My Dying Bride For Lies I Sire
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
March 24th 2009


19444 Comments


Dude, if you want a few really good doom albums (and they're fairly recent), check out the two albums reccomended on this review (If you haven't already).

Dude, I'm waiting for both of those albums in the mail.This Message Edited On 03.24.09

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is possibly the best MDB album since 34.788% Complete but that's not saying much. I enjoy when they get heavier, I enjoy the new drummer and the new multitracked vocals and the return of the violin, but song structure wise? They're just treading water.

Zoo
March 26th 2009


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Are you fucking serious right now?

Burn2Burn
March 26th 2009


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is possibly the best MDB album since 34.788%

Hahaha you have got to be joking - 34.7888 fucking sucked, dude. It's the worst in their catalogue. This Message Edited On 03.26.09

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How so? The Whore, the Cook, and The Mother is one of my top 3 favorite MDB songs. I love that whole album. It has the best and most consistent atmosphere out of any of their albums.

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And the worst in their catalog is A Light at the End of the World. Could you possibly write a more by the numbers, boring album?

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah it was called 34.7888% complete

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

??? 34.788% Complete is the album in their catalog that is the most different, the most experimental, the most adventurous. Out of their albums, you couldn't pick one that was less by the numbers. I'm not going to argue boring, that's purely subjective.

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah it was experimental, their debut was pretty poor too as far as by the numbers go, angel and the dark river is fairly safe considering what they did with this record, and a line of deathless kings was just a half assed version of songs of darkness

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's kind of odd that the review for this album would say that the lack of death vocals was bad when this album has approximately 20 times as many death vocals as A Line of Deathless Kings which had death vocals on 20 seconds of one song. At least this one has two songs with primarily death vocals.

That said, The Angel and the Dark River wasn't safe for the time considering it was their first album without any death vocals at all. Granted, that's a minor change but it's still a change. Also, the songs were shorter...

IMO, the most safe, tame, and boring MDB albums are Like Gods of the Sun and A Light at the End of the World.

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I used to think that but those two grew on me a bit plus I like the version of Sear Me the best, and how was The Angel the album with shorter songs the first track was 12 minutes lol

I wish more people held this kind of civil arguments on this site, they're fun to discussThis Message Edited On 03.26.09

Zoo
March 26th 2009


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Better to be safe and successful than to go with something "experimental" and fail miserably like they did with 34.788%.

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well The Cry of Mankind, I dunno, I have a hard time calling that a 12 minute song when the end is just some boring ambient shit that I always skip. I wish that song had only been 6 / 7 minutes. Ever hear the Undying cover version? Pretty fun stuff. But yeah, I forgot how long that song was.

I do like Sear Me III on A Light... but that's about the only song I really like on it.

MDB is the band that got me into metal way back when Like Gods of the Sun was new so I'm pretty opinionated about them, hehe.

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

understandable, they've always been hit and miss with me though.

I've never heard of Undying so I'll look that up

silkforcalde
March 26th 2009


404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Outside of that one cover, neither have I!!!

And yeah, very hit or miss with me as well. Nowhere near as consistently awesome as Anathema... mmmm Anathema....

saintpale
March 26th 2009


1 Comments


You ask how many fans can say they like the entire discography, I am one of those fans!

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the only album I don't like by Anathema is A Fine Day To Exit, but I thoroughly enjoy the rest

MassiveAttack
March 26th 2009


2688 Comments


FIRE WE NEED MORE METAL REVIEWS (hides)

fireaboveicebelow
March 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

fuck you I'm going to review cat stevens now




who am I kidding I already started on a metal review This Message Edited On 03.26.09

MassiveAttack
March 26th 2009


2688 Comments


haha score 1:0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy