TV on the Radio Dear Science
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
September 26th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there will be plenty of flames for this statement coming soon.

I wonder why...

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Because they are completely off base and only said because some of those bands have black members?
hmmm!

astrel
September 26th 2008


2614 Comments


I might be off base, but it is not make those claims because some of those bands have black members. Aren't you being inadvertently racist by pointing that out?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

How am I being inadvertently racist by pointing out the only common link they all have? Considering there is no other reason to group all of those together really.
And if you think I really care about racist, I fucking hate niggers anyways so who cares?

AtavanHalen
September 26th 2008


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kele Okereke definitely sounds like Tunde Adebimpe obvsThis Message Edited On 09.25.08

Tyler
Emeritus
September 26th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ignoring the fact that TVotR don't really sound like any of those bands, the fact that you can say they sound like them in spite of the fact that those bands dont really sound alike would pretty much tell me that they aren't generic.

AP07373
September 26th 2008


493 Comments


Quite a buildup for this album. Good review, you've convinced me to pick it up...hope I'm not disappointed!

Skyler
September 26th 2008


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

definitely TVotR's best album

AggravatedYeti
September 26th 2008


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well Cocaine you're right.
These arguments people are posing for why this album is bad are asinine.
it's that damn good. OMFG I said it! yeah, hype pays off.

Tho I do think '...Cookie Mountain' is better, but whatever.

istaros
September 26th 2008


310 Comments


not that it matters, since you're already staff, but that' was a pretty terrible way to end a review. especially for you, since yours are generally pretty close to perfect

the album is pretty good. it's a little difficult to settle on a particular rating; some of the songs are painfully dull, some of them are ridiculously cool(almost too cool at times, really), and most of them fall into a weird area where their sonic novelty serves to mask whether or not the writing itself is good. a 3 for now but that's likely to change within the next couple of weeks

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2008


6099 Comments


why would it matter if he wasn't staff and i don't necessarily see the problem

istaros
September 26th 2008


310 Comments


well, it matters in the sense of being a good writer or not. i meant its not going to affect his approval rating since there isn't a vote option on it. it's bad because it just... cuts off. just like that. no summary or synthesis or anything, just a mention of a song and suddenly no more. one doesn't need a degree in advanced English to see the issue, it would mark down even a fifth grader's score on a written exam. it's just bad. the rest of the review's good, as always. but the end of it isn't

sadmafioso
September 26th 2008


318 Comments


breaking news ILUVATAR IS A RACIST

Photon
September 26th 2008


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've heard this IMO return to cookie...was better

Tyler
Emeritus
September 26th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

's bad because it just... cuts off. just like that. no summary or synthesis or anything, just a mention of a song and suddenly no more.

but
Dear Science, is not a shallow record. It's fun, sometimes danceable and always engrossing, but if anything the crystal clear production (a first for the band) does as much for the sometimes political sometimes emotional concepts as it does funky grooves and compositional weight. In short, Dear Science, is a multifaceted approach to music. Not only does it effectively blend a myriad of seemingly conflicting sounds, but it does so tastefully and masterfully. Their penchant for sonic experimentation (they love to play with distortion and when I saw them this past July Gerard Smith had wind-chimes hanging off of his bass) has been toned down in favour of highlighting Tunde Adebimpe and Kyp Malone sometimes crooned, sometimes sung, sometimes howled and occasionally rapped vocals. One of the best albums of 2008, Dear Science, is an album you can ramble on about for nearly 600 words before you realize you forgot to mention "Golden Age", arguably the best song on the album. It gets better every time I listen to it and that's a trend that only seems to be continuing.

I'm not sure what the problem is, istaros. I mentioned Golden Age in jest because I really did forget to talk about it earlier. It was a testament to the quality of the other songs. Granted I randomly throw in some stuff about the vocals into the "conclusion" but I think there's a summary in there.

istaros
September 26th 2008


310 Comments


it's a short-stop. you made several specific point references throughout the review but by the end of it you just left them all hanging whereas it felt as if they were going to be tied together. it honestly feels like you wrote a much longer review that's somehow had the second half cut out

sadmafioso
September 26th 2008


318 Comments


that's exactly what happened actually

istaros
September 26th 2008


310 Comments


it's not necessary to always have a summary as your very last statement, true; but when it's being followed by other statements they should still refer back to that summary as it is (ideally) what the reader will walk away with remembering most. but that bolded bit followed by a fairly irrelevant divergence into seeing them live and what their voices sound like, and an offhand song mention, creates a conflict of interest in where to place one's attention. it creates an expectation that the review is meant to keep going, not stop. so when it does, it feels sudden

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2008


6099 Comments


But that's the joke.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 26th 2008


3996 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I mean I didn't want to hate but it's not the best review, but there's a perfectly good dibsing reason for that so it's all good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy