Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

like honestly my brain just exploded. fabulous muscles is one of the most miserably bad collections of music ive heard. i could maybe see faulting ac's songwriting abilities on their earlier work where they were more experimenting with noise and various effects, loops, etc. but i think i can say the general consensus among fans and critics is that ac's last three lps have received such praise because they have finally channeled their love of noise manipulation, unconventional vocals, etc. into fantastic pieces of songwriting. i just dont understand how you can listen to for reverend green, grass, my girls, who could win a rabbit (this one has changing time signatures, you should love it!) and not see the fantastic songwriting. what makes them so unique for me is their incredible ability to weave pop melodies and harmonies over some of the strangest noise and sound in a way that forms a legitimate song. thats good songwriting.

204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Haha right before you posted this I was reading your comments about Fabulous Muscles in one of my old reviews. Didn't realize you hated it so much. I just think AC are too boring as plain songwriters and need that electronic manipulation as their compositional process to stay really interesting for me.

lunchforthesky
January 6th 2009


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The reason this is the best Animal Collective album is because it focuses on song form but still has all that weird stuff you expect from them. So basically I agree with Nick but think it's a huge plus rather than a negative.This Message Edited On 01.06.09

magictikkleCwicked
January 6th 2009


272 Comments


I think he's comparing AC to Xiu Xiu so Sputnik users will get an idea of what AC is moving towards, I seriously doubt he's saying that the Animal Collective are purposely becoming a Xiu Xiu copycat.

lunchforthesky Animal Collective has always concentrated on 'song form' as you put it, which I assume means song structure, their melodies have never really been completely pulled out of nowhere, they've always sounded coherent.This Message Edited On 01.06.09

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

except ac is way more popular than xiu xiu here and everywhere

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree though I thin on strawberry jam they struck a more perfect balance of their traditional weirdness and great songwriting for an ultimately better and more mindblowingly cool result.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[quote=magictikkleCwicked]their melodies have never really been completely pulled out of nowhere, they've always sounded coherent.[/quote]

idk man as much as I love animal collective, they've had their share of forays into the incoherent and incomprehensible known as hollinndagain, as well as pieces of danse manatee, here comes the indian, spirit.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

im totally opposite with you. SJ sounds like them experimenting with the more electronic sound with unever results then here they perfected it This Message Edited On 01.06.09

DWittisarockstar
January 6th 2009


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I downloaded Strawberry jam about a year ago but never listened to it. A song and a half into this album I realize that was probably a mistake.

magictikkleCwicked
January 6th 2009


272 Comments


I've always thought of their random sounds as samples in a song that ultimately structures itself around something other than those random sounds.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dfel, what review?

Broken Arrow
January 6th 2009


220 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eww Lion in a Coma is far from the best AC tune. Sick review though. This album album really has it all. I would say Bluish is one of their greatest.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thing i miss the most from sj is avey's intense moments, a la for reverend green, cuckoo cuckoo. this album never comes remotely close to that

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 6th 2009


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I was thinking the same thing cb. After the second listen, I noticed the lack of intense moments found in Reverend Green, but this works.

tombits
January 6th 2009


3471 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so is this good?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


17230 Comments


all the 4.5s and 5s made you think otherwise?

lunchforthesky
January 6th 2009


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Summertime Clothes and My Girls are my favourites.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


17230 Comments


im leaning toward Brothersport, Bluish and My Girls.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

when that distorted keyboard/guitar/whatever comes in at 5 seconds in summertime clothes, it sends chills down my spine. the main riff the song is built around is incredible also. avey and panda bear work together impeccably on the track. the chorus is one of the best animal collective melodies/moments ever. definitely the track thats most reminscent of sj also.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The melody in the crazy part on In the Flowers reminds me of SJ, I think it kinda sounds like Unsolved Mysteries



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy