Extra Life Secular Works
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 11th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well he's done stuff with Dirty Projectors, Zs, Period, Time of Orchids, Lavender, Seductive Sprigs.

Bleak123
September 11th 2008



1902 Comments


I'll look into them all then. Thanks

Prince of Darkness
September 12th 2008



186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is insanely strange. but I love love love it.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
September 25th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This was the most difficult album to review of all 118 (as on late September 08) that I've tried to tackle. I knew that while writing it but rereading the review has only further instilled that notion in my mind. What an album.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
September 25th 2008



3765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I didn't find this that strange/challenging, tbh, but maybe it's 'cause I'm just used to strange music, heh. I can see it'd be hard to write about though.

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

Adash
November 13th 2008



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

unique album
only picked up on them via this review, they deserve more coverage and recognition

Mendigo
November 14th 2008



2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

word.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2008



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wow this is kind of annoying

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 19th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Please explain.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2008



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

For one, the songs don't seem to have any direction. It's a similar problem I have with the new Kayo Dot; the songs hit random notes and bang lots of cymbals without going anywhere. Secondly, the vocals are way too overpowering and unmelodic to keep 8+ minutes interesting. Whenever they do something I feel like I could dig, they ruin it with something that just doesn't make musical sense to my brain.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 19th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That sounds like a personal problem.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2008



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah personally i dont like this album but from an objective standpoint it's fantastic 4.5

DFelon204409
Emeritus
November 19th 2008



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. You should incorporate some of that fine analysis into your upcoming Nickelback review.

Bleak123
December 17th 2008



1902 Comments


I still really really enjoy this record, even my dad loves the first track off of this.

KittensandScorpions
January 19th 2009



172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The guitar/vocal unison lines on "See You At The Show" is hypnotic/awesome.

niobium
March 2nd 2009



238 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's really quite triumphant.This Message Edited On 03.02.09

KittensandScorpions
March 20th 2009



172 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Anyone seen their cover of R. Kelly's "Your Body's Callin'" on YouTube?


pixiesfanyo
March 20th 2009



1222 Comments


saw these guys live and it was fucking insane.

Frunobulax
May 16th 2009



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is fucking sick. Did you hear the split they put out with Nat Baldwin earlier this year? That's also pretty great.

Adash
May 18th 2009



1356 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck uni exams tomorrow! Just saw them and they were absolutely brilliant, you spend the whole set in awe of how they play with such precision and passion.

Got my signed vinyl of SW and am now a happy boy : )



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy