Fucked Up The Chemistry of Common Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
brandtweathers
October 17th 2008



2007 Comments


i see nick's avatar, i think facial
edit: as much as i can disagree with you opinions nick, i can't take away from how awesome (by awesome i mean substantially bringing positive attention to sputnik bc of your intelligent/original perspectives) this review is. kudos.

The only thing that saves the album is its dedication to its cause. It is a relentless and unapologetic album.
****! that's it. i hate youThis Message Edited On 10.17.08

iamrockzorz
October 22nd 2008



1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no, nick is missing the point that pitchfork sees.

This disc is not about the music contained on it, but really just about the image of the music that is meant to be portrayed. Its really perfect.

Thrice.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 22nd 2008



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THIS SHIT IS MASSIVE

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2008



6085 Comments


enjoyed this

Justanothernimrod
October 28th 2008



478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right so, as usual you've decided you don't like this before listening to it because its "hyped" completely missed the point and put words and opinions into the mouths of the band that simply aren't true.

You've missed the point, comparing this to Refused is utterly insane, and get off your high fucking horse already

iamrockzorz
October 28th 2008



1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can't say that to him. Do you know who you're talking to?

punk ass. just because he understands things better than you doesn't mean you gotta get all un pacified like.

I don't see the comparison to Refused either, other than an attempt at this album being some larger than what it currently is. But its his opinion, so what's it matter? Write your own review then.


avengethedead
October 28th 2008



1 Comments


I enjoyed this. Would probably give it a 3.5.


DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 31st 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nimrod, other than The Blood Brothers, who are essentially an indie band, Refused and Fucked Up are the only 2 hardcore bands who have gotten critical praise from mainstream reviewers in the past 10 years. The comparison is not musical. It's about their reception. And rockzors I also agree with you about the elevation factor. Refused knew they were trying to be super revolutionary. Fucked Up are doing it less so but still make lofty commentaries in interviews that suggest they really do care about producing elite music, regardless of how much they vandalize their own wikipedia page or joke around.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

calling this praised by the mainstream media because pitchfork loved them is kind of a stretch.
This has grown on me though

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 31st 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Not mainstream?

http://www.metacritic.com/music/artists/f size="2">uc
kedup/chemistryofcommonlife?q=fucked%20up

Blender, Spin, New York Times...

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2008



6085 Comments


sry sry misreadThis Message Edited On 10.31.08

Anodyne
October 31st 2008



85 Comments


he wasn't saying that it made it mainstream just that they've been covered by mainstream press

i think??

DFelon204409
Emeritus
October 31st 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That and covered very positively, a rarity for a hardcore band. Thank you Anodyne.

iamrockzorz
November 12th 2008



1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

plus some random mtv coverage.

AggravatedYeti
November 14th 2008



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is good.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 24th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hey katz bros, write a review of this.

ConorMichaelJoseph
December 20th 2008



1870 Comments


Only thing that grabs my attention about these guys is their name.
Albums pretty 'meh'

natey
January 6th 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Disappointingly boring album.

windpromoteshate
January 6th 2009



179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lrn2hc

NotMrBlonde
February 8th 2009



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Y'all are gay, this is awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy