Alexisonfire Watch Out!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
xNintendoCorex
May 28th 2009



1272 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


Yeah, it'd be handy if there was a way to monitor what you've commented on.


you used to be able to.
dunno who thought it'd be a good idea to get rid of it.

Douglas
May 28th 2009



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, it would make a lot of sense to keep it.

Iamthe Nightstars
June 1st 2009



2182 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Sure.
George's vocals have matured completely from the inconsistent and occasionally pretty irritating styles of the first two records. The production is top-notch. The songwriting has never been better, given the consistent theme throughout the record holding its concept together. This album also features the best songs the band have ever done - Watch Out! may have had Accidents and No Transitory, but Crisis has This Could Be Anywhere in the World, We Are The Sound/End, Boiled Frogs, Keep It On Wax and Rough Hands.
Crisis is much more consistent, much more interesting, far more passionate and really well put together. Watch Out! is great, but it has gaping flaws that stop it from being as good as Crisis.
There."


Hmm. Well, the production is no better on Crisis than on Watchout. The sound quality is just as good on each album. I also don't notice much of a difference on George's vocals between the two albums. His vocals are a little more raw sounding on Crisis, but basically the same.

I have to disagree about the songs on Crisis being more interesting. Unlike songs like "It Was Fear of Myself.." the songs on Crisis are more predictable and typically follow the traditional 'verse, chorus, verse' pattern such as Boiled Frogs does. Where in "It was Fear" it starts off slow and builds up later with interesting guitar lines and a bridge where the drums and bass work together to give a spacey feel and then lead to a chaotic ending. And as a closer, "Happiness By The Kilowatt" is much more powerful than "Rough Hands" in my opinion. "Rough Hands" just chugs along monotonously and no instruments really stand out in the song besides the piano. The drums use more interesting beats with catchy melodic guitar lines playing over them on the verse in "Happiness". The chorus also holds more energy and power than the one in "Rough Hands" even though it is slow paced.

The lyrics on Crisis are weaker. They're more cliche with lines like "this is from our hearts". It's not passionate. And then from the chorus of "To A Friend" it's 'you shouldn't have to fight alone it's nobody's battle but your own'. That doesn't make any sense.

Not to mention Jesse played drums on Watch Out! and is an arguabally better drummer than Jordan. You can definitely tell how more diverse and creative the drumming is on the first two albums than on Crisis.

tombits
June 6th 2009



3469 Comments


"Rough Hands" just chugs along monotonously and no instruments really stand out in the song besides the piano.

That's pretty much the sole the reason why I enjoyed the majority of Crisis much more than this. The record (as well as the songs themselves) sounded much more cohesive and distinct than anything they've ever written, and although single instruments didn't stand out as much as on their previous efforts, the music is a little more subtle and rewarding. I used to really love a bit of Alexisonfire, and even though I don't listen to them much anymore i'm still partial to Crisis.

pneumoniahawk93
June 6th 2009



275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hmm, to be honest, while this is a better album musically, I prefer Crisis, because it's what first got me into the band. Also, Crisis is more raw and angry, the drumming is better, and it's tighter. They just feel as if they're a force of nature almost, especially on Mailbox Arson, We Are The End and To A Friend. And best of all, Dallas is so much better on Crisis than on Watch Out!

The new album does look good, despite what anyone says. They just released the worst songs as singles is all.

Iamthe Nightstars
June 6th 2009



2182 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Dallas and the drumming, better on Crisis? Hmm. I don't know how you came to that conclusion, especially since Dallas is featured a lot more on Watch Out!, but I guess it's all a matter of preference.

sspedding
June 6th 2009



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i disagree strongly with people who think Crisis was better than this. Pretty much every aspect in this album is stronger than its following record. The production is better in my opinion and there is certainly a more diverse spacey theme to Watch Out! I disagree you can visibly notice their songwriting has improved because I think most of Alexisonfire's best songs are actually on this record. Crisis isn't bad but this truly ruled.

tombits
June 8th 2009



3469 Comments


slays? haha.

gaslightanthem
June 8th 2009



5209 Comments


for days

Waior
June 20th 2009



11425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I miss this.

CompanionCube
June 20th 2009



977 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dont we all

gaslightanthem
June 20th 2009



5209 Comments


okay band is an okay band

Waior
July 5th 2009



11425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I wish all my reviews read like this one.

pneumoniahawk93
July 16th 2009



275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I know Dallas was featured more on this, but on Crisis, it feels more balanced, so when he does come in, it makes it more interesting. I miss this era Alexis though. The new album has grown on me, for sure, but it doesn't have the special feeling that this does.

Douglas
November 28th 2009



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Played this a listen again today, love it.

YouAreMySilence
November 28th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya first day I got Crisis I thought iit was the best thing ever because it seemed like it had 3 lead vocalists, but it got old really fast.
This is still really great, I think their s/t was their best though.

Waior
November 28th 2009



11425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Whoa, was this review flagged? Or are you just being chivalrous?

Douglas
November 28th 2009



9058 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No idea just commented on the Alexisonfire review that was up, so I guess it twas flagged.

Waior
November 28th 2009



11425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

woo

AtavanHalen
November 28th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awww babe, this is where we had our first in-joke!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy