Red Innocence and Instinct
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
toxin.
November 20th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah agreed. The Red cover is better but the original is so meh to start with that it drags the album down.

toxin.
November 20th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Breathe Into Me just screams wannabe Linkin Park to me. I much preferred Already Over and Let Go off EoS, even though Breathe Into Me is a decent song for what it is.

Funeralopolis
November 30th 2012


11888 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

RIP Red

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have zero faith in them. It's not just the shitty single off their latest album; UWHF sucked pretty badly too. Parts of two of the best songs (Faceless and Let it Burn) are ripped off of their earlier discog (Shadows and Let Go, respectively). And at least UWHF had an amazing first single; this latest one's sucks. Unless that means the rest of the album is gonna be good in the same way UWHF was unexpectedly bad

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I started listening to Red in 2008, so not really from the beginning but I liked them before I&I. UWHF was pretty bad. Hymn for the Missing is great. Faceless rips off Shadows which means it rules. Same with that strings outro from Let it Burn (also in general Let it Burn is a good example of how the band should be making these midtempo songs). And of course Feed the Machine. I don't think anything else on it is terribly interesting, and some of it downright awful (Outside or whatever that shitty track was, and Best is Yet to Come)

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, I definitely agree on everything you said. UWHF still felt like Red, just watered down. When I say how awful it is, keep in mind a 3'd it, since I just love Red past how much I should. (I'd probably have this as a 4.2-4.3 and I think it's actually a 4.0, though I'm keeping it at a 5 b/c 15 year old me would be pissed if I took it away).

These two new songs just feel so generic alt metal/mainstream rock a la TDG/BB (more BB) that it makes me sick. And yeah, Howard Benson sucks. I just looked him up on wiki and he's the epitome of boring, generic production (TDG, Theory of a Deadman, Skillet [I'd guess only Awake since Comatose was actually good], Daughtry). ughhh

mindleviticus
November 30th 2012


8330 Comments


i thought this was going to be generic mainstream rock but i was wrong

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, but their fault for signing on with this idiot. They had to know the direction he'd lead them. Man I'm listening to Pieces, and that bridge would be nothing without the strings... fuck you Benson. fuck you.

and yeah dude, this is great mainstream rock

Emim
November 30th 2012


26675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also feed the machine was the best song from uwhf

Emim
November 30th 2012


26675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hymn for the missing is good too. pieces is their best ballad by a mile

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Feed the Machine was their most interesting song imo on UWHF, but it's not 100% my style. I think I might enjoy Hymn more. But yeah Pieces is like one of their best songs ever

Emim
November 30th 2012


26675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pieces is probably my favorite song from them. idk what else would even be in contention

toxin.
November 30th 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Not Alone is so cliche
even if Feed the Machine isn't your style, you gotta admit it's a really unique song from a fairly standard (but good) alt metal band

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always liked Red's heavier songs better. The strings really took those songs to another level.

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Eh even on this I thought the heavier songs were some of the weaker ones
e.g. Fight Inside and Death of Me (despite its banging riff) although both are great
but that's probably just personal preference since I always lean towards melodic over heavy (though both is good too)

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I just don't know how you 3.5 this and 3.0 UWHF :/

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fight Inside is one of my least favorites but Death of Me is one of my favorites along with Shadows, Confessions, and Out From Under. I just find Michael's vocal style to be much better suited to the heavier stuff, plus that heavy/melodic balance is something I've always dug when bands get it right. Most of the ballads on here don't wow me so it can't quite get to a 4.

I really do enjoy this a lot more than UWHF though even though the ratings make it look like it's close. That's much more of a "meh" 3 (just barely good enough to pass) whereas this is just an overall solid album with some exceptional moments.

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For the record, those two songs released so far from the new album make it look like a 2 at best.

toxin.
December 1st 2012


12802 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, okay, I see what you mean, although "meh" for me has always been a 2.5. I guess there's just enough good moments (Feed The Machine) for the 3. And Fight Inside has an awful riff imo, it's a bunch of notes picked at a plodding tempo without any melody.

Overall, I always thought the midtempo songs were the best (Start Again, Mystery of You) besides Shadows but come to think of it, Ordinary World is probably a ballad and probably my least favorite song here and Never Be the Same (despite how much I enjoy the verses) is pretty generic. Also I haven't listened to Out From Under in about two years when my taste was drastically different so I probably would like it a lot more nowadays. It used to be my least favorite and really dragged down my opinion of the heavier songs

tiesthatbind
December 1st 2012


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2.5 just carries a negative vibe. For me if it's decent enough it earns a 3, simple as that.

I'd probably rank the album like this:

Shadows
Confession
Death of Me
Out From Under
Mystery of You
Start Again
Ordinary World
Take It All Away
Fight Inside
Never Be The Same

I think I actually liked the ballads on EoS better overall, even though it's been a good while since I listened to anything from that album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy