Exotic Animal Petting Zoo I Have Made My Bed in Darkness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dolving999
March 31st 2015


1764 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I feel like these guys are a diamond in the rough. But it's only with "Every Waking Moment" that the album really gets going. I mean, the first 5 tracks, for me, feel disjointed (sometimes too technical for their own good and lacking proper transitions) and they really don't go anywhere (you've got 2 instrumentals right in the beggining).



That said, EAPZ are at their best when doing atmospheric post-hardcore - that's why the second half feels a lot more consistent. With "Tree of Tongues", they adressed most of my criticisms and the result is a gem of an album.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2015


15672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dunno where the review for tree of tongues went but here's the new band of the guitarist from EAPZ:



http://www.ryansrockshow.com/news/the-pneumatic-transit-to-release-debut-album-concerto-for-double-moon-in-october

Digging: The Doppelgangaz - Dopp Hopp

MeatSalad
September 17th 2015


17085 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Huh, wonder if it'll be any good



Is this just a side project or is eapz on hiatus or somethin

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 18th 2015


15672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's saying former guitarist so i think this guy is out cuz eapz just kind of vanished. they did post on their facebook last week after a few years of nothing so i dunno if they are done. this new band sounds pretty sp/jazzy though. kind of like lye by mistake

Muppelope
September 29th 2015


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Any chance this band releases another album sometime?

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Flower Boy

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2015


15672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nope

LordePots
September 30th 2015


37602 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sall good

Digging: Hikrahe - Fear of the Drum and the Red Robe Son

Muppelope
September 30th 2015


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

:'(

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2015


15672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just listen to follow the white rabbit, they kinda sorta kinda sounds like these guys just heavier

Muppelope
September 30th 2015


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I listened to some of their stuff when I was first getting into this kind of music. They're actively putting stuff out?

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2015


15672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nah they done broke up years ago lol

VacantTool
June 29th 2016


166 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys suck. Music is superb and even though they don't owe it to anyone, they should really just announce on FB that they're done. Every post they have a few 100 fans asking what's going on.



Who knows...TOT is a great album to go out on though.

calmrose
February 26th 2017


2117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Ira Lore" is sooooo good



those final two minutes...

Digging: IDYLLS - Farewell All Joy

SteakByrnes
February 26th 2017


3435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never listened to this, only Tree of Tongues. How do the two compare?

Digging: Young Lions - Mr. Spaceman

calmrose
February 26th 2017


2117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a bit better imo, there's more craziness and chaotic moments strewn throughout that I'm drawn to, and this has less of a metalcore feel or less metalcore-ish influences (to an extent) to it than Tree of Tongues



if you enjoyed TOT, you'll more than likely enjoy this as well

SteakByrnes
February 26th 2017


3435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'll jam it then, I dig chaotic moments my guy

Muppelope
February 27th 2017


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I slightly prefer this as well.

SteakByrnes
February 27th 2017


3435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like them both about the same to be honest, this was way more chaotic tho which I loved



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy