Def Leppard The Def Leppard E.P.
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 19th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gee Ross, if you have yet to give Def Leppard a good listen, that's not very British of you!
Speaking of... I was watching a music video show last night and who came on; Late Of The Pier. It reminded me of something... Now what would that be? ;-)
Ahhh, who can resist a one-armed drummer joke!? Actually, they are all null & void on this review as Rick Allen was not even the drummer on this release!

Fugue
December 19th 2008



7352 Comments


Yeah i know, I feel rightfully ashamed of myself. And yeah I know this review is taking me a while, but I haven't had a lot of time lately, and I want it to be my best review yet. I put out a Ziggy Stardust review a couple of days ago if you desperately need to read something, but I reckon I can get LotP out by monday.

Oh by the way, what do you think of them from what you have heard?

AtavanHalen
December 19th 2008



17927 Comments


DavID, when FOB even get to half the album sales of Def Lep, then maybe you can talk. And I'll even make it slightly possible by making it only 2 of Def Lep's albums; Pyromania & Hysteria combined. Enjoy your wait!

Lol at your more album sales = better band argument.
Considering these losers got about a twentysomething year starting point, that's hardly fair.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sorry Ross, I completely missed the Ziggy review and will give it a read when I get a chance. I promise.
As for LotP, I have only heard the two songs, so can't really comment full. But from those singles, they reminded me a lot of the Klaxons, both in their sound and also the way their music gets ingrained in my head, despite that style not being my thing as such.
DavID, as if I would go down that argument route... I'm not that silly. What I was more trying to suggest was that you do not fluke having 2 albums sell 10 million plus copies. Sure, some mediocre artists have sold a few million here and there, but not 10 million plus... TWICE! And Fall Out Boy have released quite a few albums now, you know.

bastard
December 20th 2008



3435 Comments


hey Daveyboy, not going to lie, Hysteria is a guilty pleasure of mine.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There's nothing "guilty" about it at all MaxyBoy. If it's a guilty pleasure, there's 12 or so other million people around the world that are getting sentenced as we speak!

bastard
December 20th 2008



3435 Comments


you should go to my Children of Bodom review and see all the angry sputnikheads.

Douchebag
December 20th 2008



3624 Comments


haha yeah man i absolutley loved hysteria so i picked up the new one and was more or less impressed. I'm definitley gonna pick up pyromania as soon as i find it.

Good to see someone else like Def Leppard :D
Do you like Iron Maiden and Judas Priest too?


oh, and FOB haven't released 7 singles from ONE album...This Message Edited On 12.20.08

AtavanHalen
December 20th 2008



17927 Comments


you do not fluke having 2 albums sell 10 million plus copies. Sure, some mediocre artists have sold a few million here and there, but not 10 million plus... TWICE!

Shania Twain's album Come On Over is 21 times platinum.
In the U.S. alone.
21. Times. Platinum.
Garth Brooks is also 21 times platinum and counting.
KENNY G (read: KENNY G) has a 12 times platinum record.
Def Leppard were just in the right place at the right time. I bet at least six million of the 10 that bought it look back at it now and are saying to themselves "What the FUCK was I thinking?"

AtavanHalen
December 20th 2008



17927 Comments


Ohh, just to emphasise a bit more:
Backstreet Boys - Millenium (40 million)
The Bodyguard Soundtrack (42 million)
Celine Dion - Falling Into You (32 million)


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gee, I made you do some research there DavID... Haha. Good stuff.
I actually meant to say ROCK Bands, since we are comparing 2 bands I would classify broadly as rock. There are always going to be genre specific artists like Kenny G, Celine Dion & Shania Twain (btw, I think Kenny & Shania only had 1 album each sell over 10 million) who sell to little girls & mothers... But when it comes to rock bands, the list isn't as long.... & definitely not as embarrassing.
And don't give me "right place at the right time". In fact, with 'Pyromania', it was EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE... Why? Now what was the name of the album it was released around the same time as? I can't quite recall it, but I know it sold a few copies... That Jackson fella... Was it Griller? Shriller? 5 Dollar Biller? Nah, but it will come to me. Poor 'Pyromania' had to sit at #2 for months on end.
ALLIGATOR, I don't mind both Maiden & Priest, but I never got into them as much as Def Leppard. I admit it was because of Leppard's greater tilt at the mainstream and their huge songs capturing my imagination nore than pretty much anything the other 2 bands did.

ConorMichaelJoseph
December 20th 2008



1870 Comments


Sales don't matter at all when it come to how good a band is.

Look at the Eagles' Greatest Hits record, the highest-selling of its kind, yet most of the songs on the record could be the same song.
But like the Eagles, Def Leppard are overrated.

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
December 20th 2008



7983 Comments


Def Leppard is not terrible, but are a total product of the era. They have some really great songs though, like "Lets Get Rocked."

Fugue
December 20th 2008



7352 Comments


Fair enough Davey, well even if it isn't your thing, I'm sure you'll be able to enjoy them. Had a breakthrough with the review, and it is so infuriatingly close to the finish now, I may even be able to get it posted later today.

As for the my take on the whole album sales = good artist I have to say I agree with both you and David. Whilst agreeing that this trend is not necessarily the case, yes a whole lot of shite artists get huge record sales, I think that if you manage to get 10 million + sales twice in a row you have to feel that the band has something special.

Douchebag
December 20th 2008



3624 Comments


yeah this whole era of music is just plain fun.
Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Skid Row, Guns n Roses etc I can't get enough of it :D

What are the other lep albums like? I know Pyromania and hysteria are refered to as the best but iv'e also heard they had some flops?

AtavanHalen
December 20th 2008



17927 Comments


And don't give me "right place at the right time". In fact, with 'Pyromania', it was EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE... Why? Now what was the name of the album it was released around the same time as? I can't quite recall it, but I know it sold a few copies... That Jackson fella... Was it Griller? Shriller? 5 Dollar Biller? Nah, but it will come to me. Poor 'Pyromania' had to sit at #2 for months on end.

So the hell what if Thriller was around at the same time? So were a LOT of records, and for Def Leppard to get to #2 still proves that there was a massive fan base for them.
Also, unlike Pyromania, Thriller was actually deserving of all its success.

Look at the Eagles' Greatest Hits record, the highest-selling of its kind, yet most of the songs on the record could be the same song.

You HAVE to be fourteen or fifteen.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 20th 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ross, I've finally had a read & replied to your Ziggy review... Now to get to the LotPier one... I can't keep up... Haha.
As for the album sales thing, well said. Plus, their one after their 2 big albums ('Adrenalize') also sold about 7 million copies I think, but I will admit that was more on the back of the previous releases, since it's not quite up to their usual quality.
Oh & I undersold 'Hysteria' earlier in this thread. I think I said 12 million, when it is closer to 20.
I'm not getting into The Eagles here. Nuff said on that.
I'm with you Alligator. Skid Row (albeit for one album pretty much), the Gunners & I'll add Bon Jovi were fun as. As for the other Def Leppard albums, stay tuned. I think I may review all 39 of them just for AtavanHalen! ;-)
DavID; Hi, how are you today mate? I think we need to move on bud... & stop thinking that opinion is fact. Hell, even most Def Leppard haters like Pyromania.

AtavanHalen
December 20th 2008



17927 Comments


I'm really good.
And why move on from good discussion? Never happens here.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 21st 2008



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^^^
Because we may end up going "On Through The Night".

AtavanHalen
December 21st 2008



17927 Comments


Your puns are atrocious.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy