Red Innocence and Instinct
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Emim
November 30th 2012


26717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hymn for the missing is good too. pieces is their best ballad by a mile

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Feed the Machine was their most interesting song imo on UWHF, but it's not 100% my style. I think I might enjoy Hymn more. But yeah Pieces is like one of their best songs ever

Emim
November 30th 2012


26717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pieces is probably my favorite song from them. idk what else would even be in contention

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not Alone is so cliche

even if Feed the Machine isn't your style, you gotta admit it's a really unique song from a fairly standard (but good) alt metal band

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always liked Red's heavier songs better. The strings really took those songs to another level.

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Eh even on this I thought the heavier songs were some of the weaker ones

e.g. Fight Inside and Death of Me (despite its banging riff) although both are great

but that's probably just personal preference since I always lean towards melodic over heavy (though both is good too)

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I just don't know how you 3.5 this and 3.0 UWHF :/

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fight Inside is one of my least favorites but Death of Me is one of my favorites along with Shadows, Confessions, and Out From Under. I just find Michael's vocal style to be much better suited to the heavier stuff, plus that heavy/melodic balance is something I've always dug when bands get it right. Most of the ballads on here don't wow me so it can't quite get to a 4.



I really do enjoy this a lot more than UWHF though even though the ratings make it look like it's close. That's much more of a "meh" 3 (just barely good enough to pass) whereas this is just an overall solid album with some exceptional moments.

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For the record, those two songs released so far from the new album make it look like a 2 at best.

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, okay, I see what you mean, although "meh" for me has always been a 2.5. I guess there's just enough good moments (Feed The Machine) for the 3. And Fight Inside has an awful riff imo, it's a bunch of notes picked at a plodding tempo without any melody.



Overall, I always thought the midtempo songs were the best (Start Again, Mystery of You) besides Shadows but come to think of it, Ordinary World is probably a ballad and probably my least favorite song here and Never Be the Same (despite how much I enjoy the verses) is pretty generic. Also I haven't listened to Out From Under in about two years when my taste was drastically different so I probably would like it a lot more nowadays. It used to be my least favorite and really dragged down my opinion of the heavier songs

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2.5 just carries a negative vibe. For me if it's decent enough it earns a 3, simple as that.



I'd probably rank the album like this:



Shadows

Confession

Death of Me

Out From Under

Mystery of You

Start Again

Ordinary World

Take It All Away

Fight Inside

Never Be The Same



I think I actually liked the ballads on EoS better overall, even though it's been a good while since I listened to anything from that album.

Emim
December 1st 2012


26717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like everyone loves Shadows a lot more than me

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah cause it's awesome.

Interesting ranking, tomorrow I'll be sure to give you mine, but it'll look drastically different than yours (also it's outdated since I've barely listened to Red). Also was Take It All Away really from this album? wow that was a while ago. And I don't even remember the ballads from EoS besides Pieces so I can't comment there.

Emim
December 1st 2012


26717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh it's one of the weaker songs on the album. They made it sound too much like Breaking Benjamin, which is understandable, but it doesn't work very well.

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It probably is the BB influence that makes me love that song. I think the chorus has their most memorable hook.

Funeralopolis
December 1st 2012


12888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

shadows is best song on here

Digging: Sugary Sweet Machines - Deformity Disco

Funeralopolis
December 1st 2012


12888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tiesthatband pretty much nailed it

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"It probably is the BB influence that makes me love that song. I think the chorus has their most memorable hook."



Yeah, agreed

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12858 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

RTP looks like a 2.5 at best, holy shit the first few songs are atrocious

but that's just me

Funeralopolis
February 1st 2013


12888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

new Red leaked and it is unsurprisingly terrible



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy