Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3294/2888500826_cbd670c7ea_o.jpg

theres your answerThis Message Edited On 01.06.09

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this would be a 4.5 if hipsters wouldn't luv it

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nick greers rating

"comment saying 'well its not what made their first album so good'"

DWittisarockstar
January 6th 2009



1501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha. Thanks. Left side of the picture is surprisingly relevant.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album rules, totally exceeded my expectations. not as good as strawberry jam, but the fact that they followed up sj with such an incredible album just solidifies them as one of the best bands of the last decade. First half of the album flows perfectly, second half is cool with its more varied sound but ultimately just a bit weaker. "Summertime Clothes" is definitely one of the best songs they have ever written and my favorite track on the album. Other standouts, in order of preference: "My Girls," "Also Frightened," "Brothersport," "Daily Routine," "Guys Eyes," "Lion In A Coma." And the tracks I left out are also fantastic, they just haven't sunk in yet. good review and I can't wait to take LSD and listen to this.

magictikkleCwicked
January 6th 2009



272 Comments


but the fact that they followed up sj with such an incredible album just solidifies them as one of the best bands of the last decade.

How so?

jontheatheist
January 6th 2009



79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i don't know why more accessible has to mean that the record is "dumbed down." Something can be more accessible and still be experimental.This Message Edited On 01.06.09

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

chris because they followed up a perfect album with an incredible album

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah exactly, thats what i meant.

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man i feel guilty about not talking about no more runnin, taste, bluish. im listening to no more runnin right now, this song is so fucking good. i dont understand how they can create this distinctive "album" feel yet genre-hop and shift styles so much from song to song. the recording just perfectly captures them. gotta say you can hear person pitch soooo much in this album too, in the way its recorded and such. avey and panda bear work together so beautifully on this album vocally also.This Message Edited On 01.06.09

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3743 Comments


2009 doesnt need to have any more releases now

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ya, I think what I value in AC is that their process and their found sound can equal the output. The more I listen to Xiu Xiu against AC, I realize why I can like the former and dislike the latter. Jamie Stewart essentially writes songs, you know, songs with 4-chord harmonic progressions and vocal melodies and poop like that, and then completely contorts them and mangles them through production. He has two layers, his songwriting, and then his production work. What AC did so well for me was the opposite. It was almost like they enjoyed the possibilities of the composition and recording process using lots of interesting sounds. They didn't have "songs" in mind but rather ideas for sounds that they align in interesting ways. Why MPP fails for me is because they seem to be composing more along the lines of Xiu Xiu now, and aren't all that good at it imo. Jamie Stewart's music is all about being ridiculously melodramatic and cathartic, so it makes sense that he'd be a songwriter first and producer second. Even then his role as producer is like that of some other personality of Stewart. His songwriting is incredibly personal, and at moments coy or in your face and his production can similarly subdued or coy. Some of his best songs take brutal lyrical themes like incestual rape and portrays them in a touching, sentimental, and delicate way. I don't see AC as being compelling songwriters in the traditional sense. They aren't going to move me with a beautiful lyrical or melodic fragment, but are more going to interest me with what they can do as sound manipulators. When I hear an album like MPP that plays down their role as producers and upgrades the presence of their songwriting, I feel like something vital is missing.

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3743 Comments


you need to stop comparing albums like this (hyped ones) to your old favoritee
also i read that all and im not happy with myself

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I like that this album focuses more on their songwriting and less on production wackness. I mean it's still distinctly AC in its melodies and sound but now the songs warrant repeated listens because they're awesome, not just because they're different (although they've always had elements of awesome/different)

cbmartinez
January 6th 2009



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude sorry but Xiu Xiu fucking sucks. i seriously can't take anything you say seriously or read any of your argument if you are mentioning Xiu Xiu in the same breath.

wait, okay i read the post anyway and i'm stunned. animal collective are trying to be xiu xiu? what?

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

joshuatree, I'm just trying to share some of my thought processes with Lewis. We are having a nice discussion about music. Lay
off and increase the peace.

cb, I'm not saying they're trying to be Xiu Xiu at all. I'm saying their songwriting-production linkage is starting to look like Xiu
Xiu's
a lot more than old AC. That doesn't mean they sound anything like Xiu Xiu. It means their output sounds like their process has
changed. It has nothing to do with sounding like Xiu Xiu, which they don't.This Message Edited On
01.06.09This Message Edited On 01.06.09

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

cb, that's not what he's saying but I still don't agree with his pointThis Message Edited On 01.06.09

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3743 Comments


ac is all about the peace

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Then let's live it brother.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

fuckin hippies



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy