The Tallest Man on Earth Shallow Grave
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NorthernSkylark
May 2nd 2014


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I've been spinning The Wild Hunt every day this past week.

Get it fixed, man.

Digging: Matt Elliott - Drinking Songs

dimsim3478
May 2nd 2014


6182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saving up for a real nice one. Like $269 on Amazon. A Stanton or something.

Digging: Ian Christ - Hara Kiri Arcade

NorthernSkylark
September 1st 2014


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so now we're dancing through the garden

MagmaWalrus
September 1st 2014


243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

His style of guitar playing is so unique and just awesome

NorthernSkylark
September 1st 2014


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah he is really something special

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 8th 2015


14367 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the tallest

Douglas
January 9th 2015


9233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man on earth

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2015


22930 Comments


Is it weird that my favourite thing this guy's done is the Sometimes the Blues is Just a Passing Bird EP?

Digging: Oneohtrix Point Never - Commissions II

dimsim3478
January 9th 2015


6182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

kinda, but it's a great EP regardless

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2015


22930 Comments


I just feel he sounds a little less Dylan and a little more Tallest Man on that release.

NorthernSkylark
January 9th 2015


6522 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he uses a lot more nature imagery than dylan has ever done

lyrically i'd say that they are quite different





dimsim3478
January 9th 2015


6182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he's also a rougher and significantly more dynamic singer than dylan. also way more reliant on arpeggios.



i think as you come to appreciate kristian's songwriting more and more, the dylan comparisons become less and less necessary. there's very subtle qualities to each of the two songwriters' respective styles that separates them, but they're not obvious until you've heard enough of both artists.



also they both write great songs so it's hard to complain

Underflow
January 9th 2015


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed with Dimsim. Most of the comparisons are pretty surface level.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2015


22930 Comments


Oh yeah I can definitely hear the differences between the two (I've listened to them both enough) but those obvious Dylan-isms that make up his core sound musically can often overshadow his own identity as an artist and I find that to be somehow less of a problem on that EP.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2015


22930 Comments


I mean countless people have written him off as nothing more than a Dylan clone and I'm not one of those people. Even if musically he does sometimes come across as a Dylan clone I maintain that he is a very good one and a good songwriter in his own right.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2015


20556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never gave this one a proper listen before, it's pretty great

Digging: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1 in B? Minor

Douglas
April 30th 2015


9233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's quintessential

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2015


20556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seriously, 'Where Do My Bluebird Fly' is amazing. prolly one of my all-time favorite songs by him



Douglas
April 30th 2015


9233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"This Wind" gets me all the time

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
May 4th 2015


20556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the whole thing is great, loving the new album too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy