Lacuna Coil Shallow Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jrowa001
April 14th 2009


8750 Comments


got this but havent listened to it yet. i dont expect it to be that good but i might enjoy a few songs since ive always liked Scabbia's vocals

fireaboveicebelow
April 14th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. Did you notice that I did some significant re-writes in order to minimize the amount of similarities and "key words" that
we had both used in our reviews?
haha yeah, but whatever yours turned out a lot better anyway

Wizard
April 14th 2009


19647 Comments


I thought both review were well done tbqh.

Digging: Horseback and Locrian - New Dominions

Willie
Moderator
April 14th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah his review turned out just fine. Mine and his were pretty similar in ideas and we even used a few of the same key words ('identity crisis' comes to mind). So when he posted his I emailed him mine so he knew I didn't steal any of his ideas. Later, I decided the best option was to just re-do it and change the similarities.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2009


20859 Comments


I am now even more intrigued than before Trey, so I guess your review has been effective.

I recall your original negative comments about this album which you posted in the Comments section of another review & I sort of get the feeling that you may have written another totally different review if you were writing this in another month’s time. For want of a better conclusion; you still don’t seem convinced either way… I actually felt you really wanted to give this a rating of 3.5 at present, but felt it would drop to a 3 on further listening.

Just on your “mainstream metal similar to Linkin Park’s current sound” comment; Are they mainstream metal? I’d call someone like Disturbed or Bullet for My Valentine mainstream metal. So that doesn’t quite give me the clearest picture… Which is another reason to hunt this album down.


Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know if the comments were negative or not because I don't remember what was said. I do know that I was very disappointed the first time I listened to it. The thoughts I had after additional listens are the conclusions I put into the review. This was the best route for the band, but I'm still conflicted about it. You're also right about initially giving a 3.5 and then reconsidered.

Yes, they are definitely mainstream metal now. They're even less metal than Bullet or Disturbed. Both bands are heavier than what's on this album. That one reference to Linkin Park won't give a clear picture, but the rest of the review should have cleared things up a little more (hopefully).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2009


20859 Comments


Yeah, your initial comments were negative & definitely conveyed disappointment.

And don't get me wrong, it's still a strong review. In fact, it sounds like a tough one to do.

iamthenightmare
April 15th 2009


754 Comments



Members Also Liked:

Opeth - Watershed
Opeth - Ghost Reveries
Opeth - Blackwater Park
Opeth - My Arms, Your Hearse
Opeth - Damnation
Opeth - Still Life
Dark Tranquillity - Character
Ulver - Perdition CIty
This Message Edited On 04.15.09

lateoctober
April 15th 2009


171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ha ha your completely right on the last sentence of your first paragraph, I am glad to see a few people say the same thing. Excellent review, though I still think Karmacode was the revolution. That record was a good easy listen and the pop sheen worked well.



TNY
April 15th 2009


571 Comments


So instead of nu metal, they sound like Linkin Park now?

Wow, you just convinced me to never check out this album.

Good job.

fireaboveicebelow
April 15th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he said they don't sound like linkin park...

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So instead of nu metal, they sound like Linkin Park now?

Wow, you just convinced me to never check out this album.

Good job.
Someone didn't read very far into the review at all. Oh well.

BallsToTheWall
April 15th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tristania>>>>>>Lacuna Coil. Anyone who want's the Lacuna Coil chick singing/ heavy metal guitars and such need to get Illumination and Beyond The Veil instantly. Comprende?

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Tristania doesn't even compare to Lacuna Coil. Their music isn't even close to being similar. Anyone who wants "chick" singing and heavy metal guitars needs to look at Delight's new album or Kells' albums. Even the mid-era Moonlight albums are closer in style than Tristania.

BallsToTheWall
April 15th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate Kells with a passion for some reason. Tristania has more depth and better songwriting than just about every band in this category except for maybe the new Draconian. I'll check out Delight but that name is pretty gay so I will expect something bright.

fireaboveicebelow
April 15th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tristania is cool though

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not trying to say that one band is better than the other, just that their styles aren't comparable. LC is closer to Evanescence, Flyleaf, and that style of band (newer Within Temptation fits too). Tristania is closer to Draconian, Theatre of Tragedy and that style. So, someone looking for something similar to this is bound to be disappointed by a Tristania reccomendation.

This Message Edited On 04.15.09

fireaboveicebelow
April 15th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

my comment was separate from your argument

BallsToTheWall
April 15th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I guess Lacuna Coi and Moonlight applies to the people who are looking for the quick fix of fun, catchy and accessible. Unfortunately, that rate remains too high and those bands tend to suck. Chick fronted metal is only great when a band exerts some kind of talent and unqiue approach hence Theatre Of Tragedy and Draconian's death/doom and Tristania's black approach.

Willie
Moderator
April 15th 2009


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess Lacuna Coi and Moonlight applies to the people who are looking for the quick fix of fun, catchy and accessible. Unfortunately, that rate remains too high and those bands tend to suck. Chick fronted metal is only great when a band exerts some kind of talent and unqiue approach hence Theatre Of Tragedy and Draconian's death/doom and Tristania's black approach.
That rate remains high for almost all styles of music (even the genres that pride themselves on remaining underground). The chick metal that includes talent and uniqueness is really good, but there is still a place for "instant" entertainment too (obviously, a larger place if you just look at sales and popularity).

As for Tristania, the only full album I've ever heard by them was "Within the Veil' and I didn't particularly like it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy