Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hipsters are like Santa or slash they don't exist

Digging: Boosie Badazz - Happy Thanksgiving & Merry Christmas

Kman418
April 14th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://musucks.tumblr.com/post/12628650157/hipster-is-a-term-co-opted-for-use-as-a

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with a lot of what that says. The problem is that therefore the actual lines between 'authentic' and 'inauthentic' become blurred as they are called into question. I could point out that somebody who dresses like they're from the '50s and uses a cassette player is a hipster but it would only make me look like one myself, somewhat destroying the offense. Oh well.

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't people say that a 'true' hipster can't call themselves a hipster?

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 14th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that argument to me seems to be a big part of the 'hipster' provocative; they don't want to be called out for the fact that they

buy their authenticity so blatantly so they construct an identity around them that flips it to make it seem like they really are

authentic. Whether we like it or not, we are all just symptoms of Baudrillard in that we buy into whatever we think will identify

us as an individual, with the 'hipster' style (which does exist, contrary to what the article says) being one of the most blatantly

offensive due to the fact that it always claims apparent authenticity that doesn't actually exist

Polyethylene
April 15th 2014


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just think it sounds exotic, optimistic and beautiful

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

exotic, optimistic and beautiful




that's absolutely nothing like what I'm hearing. I hear a difficult, boring, bland, drab, pretentious, overdone and all together dissonant album of synth/drum machine blips and absolutely shocking attempts at lyrics. Needless to say, the critical plaudits are unnecessary as nothing this band do is easily accessible, 'experimental' ("glow sticks and... and.. keyboards!... Oooooh!"), danceable or catchy in any way what so ever. This is Grateful Dead made for the Hipster (they exist) generation

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not meaning to offend Poly I'm just stating what if don't understand about ANCO

Polyethylene
April 15th 2014


4677 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

poor you

PunchforPunch
April 15th 2014


6277 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Be optimistic, stay exotic, you're beautiful just the way you are.

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShdX3tkflFE this band has never done anything experimental ever

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

honestly if you went into this thinking it would be experimental or challenging (or actually did think it was a challenging

album after listening to it uh) then yeah i really wouldnt expect you to like it

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2014


7961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't know what to expect. I'd heard everything from accessible to experimental and in the end felt insulted at how trivial and niche it turned out to be

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how can u honestly not think this is catchy tho like this is basically straight indie pop

BigPleb
April 15th 2014


48250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Only AC I enjoy.

Digging: A Tribe Called Quest - We got it from Here? Thank You 4 Your service

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

have u heard both strawberry and feels because those are both better



and spirit but you would hate spirit lol

BigPleb
April 15th 2014


48250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Think I heard Strawberry Jam a while back, prob gonna go back to it seeing as though this rules.

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya u would probably dig strawberry

BigPleb
April 15th 2014


48250 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Will check Feels too, got off on the wrong foot with these guys checking Centipede Hz first.

Kman418
April 15th 2014


13238 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

lol yeah not the best choice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy