Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kman418
April 15th 2014


12324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

did u seriously just claim that your music taste is inauthentic and then make a claim like "anyone who likes this thing that i dont like is obviously just faking for attention to look cool"



i dont even know what youre talking about with all this "well they think theyre authentic but theyre not" stuff how is that relevant im saying that so many people throw the term "HIPSTUHR!!!@" on literally anything that they don't like that the terms become meaningless. it doesn't imply a certain sound or style or type of person it just means "i dont like this thing/person so im going to call them a name"

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

Kman418
April 15th 2014


12324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

when did this sites userbase get so bad oh my god i want skeames back

Wadlez
April 16th 2014


4833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The older you get compared to the average age of the userbase which is constant.

Kman418
April 16th 2014


12324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i want you to take a step back for a second and appreciate the fact that you're actually labeling things as pretentious when a few minutes earlier you LITERALLY SAID "i don't like this thing so that means if you like it you just want to seem cool and edgy!!! no one can like things i like its not possible!!!" oh my god im leaving

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It implies a certain attitude, an attitude where you like something that nobody else likes to appear 'cool' and 'authentic' even though you formulate your own identity and therefore are inauthentic. There's nothing wrong with it, everyone does it. Just don't say you're more authentic and try and say you're also not a hipster

Digging: Iron Maiden - The Book of Souls

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't even know why I'm arguing this i don't care and I'm pretty much wrong

aircycle
April 16th 2014


1088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hipster is completely meaningless



is it someone who legitimately likes certain "hipster things" (high-waisted shorts pbr vinyl anco)? or someone who pretends to like those things to give them a certain image? or both? or wat



i mean on the one hand you should do/wear whatever you want but on the other hand that guy on campus who wears the "one round frame, one square frame" glasses and purple pants is just trying to stick out right

Kman418
April 16th 2014


12324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

my appreciation/most peoples appreciation for this has nothing to do with that. im sure theres a few tools out there that saw pitchfork gave it a good rating and pretend to like it to seem cool but i can guarantee you 90% of the fans of this just heard it and thought "yeah this is good". i dont give a shit what mu thinks of it. i dont give a shit what pitchfork thinks of it. i dont give a shit what you or a thousand other people think of it. literally every single other person on the planet could hate this, and if i heard it i'd most likely still listen to it cause i enjoy the music. how is this so hard to grasp.



literally the only reason i like/listen to this is because when i hear the music i enjoy it. thats it. thats probably the case for most people that like it. if you seriously think that because in your subjective opinion its the worst thing to ever touch the planet that its literally impossible for anyone else to like it without being fake about it in some way i want you to take a step back and consider what youre saying

Wadlez
April 16th 2014


4833 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Back when it came out I had never heard of AC. Simply saw it getting buzz on this site, checked it out and thought hey this sounds good.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't even know what I'm arguing because you're all pretty much right. I just don't think that it's correct to say hipsters don't exist, because there are people out there who will try and buy a sense of independence and buy into a certain style of obscurity. Of course, there are people who genuinely enjoy vinyl/cassette, growing beards and skinny jeans who end up tainted by the people who are just in it because of the image.



With the 'inauthentic' thing I was referring to Baudrillard and simulacra and the sense that what we all enjoy is just simulations of what others enjoy

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and I don't think that about animal collective, I think their is a case to be made though that some people will fein interest in this to gain credibility because of how difficult it is

Kman418
April 16th 2014


12324 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah thats acceptable

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

im sure theres a few tools out there that saw pitchfork gave it a good rating and pretend to like it




it is these people who are hipsters, who become the majority voice who dictate the praise of this album. I'm not claiming you're wrong or you don't genuinely like this but there's a case to be made that this album has gained an inordinate amount of fans who like it for the identity it holds

SnakeDelilah
April 16th 2014


12566 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to jam these guys

Digging: We Lost the Sea - Departure Songs

Polyethylene
April 16th 2014


3320 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah again, this could have one rating or a million and I'd still love it





don't let context ruin an album for you

Digging: My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult - Sexplosion!

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2014


5744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It kind of did for this. This isn't my type of thing to begin with and when I heard all the raving I was really surprised at how not amazing I found this. The same goes for neutral milk hotel, the only other album I've ever found to be hype killed

Sleaper
April 16th 2014


3476 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

arcade...just stop lol



you come to a thread within a genre that obviously isn't your cup of tea and call us inauthentic?



i don't go round the grunge or metalcore threads screaming the fans are unoriginal.



Not that i give a half fuck about what you're saying, im more so worried your reputation on this site will be inevitably ruined 4 LYYYYYYYF!

Digging: Panda Bear - Crosswords

aircycle
April 16th 2014


1088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

can we all just agree that avey > panda?

Polyethylene
April 16th 2014


3320 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck no



Avey's had two middling solo albums, Panda's had several amazing ones



Avey's vocals sting more emotionally (especially on Strawberry Jam) but Panda's are much more consistently thrilling, dem vowels yo

NorthernSkylark
April 16th 2014


7079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dig this. But I find it impossible to rate... It's all over the place, just like the cover!

I feel like it's a 4, though I could be wrong. It won't be long (yeah).

Digging: The KLF - Chill Out



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy