Fucked Up The Chemistry of Common Life
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
204409
Emeritus
October 11th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I mean I figured but I'm asking legitimately. Is it weird that I treat non-entities like people sometimes by asking them legit question?

204409
Emeritus
October 12th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's very different.



Yesterday, I was listening to Foothill College Radio while driving to Stanford and the first song I heard was "Baiting the Public," which just made me say, man, Fucked Up used to be good. It was fast, fun, original without trying to do anything overly artistic. It was effortlessly awesome.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 16th 2008


4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahahaha 8.8 rating. That's all I will say, you should be able to figure it out.

brandtweathers
October 16th 2008


2007 Comments


^lol. just saw that on pitchfork too.
id like to see another sputnikmusic member opinion on this too. or maybe i should just listen myself.

iamrockzorz
October 16th 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lawl they think its all like epic and shit.



shitThis Message Edited On 10.16.08

204409
Emeritus
October 16th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Again, pitchfork manages to frustrate, not just because of the rating or because it sounds like the reviewer has never listened to a

hardcore album before, or any of Fucked Up's previous releases for that matter, but more for the paragraphs of talk

about the lyrics and mindset of the band, while only dabbling in the musical content. Here's the editing room version of the

musical discussion:



-There are lots of overdubs

-The flutes and shit make the most memorable moments

-"Black Albino Bones" is catchy



Thanks p4k.This Message Edited On 10.16.08

iamrockzorz
October 16th 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

looking back at this album now, after reading that review... this album is a classic.

204409
Emeritus
October 16th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lddCj-OPeI



IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 16th 2008


4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

last two posts brought the lulz

iamrockzorz
October 16th 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thats actually extremely bad ass.



i saw moby on that "american hardcore" documentary. i doubted his hardcoreness.



brandtweathers
October 16th 2008


2007 Comments


every good boy has some great punk memories

204409
Emeritus
October 16th 2008


3998 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ya don't forget Moby was the singer for Flipper for one night.

iamrockzorz
October 17th 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh yah, my bad.

brandtweathers
October 17th 2008


2007 Comments


i see nick's avatar, i think facial
edit: as much as i can disagree with you opinions nick, i can't take away from how awesome (by awesome i mean substantially bringing positive attention to sputnik bc of your intelligent/original perspectives) this review is. kudos.

The only thing that saves the album is its dedication to its cause. It is a relentless and unapologetic album.
****! that's it. i hate youThis Message Edited On 10.17.08

iamrockzorz
October 22nd 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no, nick is missing the point that pitchfork sees.



This disc is not about the music contained on it, but really just about the image of the music that is meant to be portrayed. Its really perfect.



Thrice.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
October 22nd 2008


4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THIS SHIT IS MASSIVE

plane
Emeritus
October 26th 2008


6308 Comments


enjoyed this

Justanothernimrod
October 28th 2008


478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

right so, as usual you've decided you don't like this before listening to it because its "hyped" completely missed the point and put words and opinions into the mouths of the band that simply aren't true.



You've missed the point, comparing this to Refused is utterly insane, and get off your high fucking horse already

iamrockzorz
October 28th 2008


1029 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You can't say that to him. Do you know who you're talking to?



punk ass. just because he understands things better than you doesn't mean you gotta get all un pacified like.



I don't see the comparison to Refused either, other than an attempt at this album being some larger than what it currently is. But its his opinion, so what's it matter? Write your own review then.



avengethedead
October 28th 2008


1 Comments


I enjoyed this. Would probably give it a 3.5.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy