Razorlight Slipway Fires
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
November 9th 2008


4961 Comments


People hate her image, that's all.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Actually, the reference I made in the review to both Winehouse & Doherty, were not so much about people hating them (although that is indeed a side-effect), but more that I presume it is difficult over in England to pick up a tabloid in any given week and not see one of them fairly strongly featured on or near the front page.

DavID, you indeed have me interested regarding this 'Frog Prince' track. Apparently, Borrell can be a rather intimidating person to meet and when this is coupled with the opinion of Keane by seemingly anybody that has a rather cocky personality, then I can only imagine how that meeting went. Is it safe to suggest that the song is NOT complimentary?

AtavanHalen
November 9th 2008


17920 Comments


Yeah, more or less. You gotta hear the "Under The Iron Sea" album, though, man, it's brilliant.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Was 'Under The Iron Sea' the LP you called your "album of 2007"...???

robin
Emeritus
November 9th 2008


4426 Comments


i agree he should hear it.

AtavanHalen
November 9th 2008


17920 Comments


Was 'Under The Iron Sea' the LP you called your "album of 2007"

2006. Best album of 2007 was Mirrored.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thought so. You may then want to go over and fix your typo in the comments to that review.

AtavanHalen
November 9th 2008


17920 Comments


that seems like an awful lot of work

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 9th 2008


2910 Comments


The bottom line is that Borrell’s songwriting often lets him down

I love how he said he was the best songwriter in the world that time, and that he was better than Dylan and could write a number 1 in five minutes, which is pretty funny in itself cos err do they have any number 1s?

Anyhow good review and decent album.

AtavanHalen
November 9th 2008


17920 Comments


do they have any number 1s

Somewhere Else

Iai
Emeritus
November 9th 2008


3553 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I probably won't bother reviewing this now, you pretty much say everything I was going to.



Seriously disappointed by this album though. Their self-titled was really good, but once the first track's done with this record is nothing but empty bombast.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks THESTARCLASSICTREATMENT. I don't think there is any doubt that Borrell has songwriting potential. There are glimpses of brilliance here & there throughout Razorlight's 3 albums, but they are few & far between (& very rare on this album).

Yes' I think 'Somewhere Else' got to #1 in UK... Although it must be taken into account that the single would have received additional purchases since it was not on the original release of their debut 'Up All Night'. So people who had already bought that album had to purchase the single as a stand-alone when that song hit the airwaves.

Nick, I appreciate the agreement on the content of the review & the album rating. I was disappointed with this album as well. Personally, I am not as keen as you on their self-titled (although it's better than this) and felt they could use what they learnt from both of their first 2 albums here. Alas, that was not to be.

TheStarclassicTreatment
November 9th 2008


2910 Comments


Somewhere Else is probably my favourite of theirs but I had no idea it got to Number 1.
I thought In The Morning would have if any.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Actually, according to the not-so-always reliable Wikipedia, 'Somewhere Else' did NOT get to #1. It only reached #2. Meanwhile, 'In The Morning reached #3.

However, 'America' did in fact climb the peak up to #1.

AtavanHalen
November 10th 2008


17920 Comments


Enough specifics, let's get back to calling Borrell a twat.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

C'mon DavID.... You should know by now how I work... There are still 2 Razorlight reviews to come from me... So just calm down & keep your Borrell hate in store for tomorrow. I know you have the self-control to do it!

AtavanHalen
November 10th 2008


17920 Comments


Fuck that, man, I'm tryna go platinum.
Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat Borrell's a twat

sickofantsid
November 10th 2008


129 Comments


The problem with JB is he cant take (valid) criticism, such as in your review which is excellent btw, so when the music press had he go he threw his toys from the pram. Of course
this then made him a prime target and all his dirty washing , so to speak, was soon aired to much hilarity.
His ridiculous self image didn't help when stories of him being a lackey for the Libertines and having been lamped by Pete D,( yes I know!) broke. I read somewhere as well that the band were put together by the record company, Borrell had a major strop about this rumour in the NME.
How true all this stuff was I have no idea but it all seemed to make it nice and official, Borrell truly is a dick.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 10th 2008


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the positive feedback on my review SICKOFANTSID.

I think you have a real good point with your comments too. The media are always going to poke & prod when it comes to musicians and the like, and this probably goes double for the British media.

The fact that he initially had 3 Swedes behind him does suggest something to me... It was as if Borrell needed to be in the spotlight. Although, I personally felt that may have been more his own doing than the record companies.

As for your line regarding Pete Doherty... Umm, I can't really comment since I have no idea what "lamped" means! Someone care to fill me in...???

Auldy
November 10th 2008


350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

possibly being hit with a lamp?



"oh i just got lamped" - Chad Kroger after walking into a low hanging ceiling lamp in a lamp store



"oh, that b!tch just got lamped!" - Lamp store clerk commenting on Chad Kroger walking into a lamp



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy