Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Uranium
April 14th 2014


7319 Comments


sometimes



Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've listened to the music and i just don't understand the myriad of 5's this ends up with

Kman418
April 14th 2014


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well they listen to it and then theyre like "wow this is really good" and then they 5 it

Uranium
April 14th 2014


7319 Comments


and then upon return they're like oh

Kman418
April 14th 2014


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i made a good call on that

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ya but how does this make people happy

Uranium
April 14th 2014


7319 Comments


probably drugs man

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't want to be a douchebag and say only hipsters like this. but there's a good case for that.

Kman418
April 14th 2014


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

2014 and people still think hipsters exist truly incredible

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hipsters are like Santa or slash they don't exist

Kman418
April 14th 2014


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

http://musucks.tumblr.com/post/12628650157/hipster-is-a-term-co-opted-for-use-as-a

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with a lot of what that says. The problem is that therefore the actual lines between 'authentic' and 'inauthentic' become blurred as they are called into question. I could point out that somebody who dresses like they're from the '50s and uses a cassette player is a hipster but it would only make me look like one myself, somewhat destroying the offense. Oh well.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't people say that a 'true' hipster can't call themselves a hipster?

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that argument to me seems to be a big part of the 'hipster' provocative; they don't want to be called out for the fact that they
buy their authenticity so blatantly so they construct an identity around them that flips it to make it seem like they really are
authentic. Whether we like it or not, we are all just symptoms of Baudrillard in that we buy into whatever we think will identify
us as an individual, with the 'hipster' style (which does exist, contrary to what the article says) being one of the most blatantly
offensive due to the fact that it always claims apparent authenticity that doesn't actually exist

Polyethylene
April 15th 2014


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just think it sounds exotic, optimistic and beautiful

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

exotic, optimistic and beautiful


that's absolutely nothing like what I'm hearing. I hear a difficult, boring, bland, drab, pretentious, overdone and all together dissonant album of synth/drum machine blips and absolutely shocking attempts at lyrics. Needless to say, the critical plaudits are unnecessary as nothing this band do is easily accessible, 'experimental' ("glow sticks and... and.. keyboards!... Oooooh!"), danceable or catchy in any way what so ever. This is Grateful Dead made for the Hipster (they exist) generation

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


3398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not meaning to offend Poly I'm just stating what if don't understand about ANCO

Polyethylene
April 15th 2014


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

poor you

PunchforPunch
April 15th 2014


6280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Be optimistic, stay exotic, you're beautiful just the way you are.

Kman418
April 15th 2014


11352 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShdX3tkflFE this band has never done anything experimental ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy