TV on the Radio Dear Science
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
cbmartinez
September 25th 2008


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah nick greer, it's no FEED THE ANIMALS

good album but their weakest I'd say, though it's definitely growing on me



cbmartinez
September 25th 2008


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also there is no comma at the end of the album title sry

jrowa001
September 25th 2008


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is one of my top albums of the year. completely caught me by surprise, since RtCM didnt do much for me when it came out. Golden Age and DLZ are my fav songs so far on this album

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yo cb they said there is supposed to be a comma at the end, just the album cover doesn't have it.

cbmartinez
September 25th 2008


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah that's pretty fucking retarded

cbmartinez
September 25th 2008


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

where did they say that btw

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

pretty sure its how the album is trademarked/copyrighted/all that bullshitThis Message Edited On 09.25.08

fractured
September 25th 2008


367 Comments


GREAT review, a really fun read and a little historical perspective (which is necessary since this band is hyped to hell). I didn't really enjoy their other two albums, all the sound mashing just seems to make their stuff sound foggy and indistinct. But if this has better production and is more funky, I just may check it out.
Again, kudos for the very engrossing review

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


6094 Comments


but you guys, think of all the metaphorical whimsical hipster shit the comma implies
transcendent

sadmafioso
September 25th 2008


318 Comments


this is so amazing

possible the best album of all time.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I mean planewreq you can just be sarcastic or you could actually fashion some kind of real response. I'm curious what the 4.5ers think about the lyrics. The review didn't really address them all that much.

sadmafioso
September 25th 2008


318 Comments


i thought you were the one who didn't think that lyrics factored into the overall rating

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Direct, to the point, non-pretentious lyrics that despite their ocassional sillyness really do mean something. It fits the music perfectly.

edit: Damnit chan beat me to my editThis Message Edited On 09.25.08

Tyler
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The lyrics are sometimes meaningless but they sound good and arent distracting. There's a few memorable lines (hipster shit or not) and it's fine. They're not a lyrical band. They've always relied n vocal melodies and/or distortion and/or not lyrics. This Message Edited On 09.25.08

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


15740 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The lyrics don't bug me very much, and the ones that stick out to me make me dig it more. For example, the first line of "Red Dress," which is like "Hey Jackson: Fuck your war!" or something. The music's just really solid stuff. This Message Edited On 09.25.08

Digging: Ricky Eat Acid - Three Love Songs

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I don't think the lyrics are ever meaningless. Sometimes they sacrifice depth for lol (read: often they do this)

Tyler
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

By meaningless I don't mean in overall idea, concept or intention, I just mean they're sometimes overly goofy and there are a bunch of lines that are really just in there to either rhyme, stand out or be lol.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


4927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I see no problems with the lyrics that it's worthy of a huge deduction from the rating. I think in order for that to occur, they need to be lyrics that are on par with 'cut my wrists and black my eyes' or anything Anti-Flag says

plane
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


6094 Comments


I mean planewreq you can just be sarcastic or you could actually fashion some kind of real response.

I wasn't talking about the lyrics, but okay. I'm writing this without formally dissecting the lyrics (which I assume is the only response you would actually consider!) but I do believe it fits the music really, really well. It's got a sarcastic, sharp kind of wit to them that makes every "forced" lyric seem intentional, especially when it becomes deliberately violent/depressing/sexual. Like this lyric you quoted:
[quote=Red Dress]Hey, jackboot/ **** your war/ cause I’m fat and in love and no
bombs are fallin’ on me for sure[/quote]
Am I supposed to assume these lyrics were written without some sort of self-knowing nudge and wink? Sure, they're "bad" by some objective POV but all I really care about is the intent and reason. That may not always be the case, but I'd fight to say Dear Science works best this way. This is pretty surreal stuff and I have fun with it.

sadmafioso
September 25th 2008


318 Comments


dfelon automatically hates anything vaguely associated with hipster culture!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy