Trivium Shogun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


...because I'm using professional sources that aren't fanboys and anti fanboys at home on their computer. You just said yourself that you are bringing up the minority's opinion...showing that most people disagree with you anyway.
I'll put it this way then....my facts are numerous professional sources as well as thousands of people on this site...your facts are the "minority" of people on this site and possibly some people you know irl...better?

taylormemer
September 25th 2008


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^ Exactly.

Also it inevitably boils down to the fact that we all know what we love and hate. Part of the reason why people should steer away from things is because of the fact that they disliked the sounds they have heard from previous albums. You aren't gonna go out and buy the latest record from band X if you know, by you opinion, that they suck. Sure you may have the inclination to check out a few songs, and if you have the will get the album, but you will approach it wearily, and there is nothing wrong with that.

Spamue1G
September 25th 2008


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review's ok, if a little brief. I probably won't pick this up legally, if at all. The main problem I've always had with Trivium is the vocals, so I doubt I'll like this.

DethMagnetic
September 25th 2008


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Lol at people giving this album 5

SylentEcho
September 25th 2008


1603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

AP07373, you seem like a metalcore fan just defending this band. I agree that their track record was good until The Crusade, but this album is so bland, also they're STILL recycling riffs from other bands. I used to have a lot of hope for Trivium at one time thinking that they would make it big, but I really don't see them maturing very much, not to mention theyre double sellouts, saying "fuck screaming, fuck metalcore" trying to play Thrash and now back to the screaming and Heafy's vocals are just horrible now.This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


they're STILL recycling riffs from other bands.


I agree with this.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"AP07373, you seem like a metalcore fan just defending this band"
I wouldn't even call any of triviums music metalcore. Nothing on Ascendancy was metalcore...I mean if it's metalcore...then so was Reign in Blood and ...and justice for all. Both had plenty of breakdowns...so it must be metalcore!
People will call anything metalcore...anything from BTBAM to Glamor of the Kill to Underoath...and none of those bands are even remotely similar. Hell...slayer is more metalcore than BTBAM if you're going to judge a band on the actual criteria that makes up metalcore music. So someone please tell me what trivium does that is metalcore and Slayer...pantera...metallica does not...go ahead.
And people can keep voicing their opinion that Ascendancy wasn't a raging success and a critically acclaimed album...your opinion doesn't change reality. People allow genres to dictate their way of thinking way too much. To quote Jonathan of Shadows Fall in a conversation I had with him about 3 weeks ago..."people calling music metalcore is the stupidest f***ing thing, what the f*** is metalcore anyway, it's record labels needing a way to market music, nothing more".This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


Well they all have tons of punk influences. Not metalcore, but the breakdowns come from punk inspirations. Also nobody calls BTBAM metalcore, unless Wikipedia counts.

And people can keep voicing their opinion that Ascendancy wasn't a raging success and a critically acclaimed album


Nice job putting words in people's mouths :thumb:

I haven't heard anyone say Ascendancy wasn't a success... commercially. But in quite a few people's minds (mine included), it just wasn't a good album. The riffs were good, but nothing else was imo.This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"Yeah but you are saying they definitively don't have a bad track record, when with a lot of people they do."
You said yourself that this is the minority of people. So you take what the minority of people on this site say as truth, and I'll take the majority of people on this site (going by the ratings of previous albums, since that's the only concrete evidence to go by) as well as...the rest of the music industry as truth. I think we've come to an agreement that this is how we both feel, and I'm satisfied with that.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"Nice job putting words in people's mouths "
By saying Trivium has a poor track record people are saying that Ascendancy was not good...otherwise how could they have a poor track record. I didn't put any words in anyone's mouth. I still have yet to hear what this "poor track record" is based on other than individual users opinions.
"But in quite a few people's minds (mine included), it just wasn't a good album."
That may be true...but it doesn't change the fact that many more than a few think it was great (just look at the rating on this site) and it was critically acclaimed by nearly every outlet.
This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


You don't seem to get that opinions aren't facts. You are sort of saying "majority rules" in this case, which isn't true at all. I think that they do have a poor track record sorely based on unoriginality and poor songwriting, and a lot of people would agree with me. It's fine if you think otherwise, but if you think that you can just stomp over other people's opinions just because they are different from yours is utter bull crap.

Also, I get it is critically acclaimed, but I just don't agree with the critical acclaim. Fair enough?This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"but if you think that you can just stomp over other people's opinions just because they are different from yours is utter bull crap."
It's more a matter of people thinking that their opinion is truth when the majority of people disagree with them...ie: people on this site saying they have a poor track record when the majority of people disagree with them...proving that the "poor track record" is their own opinion, thus making it not true in the first place(outside of their own skull).
The thing is...I've never said they have a good track record...just not a poor one. I've never even brought my own opinion into the discussion...unless you can show me where?

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"You just ignored 90% of my previous post. Nice."
You seem to have a hard time admitting that the majority of people who have listened to triviums music disagree with you...yet continue to insist that they have a poor track record as if you believe your opinion (which it is) to be the correct one. That logic doesn't even come close to making sense.This Message Edited On 09.25.08This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


Okay enough of this...we'll leave it at this.
The majority of people on this site think they have a average-good track record...the minority do not. The ratings speak for themselves and there is no need for further discussion.

BadgerX
September 25th 2008


31 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album sounds like them listening to a lot of At The Gates and Dream Theater and then writing.



Results may vary.

Tyler
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


7926 Comments


AP07373 is the worst troll I have ever seen. One second he's arguing with the entire staff calling us unprofessional, the next he's using "user" reviews as factual representations of public opinion. This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


no...you guys stating your own opinions as truths is what's ridiculous. Stop doing that and I won't be here to show you how ridiculous it is.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


It's almost comical how offended you two get when your opinions are questioned.

Tyler
Emeritus
September 25th 2008


7926 Comments


When did I state my opinion as truth? You're the one pigeonholing anyone who dislikes this album into a narrow minded group of contrarians yet completely ignoring the counter-argument. And stop double posting, troll.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"You're the one pigeonholing anyone who dislikes this album into a narrow minded group of contrarians "
I have yet to comment on anyone specifically who has reviewed the album negatively. Are you just making things up now? If anything, that is being a troll. Stop making things up.
So coke...find me the post of mine where I attack someone for disliking this album...seriously go find it or quit trolling.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy