DragonForce Ultra Beatdown
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You've been calling my review a piece of garbage for pages, how am I not supposed to take that offensively?
It's not really a big deal, as users whose opinions I have over time come to respect find this to be a more than adequate review, but I'd like to know how you don't get a fine overview of what the music is about, and a justification for why it is not pleasing to me. I'd also like to know why it is well written, beyond the informal and "disrespectful" nature I have apparently brought with it.

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It is an adequate review.

We all know what DragonForce sounds like and if we didn't there's a neat summary of what they sound like, neat enough for anyone aspiring to listen to this.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I mean come on Altmer hates my guts and even he likes this review what else could I ask for!

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I hate your guts because they are probably more well-behaved than mine!

Yazz_Flute
August 27th 2008


18855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, review made me lol too. But I really feel at times that reason most users here dont like this album is because its dragonforce. I mean, i know there's only 37 votes so far but there is no way this deserves this much of a lower rating than Inhuman Rampage. This is imo, their best album.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"You've been calling my review a piece of garbage for pages, how am I not supposed to take that offensively?"

Actually, I didn't even know that you wrote the review. I don't know which usernames correlate to actual names.
Look, I gave your review the respect that your review gives to its readers. Staff reviews should be written like a professional piece of writing. I'm not going to apologize to you because your review was unprofessional and I commented on it. It was the kind of review where it's almost as though the writer enjoys giving this album a bad review...as if you knew what you were going to write before you even listened to it.
I don't know you, or anything about you. I didn't call you any names or insult you personally. You are a staff member and I criticized the professionalism of your work. You don't like it, too bad. Write more professional reviews and then people won't criticize them in such a way. Calling people "guitar hero fags" in a music review is what passes for "Staff" reviews? Honestly?
If this review was submitted to a real editor (I pray that it was not) it would be laughed off of their desk.
You wrote your review for certain audiences, which is a cardinal mistake...you don't know who is going to read your review and what they may or may not know about a given band. With the broad success that Dragonforce has received, you can't assume that readers of your writing know all about powermetal and what does/does not separate Dragonforce from similar acts. As I've already said, album reviews need to be stand-alone pieces of work...not based on the assumption that readers are all knowing and as informed as you may be.
The fact is, I've never even said that I disagree with the core-message of your review, just the way it was written.
If you were just some contributing reviewer I would have left it alone, but I'm serious when I say that I expect Staff reviewers to write with a little more attention to professionalism.
Don't take any of this personally, it's just a little dissapointing to read such a review under the guise of being a Staff title and acting as a representitive of the Sputnik writing staff that for the most part, maintains a good deal of musical integrity.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

What you just told me is how a review should be written in your eyes. Okay thats cool I disagree?
The great thing about sputnikmusic is that we do not follow strict professional guidelines. Entertaining, but still informative reviews are pretty much the bread and butter of the site, and while I may be tip-toeing the line into absurdity with some of my reviews, to not notice that most of the review is tongue in cheek (for example, I am a guitar hero fag and readily admit it) and is to be taken seriously is idiotic.
Sure, if I was answering directly to advertisers (which is why this would be "laughed off" any editors desk) the review would be written differently. I am writing to the sputnikmusic audience as I know it, because that is our readership. It's nice when someone like you joins and exposes me to a different side, but to write boring, general reviews that consist of a bunch of comparisons to other bands and an indepth look into their sound is just tedious for most readers. A quick, humorous, facetious take on an album is not only much more easily read, but also makes for a much greater allowance of writing freedom, thus stopping the "carbon copy" effect I see many music sites end up with with their writers.

AngelPhoenix
August 27th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not gonna lie that's one of the best rants I've ever seen on here.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2008


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Don't take his side we are brothers in metal!

AngelPhoenix
August 27th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol
No, no sides. I think you're both right on a lot of points. The fact that it didn't devolve into spammage is nice to see. Anyway, I liked your review and agree with most of it. If this had been their first or second album, it would come off much better, but we've heard all this before. Twice

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2008


17225 Comments


It seems to me that in the time AP07373 spent arguing his side, he could have written a rebuttal review that lives up to his journalistic standards.

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


Okay fair enough. I understand what you are saying and I'm not going to disagree with your take on the community. You know the community here better than I do, and I've said what I thought and I hate stupid internet arguments, so I'll leave it alone. You know how I feel about it, and there's no need for me to continue.
But I do appreciate your response.

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"It seems to me that in the time AP07373 spent arguing his side, he could have written a rebuttal review that lives up to his journalistic standards. "

Hah touche!

AngelPhoenix
August 27th 2008


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dude, listen to redsky, write your own review of this. If you can put down that as well as you have your argument, people will read it and like it.

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


Funny thing is...my rating would probably be the same...maybe a 2.5. I'll think about it.

Essence
August 27th 2008


3588 Comments


You, sir, have made my day. Fantastic review.

Acre
August 27th 2008


847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The irony is, sarcastic douche-baggery is something of a qualification on the Sputnik Staffers board.
And don't worry, I mean that in the best possible way.

ASberg
August 27th 2008


2161 Comments


I thought it was an entertaining read, nothing out of the ordinary but nice and to the point. And if you really want to know what they sound like you can always listen from myspace.

Wizard
August 27th 2008


19616 Comments


the lamest review ever written and the only dragonforce review to ever not mention the guitarists names

Then why even write it?


Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

ohcleverhansyou
August 27th 2008


885 Comments


The discussion in this thread first made me laugh, then made me upset, and finally bored me. I see a similar thing happening were I to listen to this album, laugh->bored->upset. As someone asked earlier, how is it we have four Dragonforce albums?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy