Queensryche American Soldier
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Your review is perfect, exactly the way I feel about the album. I'm also impressed with Geoff Tate's 10 year old daughter singing on "Home Again"
Thanks. I agree about his daughter. I was expecting her inclusion to be a vanity thing that the rest of the band couldn't override, but she delivered her parts well.

This Message Edited On 03.31.09

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Spamwise
March 31st 2009



87 Comments


I've only heard "If I Were King," but it's a solid song for sure. I don't know if I'll get this or not, though.

KilledUglyRadio
March 31st 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I won't say I 'love' or 'hate' this album -- it's about even. Generally very good, though... and I loved the review; it pretty much hit the nail on the head. The return of the sax is a great addition.

I'd only complain that this review doesn't tell quite enough to people who want to establish a REALLY good opinion of the album, but it's a good start. Would be nice to get call-outs on the really good riffs, etc. on songs, but thanks for giving mention to "Home Again" -- definitely a noteworthy song.

This Message Edited On 03.31.09

Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I'd only complain that this review doesn't tell quite enough to people who want to establish a REALLY good opinion of the album, but it's a good start. Would be nice to get call-outs on the really good riffs, etc. on songs, but thanks for giving mention to "Home Again" -- definitely a noteworthy song.
Ha ha, I see your point and there are some riffs that are definitely worth mentioning. The problem is with the length of the review. It's already to a point that some would consider it too long to read. I stripped the finer details (that I later posted as two comments on the first page) of the soldier interviews already in order to shorten this, so pointing out specific riffs would only put me back where I started. Besides, it's nice to be surprised while listening to an album and not be exepecting "Ok at the 2-minute mark there should be a riff I'm going to love."

ConorMichaelJoseph
March 31st 2009



1870 Comments


I didn't know these guys were still around. I like their earlier stuff.

Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

If you lost track of them after Promised Land then you haven't missed anything. This is the first thing worth looking into since that album.

chdahi
March 31st 2009



22 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Home Again is definitely the best song on the album in my opinion. Tate's daughter does an excellent job and the song as a whole is very moving. I'd say it might even be one of the top 10 songs the Ryche have ever done.

Yazz_Flute
March 31st 2009



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've still only heard the demo and Operation Mindcrime from these guys (both are bloody amazing btw). I kinda laughed when I heard this was coming out, but your review makes me curious to check it out. I suppose I should get Empire first, though.

Digging: Eskaton - 4 Visions

Willie
Moderator
April 1st 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

your review makes me curious to check it out. I suppose I should get Empire first, though.
Empire and Promised Land.

Bfhurricane
April 1st 2009



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm listening through this for the first time, so far it's exceeded my expectations. I love the musicianship so far.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2009



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Feels like they just want to relive the good old days but I just don't feel it. Better than mindcrime pt2

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Based on your ratings of every Queensryche album (except Mindcrime) I definitely understand how you could not really get anything out of this.

Yazz_Flute
April 5th 2009



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Caught between a 3 and a 3.5 on this one. Some of this is really good while the other stuff is just average.

Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I don't like the first two songs, but I thought everything else was good. What did you think was average or whatever.

Yazz_Flute
April 5th 2009



18770 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thats funny I actually liked the first half or so of the album the best, including those first two songs. I thought that from "If I Were King" to the end of the album was weaker than the first bunch of songs. They just haven't stuck out to me as much yet.

Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

The second half is a lot less instant than the first half. It's mellower (except for one song) than the first half.

RagingNoob
April 6th 2009



134 Comments


I saw an ad for this album and cringed, but I'm relieved to hear it's a good 'un. I'll definitely pick it up.

I'm a fan of the second Mindcrime as well as the first - do you reckon I'd enjoy this album more as a consequence?

Willie
Moderator
April 6th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

if you appreciated the second mindcrime you'll almost certainly enjoy this. This is much better.

Bfhurricane
April 6th 2009



6197 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I actually really like the first two tracks. I had a good feeling for the album after just the first track. Anyways, I'm really digging Home Again, I give it a spin atleast once a day.

Willie
Moderator
April 6th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

I actually really like the first two tracks. I had a good feeling for the album after just the first track. Anyways, I'm really digging Home Again, I give it a spin atleast once a day.
That's a good song, and it was a surprise because I really expected his daughter to ruin that song. I just can't get into the opening track. The "drill instructor" vocals just bug the shit out of me. I think I'd like the second track if it was near the end or if the first track was any good.

This Message Edited On 04.06.09



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy