mewithoutYou Brother, Sister
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you gave all underoath albums a 1. I assume you just didn't listen to them.

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The fact he gave The Devil Wears Prada's first album higher than all of Underoath's album is kind of insane

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've only heard the three newest so I didn't give them all a 1/5.

SnackaryBinx
October 12th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the fact he's saying that mwY's lyrics have no depth is fucking insane. If you say "Silencer" by them has no depth, I will cut your fucking throat off and hang it as a trophy.

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The fact he gave The Devil Wears Prada's first album higher than all of Underoath's album is kind of insane


Do you honestly put so much time into rating albums that everytime you rate a record you check every single score lower or higher than it to make sure it's not better or worse than any of those albums?

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You can't cut somebody's throat "off" silly

No I don't but I fail to see why you gave TDWP's album a 1.5 over Underoath's albums where all your complaints on Underoath are magnified by TDWP by at least 100...This Message Edited On 10.11.08

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Perhaps I was in a better mood when I rated TDWP than Underoath. It really is pretty arbitrary with bad albums whether they get a 2, 1.5 or 1.

Serpento
October 12th 2008



2351 Comments


is how someone rates an album or two really weighing this much into conversations nowadays

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Apparently they aren't actually capable of making real arguments and those who are realised I made a valid point and stopped posting.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well you backed off your argument about the lyrics which was what I objected to. Like I said if the vocals/music don't connect with you that's fine, but your opinion about the lyrics is still way off base if you're saying they're bad because they're about overused topics.

and yeah, thread needs to stfu about what he's rated other albums.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Actually I just got tired of the "real argument" and decided to be nitpicky...the fact that you don't like the lyrics or even find this album to be average is not what bothered me...it was more the comment on the lyrics being dressed up in "inane and superfluous metaphors"

plane
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pretty sure lunch just hates this because it's about jesus and he's atheist

rasputin
October 12th 2008



14516 Comments


jesus lyrics just rnt cool these days

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't really care about the argument because its just lunch having a weird opinion that imo he doesn't back up, but to call In a Sweater Poorly Knit simplistic lyrically is insane. It harkens back to "A-B Life" in its threading of relationships and god, and the lines "As you plow some other field and try and forget my name, see what harvest yields, and, supposing I'd do the same
I planted rows of peas, but by the first week of july -- they should have come up to my knees but they were maybe ankle high" are some of most well written I have ever heard.

rasputin
October 12th 2008



14516 Comments


lyrics rule

McP3000
October 12th 2008



3941 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

john thats like epically biblical and stuff

/n/

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that was mostly my point?

Kiran
Emeritus
October 12th 2008



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love how there was like a page of people arguing how lunch is wrong because of how he rated albums not even remotely connected to this one.

This is rated so high for me because of the atmosphere it creates when I listen, it slays me. Moments like the end of O, Porcupine or C-Minor are fantastic in bringing the song to its conclusion. In regards to the lyrics, whilst some of his lyrics are purely descriptive (I have no problem with that), I find the sheer fluency of his articulation and writing is enough to warrant his status as a great lyricist.

Messes of Men, for example, uses the metaphor of boatmen at sea to talk about adultery and he does it superbly. Sure, it's not expanding on the topic but rather spinning a tale out of it, which works so well with the spoken word approach; one of the main reasons I love this so much. This Message Edited On 10.12.08

rasputin
October 12th 2008



14516 Comments


Messes of Men, for example, uses the metaphor of boatmen at sea to talk about adultery and he does it superbly. Sure, it's not expanding on the topic but rather spinning a tale out of it, which works so well with the spoken word approach; one of the main reasons I love this so much.

that track is so good

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2008



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thread went to hell

lunchforthesky and all who argued with him keep out of my thread please



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy