Trivium Shogun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taylormemer
September 25th 2008



4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Best Jack Johnson song - Taylor.

AP07373
September 25th 2008



493 Comments


Okay fine lets use Underoath. Not nearly as many people criticizing their new album, which if you ask me is the epitome of bland metal...or metalcore or whatever you want to call it. They should have let Adam D edit it the same way he edited Define the Great Line.
I agree with your overall theory, but I just don't think the logic applies in the same way to trivium. I honestly believe that trivium could release the best album in the world and people would rant against it without even listening to it just because it's trivium...or convince themselves to hate it before listening to it. The only other recent metal album that I can think of that has produced such a hate-mob mentallity is Death Magnetic. People love to hate certain bands, and trivium is one of them.

beans
September 25th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this review best suits my feeling for this album
only i get some enjoyment out of the guitars

i do like listening to the album for the riffage alone

Tyler
Emeritus
September 25th 2008



7928 Comments


AP07373 you really need to learn to accept that some people genuinely dislike Trivium. You're letting rampant cynicism contort your argument and coming from me that's saying something. Of course people are going to be conscious when approaching Trivium. But people arent sceptical of the band because of "who they are", they're sceptical of the band because of their less than amicable track record. If a band's material tends to rage from bad to mediocre, it's pretty understandable to assume they'll continue producing material in line with the quality of their previous outputs. It's not to justify immediately writing them off but a band only get so many chances. Implying that people dislike the band just because of their success is as immature as implying that their success is purely a result of a conformist mob mentality.

beans
September 25th 2008



2332 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol tell it like it is coke

morjens
September 25th 2008



207 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry but I totally disagree. The album is actually pretty good and i didn't even like this band before i heard this. I don't get what people are thinking on this site. I'm a huge All That Remains fan and the new album was a big disappointment and i can easily say that this album is a thousand times better and still they have almost the same user rating. That's messed up. It's a huge step-up for Trivium and people who give this album a 1-2 rating ... what did you rate 'The Crusade' if this album deserves a 1.5 rating?This Message Edited On 09.25.08

OllieS
September 25th 2008



2029 Comments


Reads like a 2.5.

SylentEcho
September 25th 2008



1570 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Matt Heafy is a disgrace to Metal! His voice is worse than ever.

Its the same old formula for Trivium again. You've heard it all before.

username345
September 25th 2008



594 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gahhh, I hate unexplained negs.

IAmInsect
September 25th 2008



3800 Comments


it was probably that twerp AP07373

AP07373
September 25th 2008



493 Comments


"If a band's material tends to rage from bad to mediocre"
Ascendancy was critically acclaimed by nearly ever media outlet...including this site. What is this poor "track record" you speak of? If anyting you are allowing your own opinion of their rewrite history in your mind. Go ahead and look it up, I couldn't find any professional reviews that gave it less than 4 out of 5 stars. This "poor" track record is your opinion and that is not grounded in reality. Hell it's got a 3.8 on this site, and these users are among the most cynical of all. So I ask you again...what do you base this "poor" track record criticism on...other than your own opinion?

AP07373
September 25th 2008



493 Comments



"it was probably that twerp AP07373"
Hah nope...wasn't me. But I always enjoy baseless criticism...they make you look awfully bright!

Wizard
September 25th 2008



19206 Comments


APO7373,
Props!

Digging: Merzbow - Dust of Dreams

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

" This "poor" track record is your opinion and that is not grounded in reality."

Have you looked at the overall rating for The Crusade? It has a 2.5 with a shitload of ratings, which is almost UNHEARD of on sputnikmusic where there are legions of fanboys who rate albums 4-5 without ever even posting.

rasputin
September 25th 2008



14512 Comments


Iluvatar to the rescue

Wizard
September 25th 2008



19206 Comments


They had one poor record, thats not a bunch of bad records, one after another.

IAmInsect
September 25th 2008



3800 Comments


Hah nope...wasn't me. But I always enjoy baseless criticism...they make you look awfully bright!
have you even read any of your news article comments

AP07373
September 25th 2008



493 Comments


"Have you looked at the overall rating for The Crusade? It has a 2.5 with a shitload of ratings"
I don't know if you know this...but one album does not comprise a "track record". I will ask again, what is this "poor track record" that people speak of...other than their own opinion?
The wizard seems to get it...it's a pretty basic concept. If you need to...define track record, and then explain how trivium has a bad one...because going from critically acclaimed to mediocre does not define "poor track record". How do people allow their opinions to blind them so much? I'm just going on facts of the industry.

AP07373
September 25th 2008



493 Comments


"have you even read any of your news article comments"
Again, baseless criticisms make you look bright!

IAmInsect
September 25th 2008



3800 Comments


lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy