Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kodiaknoises
January 6th 2009


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought it was good but doesn't envelope me the way their earlier efforts did. It feels less humanThis Message Edited On 01.06.09

gaslightanthem
January 6th 2009


5209 Comments


it makes me feel like shoving a dick in your mouth
This Message Edited On 01.06.09

gaslightanthem
January 6th 2009


5209 Comments


sorry all this talk about penis is making me horny

P13
January 6th 2009


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

faggot

DWittisarockstar
January 6th 2009


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm gonna listen to this as soon as I'm finished listening to Civil War.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can't decide whether My Girls, Lion in a Coma, No More Runnin' or Brothersport is my favorite ugh

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My Girls or Brothersport or Summertime Clothes or In the FlowersThis Message Edited On 01.06.09

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

iarescientists
January 6th 2009


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you guys are all faggots if you don't think bluish is the best song ever

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh yeah bluish

P13
January 6th 2009


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

anything but in the flowers

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

whats wrong with in the flowers

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its the least amazing song on the album

plane
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


6094 Comments


i like lion in the coma the most, i love all the others equally

P13
January 6th 2009


1327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

socialist

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

In response to Lewis, I was thinking in terms of the bond between songwriting and production. On Sung Tongs the weird production blips and vocal quirkiness were the melodies and harmonies. On Strawberry Jam there was a lot more noise and errant sampling, but the production became increasingly disconnected from the chord progressions and actual sung melodies. The production goofiness was like ornamentation for an underlying, more standard sound. On that album I heard an unfortunate streamlining of their weirdness. It was like they had the production gimmicks to keep it weird when the backbone of the music was becoming safer. Now on MPP we have an album that is completely split into two pieces. Every song could easily be reduced to an acoustic version that has just been rendered into something characteristically AC by way of the production, instead of songs on their previous album where the process of creating the production quirks yielded the actual melodic and harmonic content of the songs. I hope that makes sense. To answer your second part, the reason I listen to AC is because they're doing weird original shit, some of it inspired, and some of it affected and lame. Like I don't want to hear their most mainstream effort. It's the same reason I listen to Xiu Xiu. If they ever put out a "safe" or "accessible" (whether intentionally or unintentionally) album I think I'd find myself turned off. Xiu Xiu's safest album is probably The Air Force and I hardly listen to it and prefer Fabulous Muscles and A Promise much more.

AggravatedYeti
January 6th 2009


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

...this is really fucking good

I mean like really, really.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Now on MPP we have an album that is completely split into two pieces. Every song could easily be reduced to an acoustic version that has just been rendered into something characteristically AC by way of the production, instead of songs on their previous album where the process of creating the production quirks yielded the actual melodic and harmonic content of the songs. I hope that makes sense.


It makes sense it just seems like you're overanalyzing it. It's like "this album isn't challenging the boundaries of music therefore its not good."

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is at once the weirdest album animal collective have made the easiest to listen to I think

plane
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009


6094 Comments


That makes complete sense, actually. I never approached it like that but then again I don't approach things as technically as you do + I got into Animal Collective because of Feels and everything else filed suit afterward. You do bring up a great point and I think one where we still don't agree; I like Sung Tongs a lot but I find a lot of the time despite the production and not because of it. I admire it more than I genuinely enjoy it, which is where the actual songwriting comes into play and not just the quirks they add to or upon it. I like the disconnect of production on Strawberry Jam because it made the album feel like a genuine attempt at a departure, not to mention Avey Tare became the album's MVP. Which also comes down to where I don't feel like "accessible" equals "safe."

DWittisarockstar
January 6th 2009


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm curious as to what DeFelon would rate this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy