Bon Iver Blood Bank
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aspenshadow
January 31st 2011



301 Comments


Woods is awesome you people are just strange.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2011



20797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Following the phenomenal success of debut LP 'For Emma, Forever Ago', Bon Iver (aka Justin Vernon) is back with this 4 track EP titled 'Blood Bank'. Since a couple of the songs date back to pre-Emma & the others are new, variety is not an issue... But cohesion is. The opening title track makes for an effective bridge between releases, but things get a little more experimental from there as 'Babys' heavily incorporates piano & 'Woods' is vocoder-filled repetition at its most haunting. One thing it does prove is that this folk artist has ambition aplenty & his next step will be fascinating to witness. Recommended Tracks: Blood Bank & Woods.

Douglas
October 23rd 2011



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah Davey. Come on now a 3?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2011



20797 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, a 3. 'Beach Baby' especially does nothing for me. The final 2 tracks are solid - if flawed - experiments, while the title track is excellent.

The experimentation may give this 4 track EP a reason to exist, but I can't rate it any higher in isolation.

Douglas
October 23rd 2011



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find Beach Baby wonderful.

MusicJudas316
March 15th 2012



16 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

To be honest before I heard his cameo spots on Kanye's newest album, I never gave much thought to Bon Iver until on a spur of the moment purchase I took a chance on this EP and saw the simple brilliance of the combination of his vocoder laden voice and his nearly opaque lyrics.

Highlights: Woods, Blood Bank, Babys

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2012



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Woods sucks

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

808muzik
August 1st 2012



916 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Woods = Kanye. Makes sense now.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Blood Bank is the best song ever. Woods is the worst song ever. Other two are ok.

3/5

Beach Baby is pretty nice actually

dimsim3478
February 14th 2013



3942 Comments


I wish "Woods" could be executed convincingly live somehow. It's just so fucking brilliant and the crowd reaction would be really interesting.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

fromtheinside
February 14th 2013



16337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

1 good song on here but that song is amazing.

Digging: Bast - Spectres

conorm11
March 14th 2013



11 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Blood Bank is my favourite Bon Iver song, with Woods definitely in the top 5. The reason Woods works is because Vernon uses his voice as an instrument, not just an addition to the music. I think its more of a musical statement than a song to be read in to, and for that reason its awesome

InfamousGrouse
March 14th 2013



2856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Blood Bank is only good when performed in a live environment.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude nooo

InfamousGrouse
March 14th 2013



2856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

controversial statement #2: Woods was only good when sampled on MBDTF.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Woods has always and will always be bad

worst Bon Iver song

InfamousGrouse
March 14th 2013



2856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's definitely up there with some of the worst tracks yeah

My ex tried to convince me that Woods was better than re: Stacks

I dumped her.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tbh re stacks is probably the worst track on for emma tho it still rules

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2013



20194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh hang on I forgot about Team

fuck Team

InfamousGrouse
March 14th 2013



2856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wat

stacks is the best song he's ever written



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy