, odd/weird like the sequel weird.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On Taking Back Sunday's 4th LP 'New Again', the hooks are a little more subtler than usual, making it less immediate than their previous releases. Yet, it is also a sign of the band's songwriting maturity, which makes this undoubtedly their most consistent album to date. While some may find the middle section so-so, the closing trio are strong, with the catchy guitars & memorably biting lyrics of 'Capital M-E' a highlight. The M.V.P of the album however, could well be the rhythm section, which lays an impressive foundation right from the very beginning of the terrific title track. Recommended Tracks: New Again, Capital M-E, Carpathia & Swing.

TheGoddamnBatman
July 8th 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you love me, strikey. you know... sometimes it's better to give in.


PS: There's a nasty irony combining my avatar and my rating on this record. It just feels... right.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy