DragonForce Ultra Beatdown
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
poopty
August 27th 2008


319 Comments


^^Exactly what I said 10 minutes ago.

IAmInsect
August 27th 2008


3800 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

but he doesn't disagree with the review, he thinks it doesn't say anything he already didn't know even though dragonforce will always sound the way everyone knows they sound!

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"Just because you don't agree with the review doesn't make it bad, asshat."
Hah did you even read my comments? I said like 3 posts above your posts that there isn't anything wrong with liking the review...and a few posts before that saying exactly why I didn't like the review, and even said that I don't like dragonforce either.
Do people read around here?

poopty
August 27th 2008


319 Comments


Everyone needs to stop being fagwipes and stfu with their arguing about whether Dragonforce all sounds the same or not.

It does.

And the review is good. NOW IT'S OVER

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"And the review is good. NOW IT'S OVER"
Some of us enjoy good reviews that are well written, stylishly articulated, informative, and specific....and some people...just don't.

Both are okay. So yes, now it's over.

poopty
August 27th 2008


319 Comments


I like a mixture of information and entertainment. This has both.

Crysis
Emeritus
August 27th 2008


17051 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review made me lol

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"These kids aren't getting the point the of the review:

There is nothing new you need to know because this is the exact same album as their previous two."

Jeez...for a staff reviewer, it seems YOU are not getting the point of what a review is. For your above statement to be justifiable, the reviewer would have to assume that every reader not only has heard all other albums in the bands catalog, but has read those reviews as well.
This is an album review, not a catalog review.
I think I'm starting to lose faith in these "Staff" members.

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

jeez, for a non staff user, you seem to be pretty dumb



the bullet list clearly describes their core sound and says exactly who will like it and who won't



you're just really a dumbfuck who should stop posting asap and take some music and journalism classes before he starts commenting



pathetic stuck in the attic types, ugh

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

those people have no sense of humour

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


Again...some people have higher standards for the reviews they read, especially when it's actually written by a Staff member.
I really don't care if you guys call me names, it doesn't change the fact that the review is half assed and doesn't reveal too much about the album in question.
I've read plenty of reviews on this site for albums that I love and hate, and completely disagreed with the writer, but the reviews have been well written and respectful, thus being respectable. This review in particular though, was more pretentious than Herman li's guitar playing.

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


Hah so now I'm "baiting you" while you write things like this to me...

"I find him to be a douchebag but of course there is going to be a sect of people who believe in technical reviewing."

So...is that what it takes to be a Staff member. Just call other people names that haven't said anything aggressive towards you, then accuse THEM of baiting you?
Dude...this has just gotten laughable.
I get it...next time I read a Staff review, I'll have lower expectations...k?

username345
August 27th 2008


594 Comments


I agree. I demand Iluvatar be demoted and me given his staff position!

Seriously though, I like the review :pThis Message Edited On 08.27.08

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It is an adequate review.



We all know what DragonForce sounds like and if we didn't there's a neat summary of what they sound like, neat enough for anyone aspiring to listen to this.

Altmer
August 27th 2008


5676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I hate your guts because they are probably more well-behaved than mine!

Yazz_Flute
August 27th 2008


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, review made me lol too. But I really feel at times that reason most users here dont like this album is because its dragonforce. I mean, i know there's only 37 votes so far but there is no way this deserves this much of a lower rating than Inhuman Rampage. This is imo, their best album.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Stranger Heads Prevail

AP07373
August 27th 2008


493 Comments


"You've been calling my review a piece of garbage for pages, how am I not supposed to take that offensively?"

Actually, I didn't even know that you wrote the review. I don't know which usernames correlate to actual names.
Look, I gave your review the respect that your review gives to its readers. Staff reviews should be written like a professional piece of writing. I'm not going to apologize to you because your review was unprofessional and I commented on it. It was the kind of review where it's almost as though the writer enjoys giving this album a bad review...as if you knew what you were going to write before you even listened to it.
I don't know you, or anything about you. I didn't call you any names or insult you personally. You are a staff member and I criticized the professionalism of your work. You don't like it, too bad. Write more professional reviews and then people won't criticize them in such a way. Calling people "guitar hero fags" in a music review is what passes for "Staff" reviews? Honestly?
If this review was submitted to a real editor (I pray that it was not) it would be laughed off of their desk.
You wrote your review for certain audiences, which is a cardinal mistake...you don't know who is going to read your review and what they may or may not know about a given band. With the broad success that Dragonforce has received, you can't assume that readers of your writing know all about powermetal and what does/does not separate Dragonforce from similar acts. As I've already said, album reviews need to be stand-alone pieces of work...not based on the assumption that readers are all knowing and as informed as you may be.
The fact is, I've never even said that I disagree with the core-message of your review, just the way it was written.
If you were just some contributing reviewer I would have left it alone, but I'm serious when I say that I expect Staff reviewers to write with a little more attention to professionalism.
Don't take any of this personally, it's just a little dissapointing to read such a review under the guise of being a Staff title and acting as a representitive of the Sputnik writing staff that for the most part, maintains a good deal of musical integrity.

AngelPhoenix
August 27th 2008


2763 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not gonna lie that's one of the best rants I've ever seen on here.

AngelPhoenix
August 27th 2008


2763 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

No, no sides. I think you're both right on a lot of points. The fact that it didn't devolve into spammage is nice to see. Anyway, I liked your review and agree with most of it. If this had been their first or second album, it would come off much better, but we've heard all this before. Twice

Athom
Emeritus
August 27th 2008


17241 Comments


It seems to me that in the time AP07373 spent arguing his side, he could have written a rebuttal review that lives up to his journalistic standards.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy