Pestilence Resurrection Macabre
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
March 19th 2009


44472 Comments


It's good so far. Loving the riffs alot but I was replying to your Pestilence were always average comment. If that was the case, they wouldn't have drawn such an audience for 20 years.

Digging: Tove Lo - Queen of the Clouds

Willie
Moderator
March 19th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the riffs are pretty bad ass. Ok, now that I go back and read your comment again it makes more sense to me. You're right about the fact that they wouldn't have drawn such an audience and there wouldn't be a demand for this album, that's why I changed the summary.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

BallsToTheWall
March 19th 2009


44472 Comments


This album rules a couple songs in. What I love about this band is the songwriting. The riffs are so heavy and so ridicuoulsy catchy and groovy, they put most bands to shame. Not too mention the killer solos, and the vocals have improved which is nice. I see they didn't do what they did with Testimony by spacing each song out with a 30 second synth or sound effect piece. I see myself giving this at least a 3.5 but most likely a 4.

Anthracks
March 19th 2009


3744 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

They stay on riffs for way too long in this it seems, though. It kind of takes away from some of the better riffs.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Wizard
March 19th 2009


19437 Comments


Ok, this isn't the original review I had written because I accidentally deleted it (along with my My Dying Bride review). So, if this seems like I wasn't really into writing it, it's because I wasn't into re-writing it at all.

Review was excellent, no need to go into huge details or over-exaggeration of a pretty medicore band (at least their older albums didn't do anything for me).

Man, you've been on a role with all of the old school bands making comeback albums. Maybe review the new Napalm Death album while you're on such a role hahaha? A seriously overlooked band who put the 'heavy' in heaviness still.

Looking forward to your Atheist review whenever they drop a new album hahaha.

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

Willie
Moderator
March 19th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Man, you've been on a role with all of the old school bands making comeback albums. Maybe review the new Napalm Death album while you're on such a role hahaha? A seriously overlooked band who put the 'heavy' in heaviness still.
Man, if I did Napalm Death after Pestilence and Believer it would be another band that I'd have to read about on wiki and their websites, and obtain their old albums to get a sense of where they are now as opposed to then. I had never heard this band or Believer before and went through most of their old albums before even listening to their new ones just so the reviews would be more comprehensive, it's a time-consuming process.

This Message Edited On 03.19.09

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 20th 2009


4950 Comments


i started reviewing the new napalm death, but obviously never finished... might as well i suppose.

Willie
Moderator
March 20th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If it's already mostly done then why not?

Zoo
March 20th 2009


3759 Comments


Awesome review even for an effortless re-write.

I've been waiting for this for a while so I suppose I should finally listen to it now.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

well I thought that this was painfully average. Didn't really find any real higlights in the album.

Willie
Moderator
March 20th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh no, someone thinks a Pestilence album is average! Just kidding, obviously, but if you're willing you should give it another shot and listen to the different guitar tones that are used and the way the riffs are actually pretty catchy despite all of the heaviness. Those are two big draws... if they don't do anything for you then so be it ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sure i can give it a another shot, but I just did not detect anything really good about the riffs in my first listen. I guess I shall try again. The vocals were weak also, and I did not like em too much, the growls seemed to me like they were, idk kind of half-done. But i'll give it another go.

Willie
Moderator
March 20th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If you thought the growls were weak here, you should listen to their older albums just for fun.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I have heard one of their older albums, the growls in there gave me some great lulz!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2009


8368 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok I have now re-listened to 4 songs and I'll stick with my 2.5 rating since after listening to them I have no real motivation to go over the others again. Some of the drumming parts were pretty neat and the start of "Devouring Frenzy" was fucking hilarious, but other than that I still think that the vocals are weak and the riffs are not anything special, there are some glimps of hope for me at some points, but all in all they seem too mediocre. So yeah this just doesn't appeal to me as much as it does to you guys, but thanks for the rec Willie anyway, new music is always good to hear even when you turn out not to like it that much.

Willie
Moderator
March 20th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, no problem. I like it (I forgot about the beginning of "Devouring Frenzy" though... I should have thrown that into the review somewhere. It's a joke just waiting to be used). I may like it more because I had such low expectations after their previous stuff, but I'm going to stick with I just like it ;)

poweroftheweez
March 20th 2009


1290 Comments


i better get on this soon.

BallsToTheWall
March 20th 2009


44472 Comments


Ace album is ace. Vocals have improved. But since Testimony, the vocalist sounded old school like a Morbid Angel meets lets say.....old Swedish death. In point, album rules, and doesn't this guy sing in Hail Of Bullets now or is it somebody else from Pestilence?

jingledeath
March 20th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ace review Willie. I'm out right now so when I get back home tomorrow I'll be cranking this along with Beliver. WOOT!

Willie
Moderator
March 20th 2009


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For Balls:

After a few beers the aforementioned idea was brought up again and at the end of 2006 former Pestilence/Asphyx-singer Martin van Drunen, Gorefest-drummer Ed Warby, ex-Houwitser bass player Theo van Eekelen and both Thanatos-guitarists Paul Baayens and Stephan Geb├ędi hooked up for a serious drinking session in the city of Amersfoort, Holland. A mutual love for old school death metal bands like Autopsy, Bolt Thrower, Massacre, Celtic Frost and Death resulted in the idea to form a band together.
On the other hand, Martin Van Drunen was only the vocalist for the first two Pestilence albums, it was a different guy (the current guy) from Testimony of the Ancients forward.

This Message Edited On 03.20.09



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy