mewithoutYou Brother, Sister
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Spamue1G
October 11th 2008


1292 Comments


I just have a real problem with christian bands. I never seem to be able to get inspiration from them, they all sound like they're just cheesily preaching to me about how Jesus is the one true way blah blah blah...
That said, I might like this album since you say in this (admittedly great) review about how even non-christians can take inspiration from it. I'll take a look at it soon.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
October 11th 2008


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I picked up a physical copy of this yesterday, I don't usually do that unless I f'ucking love an album, so trust me, this s'hit is bawlin'

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just have a real problem with christian bands. I never seem to be able to get inspiration from them, they all sound like they're just cheesily preaching to me about how Jesus is the one true way blah blah blah...

That said, I might like this album since you say in this (admittedly great) review about how even non-christians can take inspiration from it. I'll take a look at it soon.


I'm the same way. This album is completely worth it. There's nothing preachy about the lyrics, the album's just real quality from start to finish.

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Extremely overrated.

His lyrics are well articulated but when actually laid bare are of basic substances, the music is terribly bland and the spoken word thing is grating after a while.

Also the mix of the vocals to music is very poorly done and at times sounds like a mash up as opposed to purposefully crafted music.

roofi
October 11th 2008


959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Feel free to enjoy music from time to time, lunch.

natey
October 11th 2008


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[QUOTE=lunchforthesky]
His lyrics are well articulated but when actually laid bare are of basic substances[/QUOTE]
What would qualify as an exemplary substance?
I've listened to Catch For Us The Foxes all week so I'll probably start spinning this soon.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

see the lyrics are great but they're about jesus so 2.5/5

marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

mewithoutYou is great, but they ain't no Kraftwerk...

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


What would qualify as an exemplary substance?


Bruce Springsteen - Nebraska
Bob Dylan - Blood on the Tracks

are top quality albums for lyrics.

The lyrics are not great. For example In A Sweater Poorly Knit. Basically it's about him questioning whether god exists and then deciding he does. How is that deep lyrically? That's something everyone with a brain ever has comtemplated. Sure he dresses it up in a thousand metaphors but what he's actually saying is very basic. Which is what I was criticising to begin with.

marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And Springsteen's lyrics weren't basic?

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Nebraska is not like other Springsteen albums. The Boss doesn't need to dress his songs up in inane and superfluous metaphors because what he writes about has actual depth and meaning (especially on Nebraska). He is master of saying what he wants to say in universal terms.

Great lyrics are not about how many different ways you can say the same thing in one song they are in equal parts about the depth and meaning behind those words.

For exam a poet could describe paint drying in the most beautiful and elogant way but it would still be shoddy poetry because his subject is paint drying. Where as a poet who taps in human emotions with such clarity and insight like the Boss does is the real genuis of the two.This Message Edited On 10.11.08This Message Edited On 10.11.08

natey
October 11th 2008


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[QUOTE=lunchforsky]
The lyrics are not great. For example In A Sweater Poorly Knit. Basically it's about him questioning whether god exists and then deciding he does. How is that deep lyrically? That's something everyone with a brain ever has comtemplated. Sure he dresses it up in a thousand metaphors but what he's actually saying is very basic. Which is what I was criticising to begin with.
[/QUOTE]
I understood exactly what you were saying, I just don't know what topics are more then basic in your mind?

SnackaryBinx
October 11th 2008


2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you gave lost in the sound of separation a 1. seriously. all i've seen you do is go into reviews and tell people that their music sucks.

bustyagunz
October 11th 2008


911 Comments


your average rating scale thingy is kinda low lunchy, and u gave the new underoath a 1!?!?!

Edit: lolin, snacky u beat me to itThis Message Edited On 10.11.08

marksellsuswallets
October 11th 2008


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Inane? I'm sorry but I fail to see the argument for anything on this album as empty and silly...

Seriously though do you enjoy anything post 1990?This Message Edited On 10.11.08

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The lyrics are not great. For example In A Sweater Poorly Knit. Basically it's about him questioning whether god exists and then deciding he does. How is that deep lyrically? That's something everyone with a brain ever has comtemplated. Sure he dresses it up in a thousand metaphors but what he's actually saying is very basic. Which is what I was criticising to begin with.


so? Are you saying people who write about relationships aren't great lyricists? Or people who question the government? I mean tons of people do it so no matter how great the lyrics come out they aren't really all that great, right?


lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


so? Are you saying people who write about relationships aren't great lyricists? Or people who question the government? I mean tons of people do it so no matter how great the lyrics come out they aren't really all that great, right?


Writing about relationships can be one of the most brilliant subjects imaginable because everyones lives are really just a series of concurrent relationships, and there's nothing more relatable than a relationship, but the whole idea has been soured by so many people doing it so badly.This Message Edited On 10.11.08

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


17939 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lunchforthesky you are retarded go away

lunchforthesky
October 11th 2008


1039 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5


Inane? I'm sorry but I fail to see the argument for anything on this album as empty and silly...

Seriously though do you enjoy anything post 1990?


By my count 11 of my albums rated 4.5 and above are post 1990.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2008


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So what exactly is your problem with him pondering the existence of God/doubting himself? How exactly is that base?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy