Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am, That's What...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cvlts
October 30th 2008



8954 Comments


Your not from San Fransisco, your from Rotherham
haha that always gets a laugh outta me

I for one, loved "Perhaps Vampires Is A Bit Strong, But..." really rock and rolla lol

Circa4life
October 30th 2008



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My favorite aspect of AM are the lyrics, and how great they can be... listen to something like The Bakery, its great.

McP3000
October 30th 2008



3941 Comments


ive never understood the appeal to Arctic Monkeys and other bands in the same vein

ClearTheLane
October 30th 2008



990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, correct rating.

Hype will always exist in the music industry.
The Arctic Monkeys HYPE wasn't that annoying in fact, maybe 'cause I was part of it. And this was the first album I bought with my own hard-earned money, immediately after the release!
I enjoy some of the versions of Beneath the Broadwalk more though, especially Still Take You Home and A Certain Romance.
Yet things get better when 1st single and album highlight ‘I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor’ rollicks along next.
In my opinion that's the most annoying track of the album, and like Alex Turner said himself, it was an awful desicion to make it the first single. But I guess its bloody catchiness made the album sell more and brought up the hype a little.
Turner is one of those vocalists that simply creates magic out of what many believe could be potentially cringe-worthy. On paper, his thick Northern English accent should scare many non-Brits away.
Now that's what makes this album so special. Oh, and without the hype this would be rated higher by many users here, shame.
Oh, by the way, why don't you use tags? Italics would definitely make the review look nicer and more fun to read.This Message Edited On 10.30.08

AtavanHalen
October 30th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ALL YOU PEOPLE ARE VAMPIRES
No lyrics quotes here, just stating the facts.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

What have you got against vampires DavID...???
Sorry DantesFire10, but I just can't get into that song. I can see what they were trying to do & in a different setting it may have worked. But I don't believe it fits in with all the other songs on this album.
McP3000, you're probably not the only one with those thoughts. I presume you are not English and even down under in Oz, there are many who cannot get into any band that has a vocalist with a thick English accent.
Great feedback CLEARTHELANE... To be honest, I wasn't following the band at the time, so I didn't get involved in the hype. But yes, your opinion seems a little biased on that one. LOL. As for 'I Bet You Look Good on the DanceFloor', I obviously disagree. I actually find that bands & fans knock down 1st singles too often just for the sake of doing so. I love that song & have absolutely no hesitation in naming it the best on the album. I guess an opinion like mine is exactly what made it the correct decision to release it first. Thanks for the positive feedback on the review & I agree that it is time that I begin using tags at the appropriate times. I have stayed away from doing so previously in order to keep my reviews as simple & straight-forward as possible.

AtavanHalen
October 30th 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

DUDE YOU DON'T HAVE TO WRITE BACK TO EVERYONE THAT COMMENTS HERE.
Just chuck a Ringo Starr and stop responding to your fanmail.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I know I DON'T HAVE TO DavID... But I have chosen to please my fans. If people take the time to write some comments on my reviews, then I'm going to take the time to reply... Until I get old & cantankerous like Ringo.

bastard
October 30th 2008



3435 Comments


sup daveyboy.

I have a new review that lacks comments

ClearTheLane
October 30th 2008



990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha
Thanks Davey boy for writing back, 'cause I definitely took some minutes off my thursday night to write some feedback on this. I'm usually one of those who hates the only-song-people-know-by-the-band songs. Damn that sounded weird, whatever u got the point. For example I hate Wonderwall by Oasis because of that, Smells Like Teen Spirit, Killing in the Name, Creep etc.
Anyway, be nice to us Daveyboja and read mine and the bastard's latest reviews 'cause they're lacking comments

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You see that DavID, I got a thank-you from ClearTheLane for replying to his comments. Of course, it could just be that he (& Maxy Boy) want me to comment in their reviews... Which I will, when I get around to reading them.
And ClearTheLane, what you just said about the songs that casual fans know proves the point I was trying to make perfectly. Yeah, it $hits me too when people carry on as if they were the only songs performed by a certain band (your examples are good), but that doesn't make them any less better than they actually are.

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I 'unno it just seems like this.
[QUOTE=Some dude]Good review lol[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=You]LOL indeed SOME DUDE! But I must ask you...(goes on tangent for no particular reason)...don't you agree?[/QUOTE]

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

LOL indeed DavID! But I must ask you whether or not you think the current economic crisis that the world is facing is all the fault of Circle Takes The Square. Don't you agree?

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2008



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay, I seriously could not stop my laughing for about five minutes just now.

Bleak123
October 31st 2008



1902 Comments


Arctic Monkeys were my favourite band for ages, I was definitley part of the initial hype. This is still a good record and I agree totally that 'I bet you look good on the dancefloor' is one of the best tracks.

badtaste
October 31st 2008



824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only ever heard 'Favourite Worst Nightmare', and that was pretty cool. I'm sure I'd like this, but not really interested in this scene at all.

Sweet review Davey, congrats on the contributor promotion.

Kiran
Emeritus
October 31st 2008



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is so so much better than Favourite Worse Nightmare, badtaste. Everything is better on this.
I remember when I used to love this. It's still fun to go back to though. From the Ritz to the Rubble is such a cool track.

lunchforthesky
October 31st 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty good album.

ClearTheLane
October 31st 2008



990 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

From the Ritz to the Rubble is such a cool track.
This town's a different town today
This town's a different town to what it was last night
You couldn't have done that on a Sunday

That girl's a different girl today
That girl's a different girl to her you kissed last night
You couldn't have done that on a Sunday

Indeed.This Message Edited On 10.31.08

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2008



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm glad I succeeded in entertaining you DavID. Of course, you just through up the alley-oop pass & I simply dunked it home. WHAMMY!
I never took you for a Monkeys hypist BLEAK. Oh well, they say you learn something every day.
Thanks for the congrats DIPPER (I'm gonna keep calling you that if you don't mind BadTaste). As KIRGASM said, this is better than 'FWN', but I'm sure you have guessed I will be telling you why soon.
It's funny that you put up some lyrics ClearTheLane, because I had a whole bunch jotted down when I was writing the review. Yet, the review was getting lengthy as it was & I seriously didn't know which of the splendid lyrics to throw in. I mean, the entire song of 'Riot Van' could have been. The closest at the end was a line from 'When The Sun Goes Down' that always makes me laugh... The one that tails off "... amongst some other driving offences" or something like that.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy