Common Universal Mind Control
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
heyseuss
December 19th 2008


384 Comments


The thing about Kanye's album is him and none of his hardcore fans (which I'm sure you know, there are a lot of) do not believe 808s is just club music. People lately have been treating it as a piece of art, an accomplishment for hip-hop, a new age sensation. I mean...depth in that album is non-existent, lyrics are lazy as hell, beats are a night spent on Fruity Loops with some Gin N' Tonic save a couple nice ones.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 19th 2008


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

[quote='The Title of This Webpage']Common
Universal Mind Control[/quote]

heyseuss
December 19th 2008


384 Comments


Cocaine kinda brought up Kanye if you kinda missed that.

Tyler
Emeritus
December 19th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

So wait. First you're all "you can't compare club music and artist on the same scale" then you're all "i'm a spiteful little bitch who takes it personally when people call a 'club' album good and act as if it has artistic merit which it obviously doesn't because i don't like it so i'll write a review about it'.
seriously, hypocrite and a troll. please vanish from my review.

heyseuss
December 19th 2008


384 Comments


No, see I don't like the idea of people misinterpreting club music and judging it on the same scale as artistic music, in this case hip-hop. I already said that you can't compare the genres and yet so many believe that you can. In music with substance, there is more than just music. In music whose substance is dance moves and party sounds, the comparison is simply unfair.

Tyler
Emeritus
December 19th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

But Kanye's new album isn't club music anyways so you're an idiot. Anyways, I'm not replying to anything you say from this point on. Have fun talking to yourself.

heyseuss
December 19th 2008


384 Comments


Thats an immature thing to do. And Kanye's new album is most fitting in a club setting because of its heavily pop influenced instrumentals and the superficial emotion in the lyrics. Both qualities can be found in typical club music. Its also very immature to consider a person an 'idiot' because their opinion differs from yours, without any explanation either? You should argue as articulate as you review.

bastard
December 19th 2008


3435 Comments


albums pretty horrible.

Thor
December 22nd 2008


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

heyseuss Kanye's latest album is the least "club oriented" album he has ever released.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

magictikkleCwicked
December 22nd 2008


272 Comments


I disagree, Kanye wasn't as popular in the club as he is now with 'Heartless' and 'Love Lockdown'. And in the past his production has been infinitely less poppy, even though it retained such an aspect he was never this bubbly.

Herman187
December 22nd 2008


6 Comments


Generally speaking, your review is on point. Not the best written review ever, but being as i have contributed nothing more to this board then this first comment, i really cant speak much on that. Now onto the statement that bothered me.... You say that Common is not a club artist, and because of this failure, he has fallen off as an MC. but many other artists have produced solid club type albums without previously being known as a club artist. i.e--Jay Z, Nas, Kanye, Fat Joe, Camron, Freeway, De La Soul, Outkast and Beanie Siegel. In most cases, the production carries an album when this attempt at a crossover takes place. Knowing that Common was shooting for this style album before its release, i immediately checked the production credits, and seeing that the Neptunes were on a majority of the production, i figured it had a good shot at success. Unfortunately, after a few spins, i can say the album was a failure on most levels.
There's been a gradual movement in this direction by Common every album. The more of a "club appeal" he reaches for, the more his albums seem forced and less creative. With this being said---Common is not capable of producing a club type mainstream album in full.....maybe a few tracks would have worked. And also, just because the man is not capable of a successful crossover album, does that mean he "fell off"? I think not. If he sticks to the formula that got him where he is now, i see no reason he cant produce a quality follow up to this mess.

And with ten tracks in total, the margin for error was slim to none. I can see why the album is generating so much negativity. He stated early in the year this was supposed to be a summer release because it has that "feel" to it. I would give it a 2.5 A very frustrating 2.5, because i know what he is capable of. Its a shame, everyone says hiphop is dead.....and releases like this are slowly pulling the plug on its life support.

Tyler
Emeritus
December 23rd 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I never said he fell off because he's not a club artist, I said he fell off because he fell off. Him trying to make club music is inconsequential: his decline started before that. It just so happens that his attempt at making club music was a dismal, embarrassing failure.

Kronzo
December 23rd 2008


994 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

is this worse then the soulja boy album?

Herman187
December 23rd 2008


6 Comments


Not that he fell off because he's not a club artist. More or less, i got the impression that you meant he fell off because he wasnt capable of producing a club type album. I didnt see that as the case. Com tried somethin new, failed, and well thats that. There has been a lil decline in his last few albums, but all of them were solid releases. So that leaves us with one wack album, which is why i assumed you based judgement of him falling off simply from not being able to crossover completely.


no, this is not worse then the soulja boy album. This is Com tryin to do a club type album. You can tell hes just havin fun now....and wanted to try somethin new. He's at that level, where he can try somethin new and get away with it regardless of the quality.


Tyler
Emeritus
December 23rd 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I never said he fell off because he produced a club album, one isn't the result of the other. But they go together. It just completes the degredation that he started with Finding Forever. You shouldn't assume, it makes you look silly.
He hardly comes off like he's having fun and he really doesn't get away with it. "Philosophy on top of you" is one of the stupidest line I have heard all year.

Poet
December 23rd 2008


5935 Comments


Not going to listen to this, but it is bugging me that I have heard the music of Universal Mind Control (song) and before. What the heck is it from?

Herman187
December 23rd 2008


6 Comments


My assumption was a result of the way you worded things. I dont look silly, thanks. If Common makes an album like this, of course its fun to him. He didnt need to release another album, he wanted to do it! An emcee of his caliber doesnt make this type of album without the desire to have a good time. Also, very few artists can make an album consisting of 10 tracks and little cohesiveness and still get the green light from the record label....So yeah, he gets away with it. Atleast in the sense i was conveying.

Your opinion of the "fall of Common" over his 2 albums is...well....an opinion. Its harsh and over critical. He changed with the times to an extent. And realized it was ok to make some money and not completely sell out on Finding Forever, which was a decent album. Simple and effective for its purpose, and better then a majority of major label releases last year.

Just out of curiousity---who are some hip hop artists you listen to? I saw in your bio that hip hop was a very minimal portion of your listening interests, so im just interested in seeing where ur opinions of the genre are generated from.

Tyler
Emeritus
December 23rd 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

That chart has to do with ratings, not what I listen to. Common is, actually a favourite. Or he was with Ressurection and Like Water for Chocolate. Then there's stuff like Organized Konfusion, Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, Black Star, The Roots, Goodie Mob, Blackalicious, blablabla, I don't have to justify anything.

HighandDriving
December 24th 2008


3288 Comments


Organized Konfusion are sick.

Herman187
December 24th 2008


6 Comments


no, you dont have to justify a thing. But theres a big difference between clarification and justification. I was shooting for the former, by seeing what artists you were into, since your elitist attitude towards music was not helping advance the conversation. Nor was it explaining your negative opinion on every common album since Like Water For Chocolate. I just find it funny when i ask ya what MCs you check for, you get all uptight and hostile. Relax man, its music.

If the chart has to do with ratings, not what you listen to.....wait....ok, lemme get this straight. Your ratings are not based on music which you are listening to? Wow. Then what gives your reviews any clout at all?

Common made an album only someone of his stature in the hip hop game could get away with, on his terms, having fun. It failed for the most part. That doesnt mean he didnt have fun recording it. It also has nothing to do with his acting, which i still dont understand why you even mention at all in the review. And Finding Forever was better then a majority/most major label releases of 07.

Ok, im bored with this discussion. I was really looking for quality hip hop discussion on a rainy afternoon.....not happenin.This Message Edited On 12.23.08This Message Edited On 12.23.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy