Trivium Shogun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
September 25th 2008


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

[QUOTE=Clownshoe][...]explain how trivium has a bad one...because going from critically acclaimed to mediocre does not define "poor track record"[...][/QUOTE]

Put it this way. The general consensus amongst many is that Trivium have a bad track record. This has to do with the fact that a lot of people dislike the calamity of boring melodic flows, and general mediocrity. Now yeah, like in all popularity bell curves, you'll have the outliers. We're not saying you can't think certain things, but the problem with Trivium is that there is a lot of those you say neigh, and a lot that say yeigh. We get these arguments all the time, and you aren't the first. You just seem to be picking apart pointless arguments that we don't care about. We don't care because life is all too short to be all hot and bothered over such things like Trivium and how bad they are or aren't, or whatever.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


so you don't actually comment on the reviews that you post under...just baselessly criticize other users...yea that's way better than whatever you're trying to criticize me for...bravo. But hey, apparently you can at least laugh at yourself.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"Put it this way. The general consensus amongst many is that Trivium have a bad track record"
But that's not even true. If it were Ascendancy wouldn't have a very high rating on this site and wouldn't have gotten nothing but stellar ratings from almost every publication. Again, you are speaking on opinion, I'm speaking on fact. It may be the general consensus among many that don't like trivium, but it certainly isn't the general consensus among everybody...the evidence provided disproves that theory quite easily.
When is someone going to provide some actual evidence to back up their claims? Seriously.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

You are calling other peoples opinions fact though. Their first record wasn't good, Ascendency was an alright record with the same problems every other Trivium record had, and The Crusade was just awful.
I don't get why you can bring up other peoples opinions, call it fact, and then we try to do the same but because we are bringing up the minoritys opinions apparently that ends up being just opinion.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


...because I'm using professional sources that aren't fanboys and anti fanboys at home on their computer. You just said yourself that you are bringing up the minority's opinion...showing that most people disagree with you anyway.
I'll put it this way then....my facts are numerous professional sources as well as thousands of people on this site...your facts are the "minority" of people on this site and possibly some people you know irl...better?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah but you are saying they definitively don't have a bad track record, when with a lot of people they do.
Let us not forget that most "professional" reviews of these are from mags who get paid to hype up artists.
And also let us not forget that if the majority of America's population heard this, they'd think it would suck as well.
My point is, you are being ridiculous in your claims that the only real reason this gets hate is because people have bias against Trivium. What the fuck is wrong with bias? People get bias from disliking a bands earlier work, and while they may be stupid for continually checking out that bands work, how are they being actually ridiculous for not liking stuff they haven't liked before?
I don't believe Trivium has anti-bandwagoners anymore than it has positive bandwagoners so I don't think that should be any kind of factor.

taylormemer
September 25th 2008


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^^ Exactly.
Also it inevitably boils down to the fact that we all know what we love and hate. Part of the reason why people should steer away from things is because of the fact that they disliked the sounds they have heard from previous albums. You aren't gonna go out and buy the latest record from band X if you know, by you opinion, that they suck. Sure you may have the inclination to check out a few songs, and if you have the will get the album, but you will approach it wearily, and there is nothing wrong with that.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Wait there is a world outside of sputnik what the fuck is this shit

Spamue1G
September 25th 2008


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review's ok, if a little brief. I probably won't pick this up legally, if at all. The main problem I've always had with Trivium is the vocals, so I doubt I'll like this.

DethMagnetic
September 25th 2008


110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Lol at people giving this album 5

SylentEcho
September 25th 2008


1570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

AP07373, you seem like a metalcore fan just defending this band. I agree that their track record was good until The Crusade, but this album is so bland, also they're STILL recycling riffs from other bands. I used to have a lot of hope for Trivium at one time thinking that they would make it big, but I really don't see them maturing very much, not to mention theyre double sellouts, saying "fuck screaming, fuck metalcore" trying to play Thrash and now back to the screaming and Heafy's vocals are just horrible now.This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


they're STILL recycling riffs from other bands.


I agree with this.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"AP07373, you seem like a metalcore fan just defending this band"
I wouldn't even call any of triviums music metalcore. Nothing on Ascendancy was metalcore...I mean if it's metalcore...then so was Reign in Blood and ...and justice for all. Both had plenty of breakdowns...so it must be metalcore!
People will call anything metalcore...anything from BTBAM to Glamor of the Kill to Underoath...and none of those bands are even remotely similar. Hell...slayer is more metalcore than BTBAM if you're going to judge a band on the actual criteria that makes up metalcore music. So someone please tell me what trivium does that is metalcore and Slayer...pantera...metallica does not...go ahead.
And people can keep voicing their opinion that Ascendancy wasn't a raging success and a critically acclaimed album...your opinion doesn't change reality. People allow genres to dictate their way of thinking way too much. To quote Jonathan of Shadows Fall in a conversation I had with him about 3 weeks ago..."people calling music metalcore is the stupidest f***ing thing, what the f*** is metalcore anyway, it's record labels needing a way to market music, nothing more".This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


Well they all have tons of punk influences. Not metalcore, but the breakdowns come from punk inspirations. Also nobody calls BTBAM metalcore, unless Wikipedia counts.

And people can keep voicing their opinion that Ascendancy wasn't a raging success and a critically acclaimed album


Nice job putting words in people's mouths :thumb:

I haven't heard anyone say Ascendancy wasn't a success... commercially. But in quite a few people's minds (mine included), it just wasn't a good album. The riffs were good, but nothing else was imo.This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"Yeah but you are saying they definitively don't have a bad track record, when with a lot of people they do."
You said yourself that this is the minority of people. So you take what the minority of people on this site say as truth, and I'll take the majority of people on this site (going by the ratings of previous albums, since that's the only concrete evidence to go by) as well as...the rest of the music industry as truth. I think we've come to an agreement that this is how we both feel, and I'm satisfied with that.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"Nice job putting words in people's mouths "
By saying Trivium has a poor track record people are saying that Ascendancy was not good...otherwise how could they have a poor track record. I didn't put any words in anyone's mouth. I still have yet to hear what this "poor track record" is based on other than individual users opinions.
"But in quite a few people's minds (mine included), it just wasn't a good album."
That may be true...but it doesn't change the fact that many more than a few think it was great (just look at the rating on this site) and it was critically acclaimed by nearly every outlet.
This Message Edited On 09.25.08

bastard
September 25th 2008


3435 Comments


You don't seem to get that opinions aren't facts. You are sort of saying "majority rules" in this case, which isn't true at all. I think that they do have a poor track record sorely based on unoriginality and poor songwriting, and a lot of people would agree with me. It's fine if you think otherwise, but if you think that you can just stomp over other people's opinions just because they are different from yours is utter bull crap.

Also, I get it is critically acclaimed, but I just don't agree with the critical acclaim. Fair enough?This Message Edited On 09.25.08

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"but if you think that you can just stomp over other people's opinions just because they are different from yours is utter bull crap."
It's more a matter of people thinking that their opinion is truth when the majority of people disagree with them...ie: people on this site saying they have a poor track record when the majority of people disagree with them...proving that the "poor track record" is their own opinion, thus making it not true in the first place(outside of their own skull).
The thing is...I've never said they have a good track record...just not a poor one. I've never even brought my own opinion into the discussion...unless you can show me where?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

You just ignored 90% of my previous post. Nice.

AP07373
September 25th 2008


493 Comments


"You just ignored 90% of my previous post. Nice."
You seem to have a hard time admitting that the majority of people who have listened to triviums music disagree with you...yet continue to insist that they have a poor track record as if you believe your opinion (which it is) to be the correct one. That logic doesn't even come close to making sense.This Message Edited On 09.25.08This Message Edited On 09.25.08



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy