Wolves in the Throne Room Black Cascade
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


17241 Comments


this is great. it kinda reminds me of darkthrone when they gave a shit but grander in scope.

mynameischan
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


17965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh hey iluvatar acting like he knows stuff about black metal

Athom
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


17241 Comments


wtf are you talking about, he's kvlt as fuck. his name is from lord of the rings. thats like kvlt
101.This Message Edited On 03.30.09

mynameischan
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


17965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Throwing out most black metal conventions, Shining pull an Opeth (or maudlin, whichever you prefer) and focus instead on incorporating clean and faux-classical passages into their music.

myhigherpie
March 30th 2009


3029 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This will probably come down to a 3.5 in a few weeks time simply due to the fact that it is nothing compared to Diadem of 12 stars, but at the moment, this is exactly what I need.





BallsToTheWall
March 30th 2009


47164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shining ftw, album is solid but I haven't listened to this as much as Two Hunters yet. They have a bit of a "Weakling" sound to them. Don't hear any Burzum either. Mind as well compare this band to the fucking Shaggs.

Digging: Samael - Eternal

Jom
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2009


2905 Comments


Strong review. Gave this a listen based on the interview + feature combo. Some of it sounded cool, but no surprises here: it wasn't really my thing.

Zippermouth
March 31st 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Music is decently sick.

mothergoose
March 31st 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

People really need to stop complaining about this not being just like WITTR's older stuff. Seriously. It's BETTER my friends. Better. I wouldn't lie to you!

gaslightanthem
March 31st 2009


5209 Comments


yet to listen to this better be good

BallsToTheWall
March 31st 2009


47164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How late are you? Expect to be dissapointed if you're expecting another Two Hunters.

gaslightanthem
March 31st 2009


5209 Comments


i'm not i didn't fap over that record an amazing amount anyway

Tyler
Emeritus
March 31st 2009


7925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How late are you?


the album came out today, not everyone pirates things months in advance

BallsToTheWall
March 31st 2009


47164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ahh, so there is some sort of nobility still hanging around sputnik I see. That is super.

Hawks
March 31st 2009


46578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the album came out today, not everyone pirates things months in advance


Well whoever isn't doing it should start.

Digging: In The Woods... - Pure

mothergoose
April 1st 2009


308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I ordered it (with a sweet t-shirt), got impatient, and pirated it... what can I say. I always shook my Christmas presents, too.

AngelofDeath
Emeritus
April 2nd 2009


16189 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Goose, that's pretty funny.



This album seems kinda boring compared to their first two. A lot of the riffs are weak and the music just isn't as imaginative.

Odal
April 2nd 2009


350 Comments


I wouldn't say the music isn't as imaginative, rather that they tried to do too many things at once and none of them came out as strong as they could've. I think I'm going to review this, but, then again, no one reads a user review for an album that already has a staff review...

Tyler
Emeritus
April 2nd 2009


7925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dont know how they tried to do too much at once...it's really quite the opposite. For once they've just streamlined and simplified their sound. I think the biggest issue is trying to justify the track-times for relatively straight-forward black metal.

Hawks
April 2nd 2009


46578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I thought the track times would have a negative effect on this album because I knew it was going to be straight up black metal, but it doesn't really mess the album up at all IMO. Just makes it even more epic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy