Mastodon Crack the Skye
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
March 25th 2009



4887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Don't worry Chan, all isn't lost.

Lunarfall
March 25th 2009



3177 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not as fun as alestorm 1/5

TNY
March 25th 2009



571 Comments


not a great album by any means, but definitely not a 2. not a chance

Ishotmarvinintheface
March 25th 2009



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't have a Celtic Frost tatoo but i like this album.

Tyler
Emeritus
March 25th 2009



7924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But in a move that is so classically metal it feels cliché, Crack the Skye has little else going for it other than technical proficiency.

Math rock.
but for anybody without a Celtic Frost tattoo, do not follow "the wise man's staff / Encased in crystal."

what the hell does this mean? (i'll answer: nothing). This is just you insulting the demographic only your insult doesn't make any sense and is basically without context.

I really get the impression that you could have written 90% of this without even hearing the album. It was curious of you to dib an album we all knew you'd hate, but your approach is bizarre. You're always pulling threads, almost itching to mention bands like Protest the Hero and Avenged Sevenfold whenever possible, and it's just...weird. They're like your go-to negative review bands, even when they don't apply in the slightest. Then you approach the review from a purely technical angle, praise how technicaly apt they are, and end up giving it a 2 anyways. Going on to plead ignorance to the genre (see above Celtic Frost "joke") and be downright condescending to the band's core audience is even more bizarre.

I don't get you, Nick Greer.

All of this aside, I mostly agree with the review. This album is a thin 3.This Message Edited On 03.25.09

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2009



17912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i thikn he was trying to match my celtic frost joke in my cof review

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 25th 2009



4830 Comments

Album Rating: 2.3 | Sound Off

some form of weird online soap

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

Gyromania
March 25th 2009



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

edited

pixiesfanyo
March 25th 2009



1223 Comments


i don't get you Abdul-Rakhman.

as for this record i could care less.

Thor
March 25th 2009



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

...it's difficult to take the whole conceptual backdrop of the album seriously.

I don't think taking the concept seriously is entirely the point. Sure it's a bit Spinal Tap, but that's also part of the enjoyment of the record. I mean, Mastodon has been writing songs about fighting ogres, Moby Dick and the elephant man throughout their career...I don't think they've ever been an entirely "serious" band when it comes to their lyrics. It's just plain fun.

For example, the post-chorus of "Quintessence," which converts the predictable chromatic and dissonant verses nicely into consonant major-key open-chord riffing, is an unexpected and refreshing melodicism in an otherwise lackluster song.

That sentence seems so forced and pretentious it hurts. Seriously, you're trying way to hard.This Message Edited On 03.25.09

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

Gyromania
March 25th 2009



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

trying far too hard to personify intellect. you're not appealing to the majorty here. i agree with thor, sentences like that make you sound kind of like a jack ass.

mutatedfreek
March 25th 2009



7351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an awesome review.

Gyromania
March 25th 2009



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

disagreed

Ishotmarvinintheface
March 25th 2009



12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DFelon should review the new Ektomorf album if he thinks THIS is bad...

itchyandscratchy
March 25th 2009



314 Comments


Ya good review Greer.

Thor
March 25th 2009



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's certainly well-structured, but I don't know how good of a review it really is. See Tyler's largest paragraph in his post above, it pretty much says everything that needs to be said.

zuzek
March 25th 2009



748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I haven't heard the album in it's entirety as I stopped listening after a few tracks, but I don't think this is a very good review.

It's hard to follow due to the words and sentence construction you use. You almost seem to be looking for ways to bend and twist through the English language in order to make your thoughts less interpretable, and to a certain degree understandable, for others. Also, dinving into the music theory might be interesting to a very small minority, but I would think 99% either doesn't understand or doesn't want to understand it.

That said the bands you refer to have nothing to do with the sound that Mastodon is going for, so I don't see the need for them to be incorporated into the review.

Mendigo
March 25th 2009



2299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

for some reason the review makes me more interested than most other things I've read about the album.

taylormemer
March 25th 2009



4887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

and be downright condescending to the band's core audience is even more bizarre.

You'd know exactly what condescending is wouldn't you.

Thor
March 25th 2009



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

taylormemer, don't interrupt tyler while he's putting greer in his place



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy