mewithoutYou Brother, Sister
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
natey
October 11th 2008



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

don't answer my question

SnackaryBinx
October 11th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

WOW 11 ALBUMS!!! HOLY TIT FUCKING JESUS

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008



15690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

natey, the answer to your question is jesusThis Message Edited On 10.11.08

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins® [AMDISCS]

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Because that is a topic everyone has themselves covered this topic in their own mind and he adds nothing on top of that. Their is no insight into the subject which adds to what any normal person could conjure in their own mind. He states the issue exists and that's it.

marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Woah you're right....and the diversity in those albums is simply astounding...and blah EC beat me to that one...every single subject is basic when you think about it...I mean most songs aren't about dark matter or the theory of relativity...unless I'm missing something most songs are written about basic parts of the human experience...

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


WOW 11 ALBUMS!!! HOLY TIT ****ING JESUS


Well I have 29 albums rated as a 4.5 or more and with 11 being from the nineties and 2000's that a very fair even split between the 50's, 60's, 70's, 80's and later stuff. If anything it's weighted in favour of modern stuff.This Message Edited On 10.11.08

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


Woah you're right....and the diversity in those albums is simply astounding...and blah EC beat me to that one...every single subject is basic when you think about it...I mean most songs aren't about dark matter or the theory of relativity...unless I'm missing something most songs are written about basic parts of the human experience...


And the best lyricists throw in insight and depth that the average person could not think of or express in words. Aaron does not do this.

marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also, I wasn't aware the criteria for lyrics to be considered "good" were that they had to expound on a subject or add insight into things...

I actually talked to Aaron for a while after a show they played in Birmingham so I might be a little biased when I say this but...Aaron Weiss is far from "the average person" and has a lot more insight into things than many people I've come in contact with...This Message Edited On 10.11.08

SnackaryBinx
October 11th 2008



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If anything I have a lot more rated above 4.5 and up. And they're all mostly post-90s because music sucks.

CHUCK BERRY NEEDS MOAR RELIGIOUS METAPHORS

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008



15690 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Because that is a topic everyone has themselves covered this topic in their own mind and he adds nothing on top of that.


By this token and with what you said earlier about this album you shouldn't like half the post 1990 albums you have as 4.5 or higher. Pinkerton, for example, is a bunch of songs about love sucking (a topic everyone has themselves covered in their own mind), the music is pretty standard, and the vocals can be just as grating as this at times.

I don't have a problem with you disliking this album if you can come up with some valid reason beyond "the lyrics aren't dense enough."

Serpento
October 11th 2008



2351 Comments


that must be why say anything are rated so low too

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


Also, I wasn't aware the criteria for lyrics to be considered "good" were that they had to expound on a subject or add insight into things...


Those are my standards. Feel free to have your own. I am arguing my case here not some universal objective standard.

bustyagunz
October 11th 2008



911 Comments


ugh end this thread, the fact that he gave 3 Cheers for Sweet Revenge a 2.5 and Define the Great Line a 1 ruined my night, my head hurts like a beezy, leave dis **** alone
btw excellent review as usual chan, ima check this out soon

natey
October 12th 2008



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Jesus was an only son

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

By saying that...you pretty much say that 99.9% of all the lyrics in existence are meaningless (including many found on albums you apparently like)

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5




By this token and with what you said earlier about this album you shouldn't like half the post 1990 albums you have as 4.5 or higher. Pinkerton, for example, is a bunch of songs about love sucking (a topic everyone has themselves covered in their own mind), the music is pretty standard, and the vocals can be just as grating as this at times.



I don't have a problem with you disliking this album if you can come up with some valid reason beyond "the lyrics aren't dense enough."


Not all albums I like have great lyrics and I never said they did. The Beatles are probably my favourite band and they have terrible lyrics.

The reason this get's a 2.5 from me is because instrumentally it's nothing special, vocally i find him annoying and obviously the spoken word thing rules out any chance of great melodies. Also the vocals and music sound disjointed at times.

But really the focus of this band is the lyrics, they are the no.1 priority here and I consider them average and thus I gave this album an average rating.

lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


ugh end this thread, the fact that he gave 3 Cheers for Sweet Revenge a 2.5 and Define the Great Line a 1 ruined my night, my head hurts like a beezy, leave dis **** alone

btw excellent review as usual chan, ima check this out soon


You should consider the fact that I have been a member here for nearly 4 years and so not all my ratings will reflect exactly what I feel right now.

bustyagunz
October 12th 2008



911 Comments


you do not exist i faithfully insist

marksellsuswallets
October 12th 2008



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You know you can update your ratings bud...


lunchforthesky
October 12th 2008



1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I updated all my top end ratings quite recently but it's very boring work and I couldn't be bothered to change anything lower than a 3.5.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy