My Dying Bride For Lies I Sire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you know what just to spite you I think I'll do a positive adema review, and to follow, this badass noise record I've been digging

MassiveAttack
March 26th 2009



2684 Comments


haha do it man do it. I DARE YOU!

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009



404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A Fine Day to Exit is probably my least favorite Anathema album overall as well but I still like it! I'm biased though.

Willie
Moderator
March 27th 2009



15781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And the worst in their catalog is A Light at the End of the World. Could you possibly write a more by the numbers, boring album?
I'll give you that it's a bit by the numbers, but they were also trying to get back into the doom/death genre and make up for the backlash of "34% Complete" so of course they're going to go with a sollid no-frills release.
I think it's kind of odd that the review for this album would say that the lack of death vocals was bad when this album has approximately 20 times as many death vocals as A Line of Deathless Kings which had death vocals on 20 seconds of one song. At least this one has two songs with primarily death vocals.
You might be right (I can't remember the exact quantity of death vocals on ALODK), but I just remember being excited that they brought back the thick, bottom-heavy production that had been missing since Turn Loose the Swans.

This Message Edited On 03.27.09

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

kingpersnake
April 1st 2009



3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not as good as their older stuffs.

But still worth a listen .

Antoine
April 11th 2009



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a really a good album... Definitely Their best work since the Desperate hours...

And the violins are as good as the old stuff.. If not better at some moments

"Bring Me Victory"....

I'm giving it a 5 to balance the overall rate a bit

fireaboveicebelow
April 11th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Definitely Their best work since the Desperate hours...
well at least you know what you're talking about

rasputin
April 11th 2009



14504 Comments


rofl

BallsToTheWall
April 11th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Violins are a big part for why I like this. I might have to check out their earlier albums that had it.

dheim
April 11th 2009



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

uhm... this is a bit simplistic, in my opinion. personally i love when i've got no idea about what i should expect from a band's new album. it's all about variety and subtle changes that expand the range of an otherwise known sound. i was very happy to hear a violin once more in MDB music... i love aaron's growls but - as a musician and a singer - i can perfectly understand why he chooses to use them or not on different albums, and i consider the constant change of pace and style an absolute pro, in a band discography. it keeps attention alive!

Zoo
April 11th 2009



3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Some people here are clearly high/retarded.

fireaboveicebelow
April 11th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...but they haven't changed in 3 albums

Antoine
April 11th 2009



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No one can deny that the prime days of MDB have passed without return... But still any die hard fan of the band will dig this album

Zoo
April 11th 2009



3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I am a MDB fanboy and thought this was absolutely devoid of anything that sets them apart from the 100k bands that try to imitate their sound.

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2009



15781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the band has definitely been passed up by bands that copy them, but that doesn't make this album bad.


This Message Edited On 04.11.09

jingledeath
April 18th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this was quite boring

Willie
Moderator
April 18th 2009



15781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Check out the albums in the "reviewer recommends" column.

gaslightanthem
April 18th 2009



5209 Comments


i don't really like this band :-/

jingledeath
April 18th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have Isole which is infinitely better than this and the new Candlemass and I shall look into Mourning Beloveth

Willie
Moderator
April 18th 2009



15781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For Mourning Beloveth, make sure it's the album I mentioned. I've heard two other albums from them and one is good and one isn't.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy