Ra Black Sun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
n8bailey
November 7th 2008


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review is crap. I think the people that screwed Ra over at cement shoes wreckards put this reviewer up to this because of the track "Waste of Space" on this album. Dont take the advice of any of these prog metal dirthead heshers on this thread because the dont really understand the music business. I love how people who think they are hardcore and have supreme music tastes will bash a great band because it does not connect with them (Because they like more aggressive punk or dark prog metal math rock or even Rap or even country for that matter). This album connects with people who cant hear music the way musicians do because it is digestable and they can "emote" to it. Thats why pop rock sells more than metal or punk or hardcore emo. Ra is very radio mainstream Pop Rock Alternative Genre because they are actually in the music business to sell records. I am not going to run out and buy David Archuletta's new album but I respect what he does and I assure you that he will sell more albums than any of your favorite bands listed on your profile's. But you would still say it sucks as he makes a great living doing what he love's and the millions of teeny boppers that buy his Albums im sure would disagree and so would his bank account. Think about it BRITTNEY SPEARS.

I would say that Ra has better vocals than 95% of any other artist out there. If you like vocals harmonies that are comparable to Queen or Yes with huge sounding epic heavy rock overtones get this album. If you like Rap or hardcore screamo and vocals with little to no harmony this album would not be for you.

I reccomend that this "staff" person Kyle Bannik should be avoided at all costs and maybe the site all together as well.

Seems pretty Biased and very narrow minded in its opinion

rasputin
November 7th 2008


14550 Comments


Ra is very radio mainstream Pop Rock Alternative Genre

But is Ra accessible easy listening Rock Alternative Pop Metal Genre?

Omio
January 5th 2009


28 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree with this review of Ra's Black Sun.
This is not generic radio rock. I do admit that it is quite obvious how they tried to make Broken Hearted Soul sound acceptable through that acoustic intro, and then suddenly become a radio hit. This formula just did not work. And as we know, when the opening track fails, the rest of the album has a very difficult job trying to pick up.
But there are plenty of great tracks on this album. Push and Don't Turn Away are great songs, not too complicated but euphoric and explosive. Sahaj Ticotin is actually a very good singer with a style of his own, unlike some Maynard wannabes I've heard lately.
At times the production of this album becomes a bit too ambitious and does not achieve what it intends, but at least they try to include a different angle to their music, and I think that for the most part Black Sun is commercial enough, while not compromising its originality. It is NOT an album to be compared to the latest 3 Doors Down or Nickelback albums, which really is generic, well marketed, absolutely standard radio rock.

kintups
January 28th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Clearly, this is a superior album.This Message Edited On 04.08.09

Bullitt
February 10th 2009


1666 Comments


I dont think Ra is any more happy with this record than any one else. They had to do the whole thing themselves cause they keep getting screwed. Their first two were good albums, better than most other radio rock(if you can even call it that). If they had a good producer behind them i think they could do great.And just for the record...yes...they probably did have to do the record with shitty equipment. Just listen to sky off of "from one" and its obvious there is potential here.This Message Edited On 02.10.09

kintups
April 29th 2009


491 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"If they had a good producer behind them i think they could do great."

No kidding. They had a good producer for their first album when they were relatively well known.

pizzamachine
September 24th 2009


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Ra’s music is Pop made to sound like hard rock."

Um... no. 'Black Sun' is accessible metal. Also, the review sounds like it was based on one song - 'Broken Hearted Soul'. Still a great negative review!

tiesthatbind
March 5th 2010


7377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Argh, I really want to like this but it's just not up to their potential. A few pretty good tracks in here though.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Signs of Life

Phantom
March 5th 2010


8930 Comments


kintups/pizzamachine - defender of the Ra

bloc
March 5th 2010


34925 Comments


Ha, kintups made a post and 5 months later pizzamachine makes a post right after.

tiesthatbind
March 5th 2010


7377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pizza RAchine.

Bullitt
March 5th 2010


1666 Comments


"Black Sun is accessible Metal"


Black Sun sucks, and it isn't metal.

tiesthatbind
March 5th 2010


7377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Duality was much more accessible, and it was better.

nickg42084
September 18th 2012


88 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a terrible review and filled with audacious statements made by someone who obviously does not like the genre.

cb123
November 16th 2012


2031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the album isn't an abomination, but it is a step down in quality from their first two

jmnewcomer18
January 9th 2013


3408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"To all the bad reviews and the person who goes by "CURSEWORSHIP" who were your favorite bands growing up, you put down Ra then I go to your page to see your top bands and I see bands like Aesop Rock (The worst attempt at rap ever!...Aesop Rock please horrible), Tech N9ne (A Few okay tunes for rap but overall his songs flow the same), Goo Goo Dolls (Wasn't this band punk before one of their tunes went mainstream and now all ther songs sound the same....Beyond horrible!!!!), Anberlin (Honestly you put down Ra and like these guys??????), Flogging Molly (Irish crap!)" Woah there buddy!! Ra is great so is Anberlin. You dont dis anberlin. Go die in a meth lab explosion.

jmnewcomer18
October 10th 2013


3408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is better than Duality by a iong shot. A Poets Dream is amazing.

Cipieron
October 10th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nope, Duality slays this.

jmnewcomer18
October 10th 2013


3408 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find duality to be very boring. the only tracks that even match up to from one are taken, fallen angels, undertaken, and the only one imo. the only tracks i dont like that much here are lost along the way and genocide. to me aot of the tracks here have alot of similarities to from one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy