mewithoutYou Brother, Sister
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spamue1G
October 12th 2008



1292 Comments


That's weird... If it wasn't for this review, I wouldn't actually realise that mwY are a christian band! I've only listened to a couple of songs, but damn... I like this A LOT! I'll pick up the album the next time I get some money, which could be quite a while...

natey
October 12th 2008



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

moving past Weiss anyway, the whole band is amazingly cool live.

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


pretty sure lunch just hates this because it's about jesus and he's atheist


Firstly while they are christian most of this is about the old testament.

Secondly two of my nine albums rated 5/5 are A Love Supreme and Sam Cooke. If you own A Love Supreme read the booklet, the entire music was composed for God you would be hard pressed to find more christian music anywhere. Sam Cooke is a gospel singer, most of his songs are directly about Jesus.


lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5



I don't really care about the argument because its just lunch having a weird opinion that imo he doesn't back up, but to call In a Sweater Poorly Knit simplistic lyrically is insane. It harkens back to "A-B Life" in its threading of relationships and god, and the lines "As you plow some other field and try and forget my name, see what harvest yields, and, supposing I'd do the same

I planted rows of peas, but by the first week of july -- they should have come up to my knees but they were maybe ankle high" are some of most well written I have ever heard.


You missed the point of my complaints about his lyrics entirely.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nobody fucking cares dude they're just looking for an argument. don't indulge them.

foreverendeared
October 12th 2008



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i mean maybe this is a stupid thing to say, but i honestly can't imagine someone who is passionate about music not liking this album.

natey
October 12th 2008



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[QUOTE=lunchforthesky]vocally... obviously the spoken word thing rules out any chance of great melodies.[/QUOTE]
umm


plane
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



6094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=lunchforthesky]blah blah rebuttal[/quote]
As off as I think you are, I don't actually think it's because you are atheist. This Message Edited On 10.12.08

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


i mean maybe this is a stupid thing to say, but i honestly can't imagine someone who is passionate about music not liking this album.


You're not wrong on the first part. I personally can't imagine someone who is passionate about music rating New Surrender over Bitches Brew.

umm


Your problem?


Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



16087 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"You missed the point of my complaints about his lyrics entirely. "
No I didn't I just think you have no point dude. You are saying he doesn't give real insight or w/e when he really does to many many people. You are trying to argue that your subjective view is an objective fact.

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Show me where he provides insight. Show me where he goes beyond the realm of what any normal person would think.

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It seems like you just want Weiss to prove that God exists otherwise its not insightful...

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



16087 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Show me where he provides insight. Show me where he goes beyond the realm of what any normal person would think."
It's almost as if you are missing the point of personal connections to music.

iarescientists
October 12th 2008



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

show me your titties

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



6094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Show me where he provides insight. Show me where he goes beyond the realm of what any normal person would think.

Seriously? This just reads like your low rating was you going into Brother, Sister hoping you were going to be enlightened or something and weren't. (Which, now that we bring it up, might have a lot to do with the fact that you don't believe in God and seem to be pretty adamant about that. Weren't you the same person that liked In the Aeroplane Over the Sea until he started "singing about Jesus," which further proves that you miss the point a lot.) If you can't find the depth here than you are just not trying at all.

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


It seems like you just want Weiss to prove that God exists otherwise its not insightful...


Well that would be impossible. It's not insightful to me because he says nothing I couldn't easilly think of myself.

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Maybe you just don't want to find any insight in this as planewreck said...maybe just being a Christian has something to do with it but this is one of the few albums I've listened to recently that I've found not only to have a lot of insightful things in things it, but has really connected with me on an emotional (and spiritual) level...

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


Seriously? This just reads like your low rating was you going into Brother, Sister hoping you were going to be enlightened or something and weren't. (Which, now that we bring it up, might have a lot to do with the fact that you don't believe in God and seem to be pretty adamant about that. Weren't you the same person that liked In the Aeroplane Over the Sea until he started "singing about Jesus," which further proves that you miss the point a lot.) If you can't find the depth here than you are just not trying at all.


I listened to Bother, Sister as soon as it came out. I had no expectations because I'd never listened to the band before, did not know they were christians and had never heard anyone really mention them.

If I remember correctly you claimed that was true of me (in a very childish personal attack). It is not true (aside from the obvious that I listen to christian music) because Jeff Mangum is not a christian and it's either part of his story (in the song or album, it's hard to know what he's saying) or sarcasm.

This interview makes it clear he is not a christian anymore.

http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/feature/48552-interview-neutral-milk-hotel

And the "God is a place you will wait for the rest of your life" line is pretty damning too.

SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

on something that doesn't involve the douchebag lunch...

i've been teeter tottering on either rating this a 5 or a to b: life a 5.

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Do whatever you feel is right mang...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy