Circa Survive On Letting Go
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
October 30th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I recommend it, I got into it a lot more over time.

TheLatestPlague
October 30th 2008



15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules. It's far better than Jaturna. I hadn't noticed the drumming being noticeably poor. I'll have to pay more attention next listen i guess.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's not poor it just holds the rest of the musicians back with its simplicity. there are a bunch of moments on the album where i find myself wishing he just did more.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 30th 2008



3761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't mind this, but Anthony Green's vocals are a little sickly sweet and after a while it gets a bit draining. solid though.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It was a bitch to learn the drums to The Difference Between and Living Together, for the record; and I've been playing for about five years.

fireaboveicebelow
October 31st 2008



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've always wanted to cover a circa survive song, you should record the drums...

hey, why doesn't sputnik have some sort of cover competition?

PeaceKeepzFlowin
November 10th 2008



4 Comments


great review, but I disagree on many parts. the style they used can't be complex and watered down, otherwise it would sound like Green's solo album.

AtavanHalen
November 10th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what

lacesoutalex
November 22nd 2008



23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i thought they tried really hard to recreate what they did on the first cd but they failed miserably.


handoman
November 22nd 2008



2386 Comments


ok so this grew on me

BobbyBlackout
December 1st 2008



8 Comments


I really need help with this whole record- and Circa Survive in general. Seriously, I find their music as boring and repetative as my nan's memory, but the worst part is I can't even find anything good about it. Someone tell me WHY Circa Survive are good, convince me- before I declare this band one of the very worst band's I've ever heard (Just above Coldplay and Deftones, course.)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

idk i like anthony green's voice a lot and they are catchy

Bleak123
December 1st 2008



1902 Comments


aww

willfellmarsy
December 1st 2008



3849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol bobbyblackout you suck...

edit: welcome to the siteThis Message Edited On 12.01.08

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

who doesn't like deftones seriously

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

deftones have some of the best songs ever
i mean come on Hole in the Earth.
but i mean i understand circa survive

BobbyBlackout
December 3rd 2008



8 Comments


Its fair- every man to their own...or as the phrase may be. I can't agree they have the best songs ever. I think I'd rather pull all of my nails off with a rusty hook than listen to a whole Deftones album.

Circa however, I think they've almost hit the dark and murky waters that is simply known as "Boring music." Even live they really had very little going for them. I mean...I know its a stereotypical insult but seriously the majority of their songs sound the same. His voice IS something quite different, I'll give you that. Catchy, not so much.

Final quotes to save them from such a fate?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't care what you think about them i can't convince you they're good so whatever

abbyczach
December 21st 2008



46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i agree with you that 'your friends are gone' is definately their best song ever. this album is way better than juturna, and i cannot wait for their third release. i am hoping that it will live up to everyone's expectations... but circa can't do no wrong if you ask meThis Message Edited On 12.21.08

Yotimi
December 24th 2008



6441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey bobbyblackout, I probably won't convince you but it all depends on how you listen to music. They are not really trying to "rock out" which is why you might find them boring. They create strange spacey dual guitar arrangements that make it difficult to sing a melody to. This shows the talent of Anthony Green as his soaring vocals work with/against the guitar riffs. Any band could play fast and heavy power cords to keep things "less boring", but that gets old fast. BTW, I actually do like Juturna, their first CD, better - "Act Appalled" is their best work in my opinion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy