Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kman418
April 15th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol damn that show was like four months ago bro but it was incredible def the best show ive been to

Digging: Xiu Xiu - Fabulous Muscles

BigPleb
April 15th 2014


38138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet, just remember your list but never got chance to comment :/

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Kman418
April 15th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's cool lol

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A hipster is somebody who shits themselves thinking they're authentic and won't accept they're actually inauthentic, just like
the rest of us plebs. My music taste is inauthentic, everybody's music taste is inauthentic and just because you say
"HIPSTERS DON'T EXIST DON'T CALL ME THAT!" doesn't make it so. They exist because some people can't accept
that music is a part of our identity we create and will therefore always be 'inauthentic'. They don't get what's so ironic
about their own search for 'authentic' singular minded identity that they fall flat on their face writing shit like that blog post to
try and pretend they really are authentic.

Digging: Danny Brown - Old

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is for hipsters in that it's so niche, weird and 'fun' that you'll be seen as so authentic for liking something eternally unlistenable and that us plebs would never understand.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's not to say that you are a hipster or that I don't believe you actually like this album (although I am in disbelief people derive any pleasure from the listening experience when it comes to AnCo), just don't give me this bs "hipsters don't exist man YOU'RE THE HIPSTER IM AUTHENTIC DON'T TAKE THAT AWAY FROM ME!", it's a metric-tonne of shite

Polyethylene
April 15th 2014


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

AnCo is pure ear candy for me, it just sounds amazing. I don't give two shits who else listens to it, or how relevant or revolutionary it is...

in a vacuum, this really does it for me

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a record ruined by it's context for me, but I'm glad to see people enjoy this without the pretentious contextual overtones

Kman418
April 15th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

did u seriously just claim that your music taste is inauthentic and then make a claim like "anyone who likes this thing that i dont like is obviously just faking for attention to look cool"

i dont even know what youre talking about with all this "well they think theyre authentic but theyre not" stuff how is that relevant im saying that so many people throw the term "HIPSTUHR!!!@" on literally anything that they don't like that the terms become meaningless. it doesn't imply a certain sound or style or type of person it just means "i dont like this thing/person so im going to call them a name"

Kman418
April 15th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

when did this sites userbase get so bad oh my god i want skeames back

Wadlez
April 16th 2014


4675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The older you get compared to the average age of the userbase which is constant.

Kman418
April 16th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i want you to take a step back for a second and appreciate the fact that you're actually labeling things as pretentious when a few minutes earlier you LITERALLY SAID "i don't like this thing so that means if you like it you just want to seem cool and edgy!!! no one can like things i like its not possible!!!" oh my god im leaving

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It implies a certain attitude, an attitude where you like something that nobody else likes to appear 'cool' and 'authentic' even though you formulate your own identity and therefore are inauthentic. There's nothing wrong with it, everyone does it. Just don't say you're more authentic and try and say you're also not a hipster

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't even know why I'm arguing this i don't care and I'm pretty much wrong

aircycle
April 16th 2014


1023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hipster is completely meaningless

is it someone who legitimately likes certain "hipster things" (high-waisted shorts pbr vinyl anco)? or someone who pretends to like those things to give them a certain image? or both? or wat

i mean on the one hand you should do/wear whatever you want but on the other hand that guy on campus who wears the "one round frame, one square frame" glasses and purple pants is just trying to stick out right

Kman418
April 16th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

my appreciation/most peoples appreciation for this has nothing to do with that. im sure theres a few tools out there that saw pitchfork gave it a good rating and pretend to like it to seem cool but i can guarantee you 90% of the fans of this just heard it and thought "yeah this is good". i dont give a shit what mu thinks of it. i dont give a shit what pitchfork thinks of it. i dont give a shit what you or a thousand other people think of it. literally every single other person on the planet could hate this, and if i heard it i'd most likely still listen to it cause i enjoy the music. how is this so hard to grasp.

literally the only reason i like/listen to this is because when i hear the music i enjoy it. thats it. thats probably the case for most people that like it. if you seriously think that because in your subjective opinion its the worst thing to ever touch the planet that its literally impossible for anyone else to like it without being fake about it in some way i want you to take a step back and consider what youre saying

Wadlez
April 16th 2014


4675 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Back when it came out I had never heard of AC. Simply saw it getting buzz on this site, checked it out and thought hey this sounds good.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't even know what I'm arguing because you're all pretty much right. I just don't think that it's correct to say hipsters don't exist, because there are people out there who will try and buy a sense of independence and buy into a certain style of obscurity. Of course, there are people who genuinely enjoy vinyl/cassette, growing beards and skinny jeans who end up tainted by the people who are just in it because of the image.

With the 'inauthentic' thing I was referring to Baudrillard and simulacra and the sense that what we all enjoy is just simulations of what others enjoy

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


3373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and I don't think that about animal collective, I think their is a case to be made though that some people will fein interest in this to gain credibility because of how difficult it is

Kman418
April 16th 2014


11351 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah thats acceptable



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy