Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
plane
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



6085 Comments


You contradicted yourself in that paragraph, Nick. You're saying that Strawberry Jam is different than Merriweather Post Pavilion because it doesn't have this "homogenous uniformity" but it is still led AC towards this pureed blend of sounds? I would hardly say they reined anything in, especially considering what a radical, abbrasive departure it was from Feels, which worked as an album rather than a collection of tunes. I rarely every listen to Strawberry Jam as a whole but stick any track on a mix and it's the one I always skip to. I for one am really glad they went for this production because it makes the songs engaging on a purely track-by-track basis and as one, quick 55 minutes. That's taking best of both worlds as far as Animal Collective's songwriting goes. You are having a really difficult time actually building a stable argument since most of your ideas seem to be conflicting.

jontheatheist
January 6th 2009



79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Theres really no point in putting up my review now, unless its wanted.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Saying an album sounds homogeneous doesn't mean all the songs are the same.

next time you should put a [2], for the secondary definition of homogeneous, or just say the structure sounds the same so there is no confusion with your assault of verbal vomit.

Also, if texture isn't the most characteristic or important thing AC has worked with over their career, what is? Since you're such an expert and all.

I wasn't saying texture wasn't their most important characteristic. I was implying that you were comparing the texture Merriweather Post Pavilion to Sung Tongs while leaving out their past two albums, therefore appearing ignorant of their music as a whole.

Way to not actually read what I said.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

jontheatheist
January 6th 2009



79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what the hell, I'll post it up since its already written.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well the only album I haven't heard in full is Feels, which I just streamed a significant amount of, so ya, I think I have decent grip on what they're working with. So do you agree with me that texture is the most important part, or what? Let's get on with talking about the music instead of getting all caught up in the mechanics of arguing.

Lewis, I was saying Strawberry Jam is an album that is still eclectic enough to avoid the pure homogeneity of MPP, but I could hear them restricting some of the diversity and contrast that made Sung Tongs enjoyable. It was still a weird ass surprising album, but the extrema were clipped. Neatly trimmed, making the listening experience somewhat more unified. Sorry if that was unclear. Think of it like Dowsing Anemone with Copper Tongue. It's a transition between the obvious use of metal in Choirs of the Eye to the absence of metal in Blue Lambency Downward. Strawberry Jam was a transitional album in that respect. I could hear them hint at some real homogeneity in Strawberry Jam's diminished textural and song to song variety.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

And I do agree that the homogeneity makes MPP more immediately listenable, though that's the exact opposite of why I ever listened to them in the first place.

jontheatheist
January 6th 2009



79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You listened to them because they were hard to listen to?



kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jon T Heat Heist tryna pwn

iarescientists
January 6th 2009



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

guys stop arguing

animal collective is about love and harmony and tripping balls on some bad acid D:

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ya im definitely gonna listen to this while mowing my lawn

andersvisa
January 6th 2009



31 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I still can't comprehend the hype around any of this bands material.

This is by far the most overhyped and overated peices of music I have ever heard.

iarescientists
January 6th 2009



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's a lot easier if you don't try to overanalyze it like and just let it sink in

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this is that good

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

itt robots can't enjoy music

Doppelganger
January 6th 2009



3124 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What a predictable Greer opinion.

P13
January 6th 2009



1327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good

kingsoby1
Emeritus
January 6th 2009



4940 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

chan bastion of human emotion righ hurrThis Message Edited On 01.06.09

iarescientists
January 6th 2009



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

itt robots can't enjoy music


then how do you explain daft punk

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk if ryan said this somewhere already but its gonna take something mindblowingly amazing to take this from my number one spot. My rating could very conceivably up to a 5 depending on how it ages

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2009



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

its like the Lizard of avant garde electronic pop bullshit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy