Dead Congregation Graves of the Archangels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DBlitz
February 10th 2009


1691 Comments


The way you said "the riffs are solid, the solos are great, the drumming is tight", you can say all those aspects are executed well - that can be objective - but you can't determine how "good" the album is based on that. It's your opinion whether its good or not.

idk this is just how i see it

Essence
February 10th 2009


3595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is so ace

Hyperbore
February 10th 2009


856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Amusingly, the more heavily one claims quality to be subjective, the more egotistical his view becomes. You can easily determine how good an album is if you're willing to put aside the need to form your own "unique" definition of what constitutes good, and deal with reality as-it-is, i.e. outside of what you want it to be. I enjoy plenty of things that are, from an artistic standpoint, utter crap. That doesn't mean I would recommend them to others, because they are PERSONAL likes.

It also means that they are guilty pleasures, and as such, part of being human. That, in turn, means that I don't NEED to justify my liking them - and statements such as "all opinions are equally correct, all music is equally good, etc." are just that, justifications for knowing that something you like will probably be disliked by others, which makes you suspect that your tastes might not be perfect, tying your ego into knots. So, to counteract all that, you pretend to believe in ridiculous statements like "all opinions are equally correct, all music is equally good, etc." When of course, nothing else in existence parallels this view of things.

For example; if all perceptions are just opinions, and thus all equally close to the truth of any particular subject(or even that there is no "truth"), then what I am saying is just as valid as what you are saying. However, your statements and mine cannot be equally true, as they are in direct opposition. Even worse, by adhering to the fully subjective view, you are claiming that my opinion is just as good as yours, but my opinion entails that yours is not worth keeping. So you consider your own opinion to be both correct and false.

Sounds like a pretty confusing world to live in. Either "all opinions are valid" meaning that mine is valid too, and mine is that subjectivity is invalid, which invalidates the quoted statement; OR "Hyperbore's opinion is less valid" meaning that all opinions are NOT equally valid, which, coincidentally, validates my initial opinion. In short: welcome to the Liar Paradox.

Anthracks
February 10th 2009


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

way to pontificate on stuff only slightly related to what he said

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2009


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hyperbore is getting his money's worth in college

jingledeath
February 15th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

holy shit cake, the Ep that came out before this is fucking amazing!

yas666eer
March 2nd 2009


271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

damn... I always mistook them for mournful Congregation. Good stuff

Tyler
Emeritus
March 4th 2009


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this band is actually good

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2009


17945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

siqq

panagiotis
March 5th 2009


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will listen to it. Never heard of this Greek band before. Would you please listen also to Terrordrome- Vehement Convulsion and tell me your opinion on them. Brutal death metal they play currently signed to Grindethic records

JizzInMyPants
April 26th 2009


2397 Comments


the new split these guys are on is awesome

Tyler
Emeritus
April 27th 2009


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

test

rasputin
April 27th 2009


14555 Comments


i wish i had the grades

BallsToTheWall
August 2nd 2009


44805 Comments


A great /bandalbum but I think I was won over by another new/old band called Graveyard. Fucking excellent E.P.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

jingledeath
August 19th 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

been listening to this again lately, still fucking superb.

Relinquished
August 19th 2010


25919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah man

jingledeath
August 27th 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utiQGLB9CNA

krig9412
October 12th 2010


794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God these guys fucking rule. Them and Ignivomous need to get a gig together, that would be an intense show

kount
October 12th 2010


1279 Comments


u should make a list of ur dream concert

Hawks
October 30th 2010


35838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is so fucking awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy