Metallica Death Magnetic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
August 10th 2013


11069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I knew if I didn't see a table reference that I was going to be severely disappointed

MrSirLordGentleman
August 15th 2013


4869 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

best since the Black Album

Nagash
September 6th 2013


16 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

After the mediocre "Load" and "Reload", and the cosmic abomination that is "St Anger", Death Magnetic looks kinda good. Yet, this last EP hardly rise to the same height as the "monuments" of Metallica.

Death Magnetic sounds mechanical, and lacks the sense of profound which could be found in ...and justice for all, or Master of Puppets. To the exception of a few songs (All nightmare long, The day that never comes, and, for some reason, The Unforgiven III), the four horsemen's last recording seems to have left behind the "soul" of it all for good.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 6th 2013


3845 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm the table

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2013


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Metal titans Metallica return to form on their Rick Rubin produced 9th LP 'Death Magnetic'. Recalling their thrash metal roots with hints of mainstream metal & hard-rock, there is very little filler amongst these 10 tracks, even if its 75 minute duration is overlong. While new bassist Robert Trujillo adds some funky bass-lines, all 3 mainstays are invigorated; especially Kirk Hammett who is let loose to perform solos once more. There is admittedly some self-plagiarization, but it's exciting to hear Metallica sound like themselves again on this credibility & relevance restorer. Recommended Tracks: All Nightmare Long, The Day That Never Comes, Cyanide & That Was Just Your Life.

BigPleb
September 20th 2013


37857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Davey's expansive metal knowledge guys.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013


15195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've heard Tethered to Ruin but not the other one.

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death

BigPleb
September 20th 2013


37857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Setting new standards in remaining loyal to a band member by retaining one-armed drummer Rick Allen, Def Leppard released their biggest & best album in 1987s 'Hysteria

DominionMM1
September 20th 2013


10299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"A credibility & relevance restorer of an album."

uh.......



Digging: Dr. John - Gris-Gris

BigPleb
September 20th 2013


37857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's gonna get ugly in here.

RogueNine
September 20th 2013


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

0_o

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013


21577 Comments


RTL > both.

Justice is nowhere near their best imo.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

demigod!
September 20th 2013


45250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Justice is the worst of their first 4, but still good

for me its probably RTL > KEA = MOP > > Justice

Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013


21577 Comments


Agreed, demi.

demigod!
September 20th 2013


45250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

justice just doesn't thrash hard enough

ViperAces
September 20th 2013


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

not sure, but rtl is the best

thumbcrusher
September 20th 2013


3607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i probably like justice most but there isn't really much difference between it, puppets and RTL for me

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only by Fire

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013


21577 Comments


hahaha

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2013


21577 Comments


Yeah this is pretty faux, I can agree with you on that.

demigod!
September 20th 2013


45250 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yknow skele they're doing wonderful things at mental institutions these days



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy